We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go in if they look busy” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Rouge Hertford

Cafe Rouge Hertford
3 Parliament Square, Hertford SG14 1EX, England
+44 (0)1992 535363
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 85 Restaurants in Hertford
Price range: $53 - $53
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Do not go in if they look busy”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This is the second time I have visited this restaurant as I went back due to the excellent previous visit
Place was busy but service was terrible with people who came in after us getting served first and we waited around 30 minutes for our starter but that was not the worst, we ordered deserts but never received them as we gave up waiting after a further 30 minutes, paid the bill and left . In future we will check the place is quiet before we go in,if we ever do return after this last visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    43
    23
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Eggs Benedict!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our favorite for breakfast at the weekend, service is always very welcoming and food is excellent. The lunch and evening menus are also great but for us its all about their breakfast

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ware,england
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Expected more!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The Menu gets the taste-buds going. However the served dishes are disappointing. My Chicken had to be sent back as it was still really-pink,and I didn't want to risk it. Service is friendly,but speed is SLOW. Expected a lot more from this group as I've eaten in the Hitchin branch,which is far better. Sorry............

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cafe Rouge a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Went to Cafe Rouge in Hertford on January 1 for mother in law's birthday treat dinner. Came away disappointed with the food and service. The few staff are willing but overworked and I expect it's the same in their kitchen too! The starters were good, but at least one of the main dishes we ordered was 'off', my rare steak was chewy and overdone, and it took 1/2 hour between courses. Too long in my view. Despite this, this place does have a certain charm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a relaxing atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

First time visiting this restaurant and it certainly will not be the last .service was very good and complemented the food which was faultless although portion control was a little too tight to be honest but as said quality was excellent . If you are looking for a nice place to eat in Hertford you will be hard pushed to beat Cafe Rouge

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Rouge Hertford also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Cafe Rouge Hertford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Rouge Hertford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.