We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the queue, delicious, would definately go back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Waffle House

The Waffle House
St. Michaels Street, St. Albans AL3 4SJ, England
01727 853502
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 227 Restaurants in St. Albans
Price range: $5 - $16
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Dessert
Welling, Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worth the queue, delicious, would definately go back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Found this on the internet, my husband was not looking forward to visiting it, queued for about 20 minutes, the waiter seeing people to their tables was unorganised and a bit miserable, but it was well worth the wait, and putting up with this man. The waitress serving us was friendly and quick. The waffles were delicious, I had the ham, cheese and mushroom, which was delicious, no complaints whatsoever, I also ordered a side salad which was fresh and tasty, my hubby had the Chilli-con-Carne waffle, which he said was lovely and actually said he would definately come back again, even after his initial thought that he would not enjoy waffles. He ordered a pot of tea, very strong, he loves strong tea, which you very rarely get a good tasty strong tea served in these sort of places. I had a small chocolate shake, bit on the small side, so next time a large is a must, cos this shake was gorgeous, so very delicious. As I just couldn't resist I even had a sweet waffle for desert, which again was delicious, I had a plain waffle with chocolate sauce & ice cream, the sauce was very tasty, and the ice cream creamy, which accompanied the hot waffle perfectly. I would not say it was expensive, and will definately return if I have the opportunity.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    112
    43
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on-Sea
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“"emperor's new clothes" - awful, overpriced food and incredibly unwelcoming!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

A beautiful day. Sadly same can't be said for lunch experience. Waffles are tasteless and toppings are really poor, bearing in mind the exorbitant prices. Each waffle would cost pennies so you would imagine some attention would be given to accompaniments. Alas, mushrooms were tiny and watery, cheese sauce gloopy, ice cream a cheap variety, choc sauce runny. Ratatouille ok. Worse than all of this was the thoroughly unwelcoming "ant-kid" service and environment. I have never seen so many signs warning parents to control their children and reminding children that they should be seen and not heard. "This is not a play area", "parents need to control their kids" etc.... ALL OVER the place and no kid's menu. The service from the staff was unsmiling and as a previous reviewer commented, everything was too much trouble. On leaving, I suggested to one of staff that they should make the place adults only since children were clearly unwelcome. His response was that I should come on a Sunday and see how parents do not control their children!!! Unbelievable. The place is always packed but I can only imagine that they don't get much return custom and it's about time people stood up and cried that the food and service here are not acceptable.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dreadful”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Food is appalling - waffles are tasteless and seem processed with processed cheese and ham on the the one I had, dirty toilets, indifferent service, dirty tables, crowded, long queues etc. The much lauded Al Fresco aspect is fine excePt you find yourself eating next to an absolutely huge and busy car park.
On a positive note the converted Mill that it occupies is quite nice, if a little shabby, and, importantly, kids love it - which for some will be another downside of course.
The mill would be better used as a bakery or deli or farmers Market to my mind....

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible waitress made to feel unwelcome!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Greeted by unwelcoming Lenka who was very rude especially when it came to my 18month old daughter. Have been here may times before but will never return or recommend after such sour faced waitresses who seem like they are doing you a big favour by talking to you! very disappointed after the many happy times I have spent there with my family and friends. WILL NOT RETURN! GET RID OF YOUR STAFF!!!

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Yummy Mummy Cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

This is a meeting place for yummy mummies with 21st century baggage e.g. vegan this, vegetarian that , free range, oak fed, hand strangled etc. The car park is bizarrely packed – I can only think people are parking there and going in to the park. The breakfast menu looks good but finishes at 12 – the all day breakfast has passed them by. The waffles are excellent, the coffee good but it is much more of a snack for ladies than a meal

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Waffle House also viewed

St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
St. Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Waffle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Waffle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.