To be fair, the staff were wonderful, really very helpful and friendly. The rooms are just what I expected, clean, no frills. The cooked breakfast was abosutely excellent, really, very good.
BUT the mattresses are terrible. Do not expect a good nights sleep if you're staying as a couple, every time your partner moves, you will be thrown about and vice versa. The springs squeak like hell, too, so not only bouncier than a water bed, but with a soundtrack. I did mention this to the very helpful receptionist and she offered us another's room, I checked it and the mattress was just the same.
One last point is that when we left for the evening, I turned the air-con on, so that we could come back to a cool room to sleep, but it had been turned off when we got back to a sticky hot room. The windows don't open and my OH can't sleep with the air-con running. Great another troubled nights sleep.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
Naturally I was disappointed to read that you did not find the room as comfortable as we would have wished for. I cannot ascertain the room number allocated for your stay so cannot comment specifically about the issues that you report. However, please do accept my apologies that you did not find the bed comfortable and the air-conditioning was not suitable for you. Beds are replaced on a phased basis and also undergo visual and push-tests on a regular basis – we also use guest feedback to identify rooms were further checks may be required. I am pleased to report that a number of beds in our air-conditioned wing are being replaced imminently, a little ahead of our planned schedule.
Please accept my apologies that the air-conditioning did not run whilst you were out of the room. All of our rooms have energy-saving switches that shut down all power when the room is not occupied to improve our overall energy efficiency and carbon footprint. This would explain why the air-conditioning did not run whilst you were out. We would gladly have offered an alternative solution (such as a fan or spare key card to run the air-con whilst you were out or indeed an alternative room) had we have known that this device would have been problematic.
On a more positive note, I was pleased to read that you found the staff to offer a good service and were very complimentary about our breakfast. Thank you for highlighting these elements of your stay.
I do hope that you will make contact to discuss your experience in more detail. It is always useful to know room numbers allocated to enable a thorough investigation into guest’s comments and use such comments in a positive manner. We would also welcome the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.