We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WEDDED BLISS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rigsby's Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rigsby's Guest House to your Saves list
Rigsby's Guest House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   25 St Andrew Street, Hertford SG141HZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 9 Hertford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“WEDDED BLISS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Never in our lives have my family and I ever been treated to such professionalism and warmth than at Rigsbys guest house and piano bar. Its so wonderful, we booked our daughters wedding there. Myself ,the bride and my granddaughter bridesmaid stayed in the loft room the night before which is exquisite. The following day we had the sit down wedding breakfast for 15 guests. Morris the manager has an eye for detail and took our breath away with the table decoration and service. Also I feel he helped us in the planning of the wedding by sharing his expertise .After the superb meal fit for kings we migrated across to the evening reception. This was also organised by Donna the manager of the piano bar .Donna trains her employees to her high standards and the result is magical. kind and hard working and always willing to please, and such a gifted chef .They also did all the music,decorating and of course the Gorgeous buffet for 40 more evening guests.The food was sublime and all the staff went above and beyond with our guests especially the little children and the elderly .we also booked my daughter and son-in-law into the honeymoon suite for the first night as newly weds and received the star treatment again.Then the immediate wedding party all meet up for brunch the day after and they'd made up our table with remainder decorations .My husband & I were overwhelmed. we really appreciate all Rigsbys did for us. 10/10 all the way. Be it a three day celebration or one of our lazy Sunday stays or just in need of a pick-me-up lunch rigsbys have it all.Thank you again

Room Tip: the loft room was prefect for our pre-wedding girls night but a family would benefit also.room 2 is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigsbyuk1, General Manager at Rigsby's Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Annebeth,

Thank you for your lovely review and so clad everyone enjoyed there self's at the wedding.

We enjoyed having you all stay with us and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kindest Regards

Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
32
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Had a lovely meal at the piano cafe. Wonderful setting and excellent service from the staff. All very friendly and helpful. We sat out the back in the sunshine and took our dog too. The food was very well cooked and presented and we enjoyed it all. A lovely place to visit. . . Enjoy !.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigsbyuk1, General Manager at Rigsby's Guest House, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to review about your meal in Rigsby`s Piano Café, and we look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

Perfect stay the night before my friends wedding. Luxurious, comfortable and spotless rooms. Excellent breakfast and faultless service. Nothing was too much trouble for Maurice and his team.A brilliant start to a very special weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigsbyuk1, General Manager at Rigsby's Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Matt.C,

Thank you for writing your review about your stay and your very warm comments.

I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kindest Regards

Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The boyf and I stayed at Rigsby's on Saturday night with the rest of our friend's wedding party. It's such a gorgeous place and the staff are so friendly.

The welcome was brilliant - genuinely warm and inviting. Our room (Room 4) was near the top of the house which was good for us as we're light sleepers and, as it's an old building, can be a little creeky from other people walking about. The decor was gorgeous - romantic chic. The boyf wasn't as enthralled as me, but it spoke to my love of luxury and plushness. The bed was big and comfortable. The bathroom was bigger than some rooms I've lived in!! Even the toiletries were lovely! The shower was a little noisy but it was the best shower I've had in a while.

Breakfast was a relaxed and comfortable affair and the staff were so professional and everything came out in great time. And it was so yummy. I will remember those sausages for a long time!! We could have sat around chatting and eating for hours!

And to make it even better, Rigsby's do a lot to support their local community. As we checked out they told us about the event they had helped to set up in Hertford for local musicians with busking spots around the town. Brilliant!

I'm just looking for an excuse to go back...

Room Tip: If you stay at the front of the house, it can be a little noisy with the windows open on a weekend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigsbyuk1, General Manager at Rigsby's Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Beccada30,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

So clad you both enjoyed your stay with us an you had a good nights sleep and always lovely to hear positive feed back.

I look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Warmest Regards
Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tring
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Great little B & B , the rooms were great ,clean . comfortable and luxurious and with nice big bathrooms
Breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice
Morris and the team have done a fantastic job.
The property is full of character

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigsbyuk1, General Manager at Rigsby's Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Stuart,

Thank you for your very kind review about your stay with us.

Its always lovely to hear feed back from our Guests and I look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Kind Regards
Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Excellent stay in Rigsby Guest House. Rigsby has thought of everything in their clean, luxurious rooms and bathrooms. Comfort is the key word and they want you to enjoy your stay. Centrally located, it is easy to walk to/from railroad station and easy to catch buses. Close to all downtown stores, theatre, etc.

Our full english breakfasts were delicious with generous portions and eggs made to order. The croissants and muffins were warm and delicious.

We were a family of four with two teens. We stayed in the loft which was plenty big for the four of us. There were two televisions with cable and a sitting area. Everything, including the bathroom was modern and updated. Four sets of slippers and robes waited at the foot of the bed for our convenience. Free wifi too.

If I had to say anything that could be construed as a negative, but really wasn't, was that on one day, which was the warmest day of the year, the room was rather warm, but with the two fans we were quite comfortable. If you might be concerned, owner did mention that he is considering installing central air. It's usually cool, however, in Hertford. Weather is similar to Canada.

Can't wait to stay again!! Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigsbyuk1, General Manager at Rigsby's Guest House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay.

Really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and your lovely comments.

Once again thank you and I look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Kind Regards

Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

From the moment we walked through the door to the moment we left, we were looked after 100%. The property is full of character (as is the owner!), clean and every detail is perfect - from the folded table napkins at breakfast to the shiny bath tub taps.
The breakfast was beautiful, plentiful and cooked to perfection.
The property is situated close to shops and bars in the beautiful Hertford area.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, ask for a room on the 1st floor as the stairs above that level could...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rigsbyuk1, General Manager at Rigsby's Guest House, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Its lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and your lovely feed back.

Thank you once again and I look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Morris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rigsby's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rigsby's Guest House

Address: 25 St Andrew Street, Hertford SG141HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > Hertford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Hertford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rigsby's Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rigsby's is a beautiful period property minutes walk from Hertford town, with 7 luxury rooms, beautifully furnished in traditional pieces with all the technology and modern conveniences you would expect from a 5 star room. We have large bathrooms and showers, sumptuous towels and linen, dress robes and slippers, digital TV, iPod docking, wifi free of charge, private dining tables for breakfast,nearby parking, and offer full freshly cooked English or continental breakfast included in the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rigsby's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rigsby's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.