We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only stay on a Saturday if you're out till 2am!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hertford House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hertford House to your Saves list
Hertford House
1 Fore Street, Hertford, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hertford
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Only stay on a Saturday if you're out till 2am!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Checking in early, we were given a room on the first floor (no.103) but on entering the room it was obviously not ready – an unmade bed, beer bottles and the smell of smoke greeted us. Not the best start. We were told to come back in an hour or so as the housekeeper hadn't got to that room yet, which was fine as the hotel is in the centre of the pretty town of Hertford. When we later checked in the room was clean, presentable and had a great view from a large window, right at the front of the hotel.

We were warned that the hotel has a loud club which finishes at 2am, and that this would be noisy to weekend guests. It was so much louder than I expected – maybe because we were on the first floor, I'm unsure. This wouldn't be a problem if you were partying till then but we ended up in our room around midnight and so had no chance at all of sleeping for a couple of hours with the music reverberating through the bed. There's also a pillar in the centre of this room which isn't greatly placed after a few drinks and a trip to the bathroom in the dark!

There were bags of linen in and around the hallway most of the time – at check-in, later when we went out and also in the morning when we went to breakfast. These were obviously a hazard as it looks like they'd been tripped over or moved on each occasion. I understand there will be times when they need to be around but they just make the place look messy, and hallways inaccessible.

Positive points though are the late breakfast and checkout (till midday). We enjoyed a gorgeous breakfast in the hotel – very varied, great quality and good service. Definitely up there on the hotel breakfast list. Also, room service was of great quality and quickly served.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldaniels79, Guest Relations Manager at Hertford House, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest - I am sorry to hear of the issues that you experienced during your recent stay at Hertford House. We often cater for early check-ins where possible - and on this occasion the housekeeping team were running slightly late - you should not have been sent up to your room before it was ready for you - I am very sorry for this.

With regards to the noise levels, yes - the first 1st floor does experience higher noise levels than those on the 2nd and 3rd floors. We strive to pre-warn guests that noise will be heard in all rooms until 2am on a Friday and Saturday night and always endeavour to place guests in the quietest rooms where possible.

The presence of linen bags in the public areas is inexcusable and I can only apologise for this - I have been assured by the housekeeping team that this shortfall in service will not be repeated.

However - I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast which is locally sourced where possible, and I sincerely hope that we will have an opportunity to welcome you back to Hertford House in the near future. Should you need to discuss anything further, please don't hesitate to call in and ask to speak to myself, Lewis Daniels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    42
    27
    19
    32
See reviews for
14
57
9
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed here on a Saturday night as we were attending a party there. Booking and check in were good, we were warned that if we had a room facing the beer garden there would be noise from that and the night club which I thought was fair. We ate here, the lamb burger and fries were really nice. I thought the staff were very good, really friendly and helpful.

The room was ok, tastefully decorated, clean and tidy. The bed was also very comfortable. For some reason our room was unbearably warm, and we couldn't really open the window until after 2am because, as warned, it was really loud from the nightclub. Breakfast was really tasty in a relaxed setting.

Overall this hotel is good but I would only stay there if I had a function at the same hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Albans, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My partner and I had our Civil Partnership in Hertford in August of this year and as we were looking for a smaller reception (50 people) we decided on Hertford House. We couldn't have made a better choice. The management team were incredible and nothing was too much trouble for them. They provided the most incredible canapés and the staff were unbelievably attentive and friendly.

After our reception we spent the night at the hotel and the rooms were very clean and stylishly decorated...with a few personal touches thrown in. If you are looking to have a more intimate wedding reception in Hertford, you can’t go wrong with choosing Hertford House Hotel!

Crys & Dave Whitewoods - St Albans, Hertfordshire

Room Tip: There is a clud in the basement of the hotel so if you are a light sleeper, this might not be ideal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed overnight at the Hertford House on 4 occasions and have just booked again for a friends wedding. The rooms are just great, full of character and clean. The bar is lively and fun as a couple or with a group and bar food before drinks was very good value. Breakfast in bed was a great start to the Sunday morning. All the staff are friendly and its just a lovely stay, cant fault it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed on a Sunday night. We booked a superior double room which was Lovely with tea & coffee making facilities. Cosy & well decorated. Breakfast was good. There is no parking available however there is a car park close by.

Room Tip: There is no car park so plan ahead.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great welcoming, greeted & advised straight away on all that you need to make your stay pleasant.
I.E. best place for parking, breakfast serving times & where served.
The rooms are very comfy, very clean & well presented including a little mini fridge a real nice touch, considering i have recently stayed @ a supposedly 4* hotel which did not have a fridge at all.
The bathroom nicely decorated with over the bath shower, nicely sized room/bathroom.
The breakfast the following morning was an array of variety from full English to pancakes etc.
Enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you

Room Tip: The rooms to the back of the residence are a lot quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Over all It is good place for decent people to stay. Hotel Resturant is small and have very limited choice only english breakfast and grills etc. Snall bar and DJ on the Weekend. but location wise it's calm area. So not big location for enjoyment and No water in the toilets, most funny, only Tissues...

Room Tip: Ask for Big room if available on some corporate, it will be cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hertford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hertford House

Address: 1 Fore Street, Hertford, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hertford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Hertford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hertford House is the culmination of nearly two decades of our family-owned and run hospitality business in Hertford. Like many residents in Hertford we have pride in our county town and this typifies our approach to every aspect of running Hertford House Hotel - pride. Located in the heart of this charming market town, we aim to provide a touch of eclectic yet dependable luxury for those looking for somewhere to dance, eat or sleep (or all three).Originally home to the local newspaper, our 19th Century Grade 2 Listed building was tastefully and sympathetically converted to retain the grandeur of the original architecture and the work was commended with a Civic Society Award in 2007.We boast 22 light, modern and airy bespoke bedrooms, House Bar and from 2014 the amazing new restaurant created with Carl Clarke. Run with passion, heart and soul; we at Hertford House want your visit to be the best possible - whether it's your first, or fiftieth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hertford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hertford House Hotel Hertford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hertford House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.