We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel and Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hertford House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hertford House to your Saves list
Hertford House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Fore Street, Hertford, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hertford
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel and Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I stayed here in April 14 as part of a business trip. The staff were fantastic and, as a lone female traveller, I was made to feel welcome.

Breakfast is the best I've had in a hotel, with both choice, uniqueness and quality.

My room was excellent and I really enjoyed my stay.

The staff are what make a hotel, and the quirky, classy atmosphere, combined with amazing staff are a true winner. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    44
    31
    19
    31
See reviews for
17
57
9
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

As we were attending a party in the hotel it made sense to spend the night rather than drive home. Good sized room, comfortable bed and a great breakfast in the morning, just what we were looking for.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Myself and colleague stayed at Hertford House as we were meeting a client locally - Reception were very friendly and you really did feel welcome upon check in.
The bar is very pleasant and I am sure that its loud and bustling at weekends but it was very relaxed and enjoyable on a Monday evening.The rooms are immaculate high standard of everything and all very very clean.
I didn't eat but after having possibly the best hotel breakfast ever I really wish that I had taken the evening menu.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed on a Saturday night in a standard double.

No complaints at all. Room was clean and tidy. The new girl on check-in desk was super polite and very helpful.

Location is right where you want to be in town. Bar downstairs is buzzing.

Late check out included at no extra cost and full English breakfast was delicious which was brought to our room.

If you're out in Hertford town this hotel is perfect.

Will definitely stay here again, lovely hotel and great value for money and a great service!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

A friend hired the basement venue for a birthday party and was offered discounted rates on the rooms for guests to stay the night. It was great having everything in one place, so we were able to party hard, take a breather in the ground floor bar or outside in the courtyard garden and, after the celebrations, it was just a short way to bed. I found the staff to be friendly and helpful. I appreciated the full English breakfast the following morning, which was included in the room rate :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed here for business for one night and had a restful, comfortable and enjoyable stay. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was clean, light/airy and I had a sound night's sleep. The breakfast the next morning was a highlight - delicious! I had a vegetarian cooked breakfast and everything on the plate was fresh, perfectly cooked and tasty - miles above the standard of most hotels' breakfasts.

The hotel is currently being renovated so I'm sure it'll be nicer soon and any very minor disruptions in service (e.g. room service) will be very temporary.

I stayed on a Monday night, so no bar noise that day. It wouldn't be somewhere I'd stay at the weekend because of the noise but for a week night business trip it was great.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Apologies for the late review but I had to leave some feedback. I booked this hotel as part of an Amazon deal and until I checked into the hotel I was not made aware of the loud music going on until 2am! I'd booked this hotel to have a relaxing weekend away so upon check in I was really upset to be told of the loud music that would be going on until the early hours. As it was, me and my partner (who are light sleepers) were both kept up until 1am listening to the loud thumping of the music and the general noise outside.
It's a shame because the room was lovely and in a great location so this hotel has the potential to be brilliant. The next morning we headed down to breakfast, and I have to say the food was brilliant - and the wide variety was superb. This could be a really great hotel but with such a noisy atmosphere going on outside I would not recommend this hotel for the weekend (mid-week perhaps?) and I wouldn't stay again.
We also had dinner at the hotel (as part of the deal) and again the food was absolutely brilliant and the service - we didn't stay in the restaurant/bar but we would certainly come back here for a meal! Before I ate at the hotel I was quite happy to leave and never come back but the food was so brilliant that despite myself, I would happily come back here and eat anytime!!
Overall a terrible hotel; great for lively stays but not relaxing get-aways which is what we wanted - unless this is mid-week break....but an absolutely amazing restaurant and bar downstairs! It's a shame they can't sound-proof the rooms as this could potentially be a fantastic hotel. Only then would I consider staying over/recommending to friends.

Room Tip: Request the quietest spot in the hotel - if there is one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hertford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hertford House

Address: 1 Fore Street, Hertford, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hertford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hertford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hertford House 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hertford House is the culmination of nearly two decades of our family-owned and run hospitality business in Hertford. Like many residents in Hertford we have pride in our county town and this typifies our approach to every aspect of running Hertford House Hotel - pride. Located in the heart of this charming market town, we aim to provide a touch of eclectic yet dependable luxury for those looking for somewhere to dance, eat or sleep (or all three).Originally home to the local newspaper, our 19th Century Grade 2 Listed building was tastefully and sympathetically converted to retain the grandeur of the original architecture and the work was commended with a Civic Society Award in 2007.We boast 22 light, modern and airy bespoke bedrooms, House Bar and from 2014 the amazing new restaurant created with Carl Clarke. Run with passion, heart and soul; we at Hertford House want your visit to be the best possible - whether it's your first, or fiftieth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hertford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hertford House Hotel Hertford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hertford House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.