We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not if you're in a hurry” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge Hertford

Cafe Rouge Hertford
3 Parliament Square, Hertford SG14 1EX, England
+44 (0)1992 535363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 83 Restaurants in Hertford
Price range: $53 - $53
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Not if you're in a hurry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I have just returned having sat down at 12 for lunch at this newly refurbished nice looking branch of Cafe Rouge. The problem is that it is now nearly 2pm! I was late back. Slow service would be an understatement! The foods OK but the name quick bites should be dropped from the menu. The issue was a waiter who ignored an instruction to produce separate bills for somebody with Tesco Vouchers, so widely used these days. The rest of us had a 20% off voucher. It got complicated and together with the incredibly slow service just made me think again about going back. It's a shame and once again the manageress said sorry! It that really all they are empowered to do?
Frustrating is an understatement.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    38
    19
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“always consistent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

went to cafe rouge and was impressed by the new 'makeover'. It is always value for money (with voucher) particularly if ordering two steaks. On a sunny day, it is one of the pleasure of life - drinking a cold glass of chablis outside the restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Oh dear...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited the newly refurbed Hertford Cafe Rouge on Bank Holiday Monday. Arrived and sat outside at a table which has just been vacated. Waited 10 mins and no one cleared or offered us drinks or menus. Waitress then cleared empty table next to us (!) so we moved to this table.
Waited another 5 minutes, asked 3 different waiters for menus and finally got them (not offered option to order drinks).
Waited another 10 minutes and waitress finally came to take order. We were then told it would be 45 minute wait (minimum) for ANY food. We got up and left and went to newly refurbished Woolpack.
My advice, don't go if they look busy (or just go for coffee or drinks not food). We are locals and won't be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A bit meh.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We popped in here for a lunch on bank holiday Monday.
The actual ambiance of the place is great, but from the start the service was shocking. The drinks were not confirmed or given to us until we ordered our meals. Half an hour for drinks. At least 45 minutes for our starters. I had overcooked prawns and the OH had camembert with a totally undressed salad.
We both chose steak medium rare for our main. It was very fatty and not very tasty, just dull.

It took 3 attempts to get our wobbly table sorted out and we got so fed up of waiting for the bill that I went up and paid in the end. It took us close to three hours to eat a (£70!) two course lunch due to the neglect...

We won't bother with this place again unless it is to sit outside and have a coffee. The gent next to us had just a coffee and a brandy and was there for ages trying to get the bill.

We are local and if this experience had been any good we would probably have visited regularly. We won't waste our time here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very French!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I find it very refreshing that although Cafe Rouge is a "chain" restaurant, they are not too Anglicised, but are still very French! The Hertford restaurant is our local, so we tend to visit fairly frequently and are always pleased by the welcome, the ambience and the food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge Hertford also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Cafe Rouge Hertford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge Hertford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.