We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accomodation at a great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney

Save Saved
You added Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   The Colney Fox | 1 Barnet Road, London Colney Street, St. Albans AL2 1BL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 St. Albans B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great accomodation at a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are checking out this morning and have had a pleasant stay. We booked online and paid just £39 for a double room including continental breakfast for one night.

Check-in was quick and courteous. The double room is modern, clean and well equipped. A nice quiet location too.

The breakfast this morning was plentiful. Lots of cereals to choose from, fruit juices, freshly brewed coffee etc.

This was our first stay at an Innkeepers Lodge and we will definitely be booking again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments following your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge St Albans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    24
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
13
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I hate to be negative on here, but it was a warm summer night in July - room had no aircon or fans and with the windows open you got a horrific loud noise 24.7 which must be been a pump of some sort from the kitchen below - room was nice though basic but good! Food was good however waiting times were massive I think my starter took a hour to come and then another hour for the main course, I had to go to the bar to tell them when I had finished my starter so they could cook my main!! A cheap night that is nothing special - a number of gripes but far from being awful!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Trip Advisor. We were very sorry to hear that you were disappointed in your recent visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge and we have replied to you personally about this.
Best regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've stayed here most weeks over the past few months.

The rooms have been recently refurbished. Furniture may be veneer/laminate but is much more tasteful than other budget hotel chains. Shower rooms are larger than average, spotless with towels that are actually fluffy. Beds are comfortable with cotton bed linen. Free wifi works perfectly.

Free contintental breakfast is a bonus, the fresh filter coffee is even better.

Staff are always friendly and helpful...What more could one ask for?

Business needs now take me elsewhere, but I shall miss not staying here.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms 10/12/14 above the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for one evening on business. My single room was a bit small but absolutely fine for my needs. It was clean, warm and well equipped. The only issue is that the walls are a bit thin so if you are a light sleeper ( which I am not ) then weekend visitors might be a bit noisy after a few beers downstairs.

The pub downstairs was excellent. Very friendly staff and good food and two open hearth log fires, very cosy indeed.

Overall, great little pub b&b.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road and at the end of the corridor if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Having a social occasion to attend in London Colney, I chose to stay overnight here. Very nice single room, clean with all amenities you can expect, the linen was clean and plentiful, shower / en suite was spotless. Tea/coffee in the room and overall very good visit. The only way I could see this improving would be the option of a cooked breakfast, however I was aware this would not be available before booking, so this isn't a criticism. The buffet breakfast was plentiful and the staff very helpful, courteous and polite.
There are some changes planned at the end of October 2012, which I would imagine could only be for the better, although how I'd be interested to see.
Would stay here again without question.

Room Tip: I had a single room No.9 and it was very nice, cannot comment on any of the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Its well located for London etc and looks really nice. Staff are freindly and helpful. They were double booked when I arrived but they sorted this with the kind assiatance of a regular customer who must have moved into a broom cuboard or something so I could take his room. They gave him a bottle of Scotch and my thanks!
Menu is good and well priced as is the hotel at only £49/night B&B.
Room had a damp smell as bathroom extractor fan was not working.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Hotel very convenient for M25 and traveling South East. Rooms comfortable, evening meal/breakfast very good attentive staff. Easy booking in/out. Would stay here again and try other hotels from this chain.

Room Tip: Corner room larger than friends room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney

Address: The Colney Fox | 1 Barnet Road, London Colney Street, St. Albans AL2 1BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St. Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in St. Albans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This carefully restored former coaching inn is one of the most characterful hotels in the St Albans area. Surrounded by villages like Frogmore, South Mimms and Colney Heath, it's a welcome escape whether on a short break or a business trip.The pretty village of London Colney gives you the best of both worlds. Sitting near the quiet river of Colne it provides the perfect, peaceful getaway - yet it's only 45 minutes away from Central London, via Junction 22 of the M25. And with 13 en-suite rooms and a cosy pub serving hearty, freshly prepared food, the lodge is as comfortable as it is convenient.St Albans itself is a bustling town where you can visit the second largest cathedral in the UK. You could also enjoy a tipple or two, as it's reputed to have the most pubs of any town in the country. Nearby you might want to explore Broad Colney Lakes Nature Reserve or dip into Roman life at the fascinating Verulamium Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeepers Lodge St Albans, London Colney, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.