We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in the area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Raj Tandoori

The Raj Tandoori
30 Ware Road, Hertford SG13 7HH, England
01992 505019
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 85 Restaurants in Hertford
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best in the area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Raj Tandoori, very much a family business, has been providing top-quality Indian food for over two decades and is without doubt one of the best in the area. One of the founders, Chef Aziz is still involved, as a waiter, and keeps any eye on the what is happening in the kitchen. There are many gems on the menu and it's worth ringing the changes even if, like me, you find it hard to depart from your old tried and tested favourites.
The tomatoe 'salsa', made to a unique recipe and served with popadums, is an addictive part of the experience.
The service is excellent: courteous, without the bowing-and-scraping and faux-bonhomie to which customers are subjected in some establishments. The restaurant has a loyal following locally and from further afield. Riff-raff are unwelcome and you will find that the restaurant closes relatively early, Deo gracias, as the proprietors are not interested in making money from the post-pub trade who don't know how to behave. (Not that everyone emerging from the local pubs is in this category, of course!)
Highly and warmly recommended.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    1
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Failsafe Curry”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We use the Raj all of the time and cannot ever remember having a bad meal. If we want a good Indian meal, that is the default option. The service can be slow at times but that is probably because it is all freshly cooked (or they are prioritising the take away orders).Only if we are in a rush would we consider anywhere else.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“how the mighty have fallen”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

our monthly meal out was ruined last night by very poor service from what was once our favourite indian. Food was still very good, but prices are creeping up. A little bit expensive but overall still good value, but oh my, we will go back but they are in last chance saloon as far as my friends and i are concerned
buck up raj. Or face losing loyal customers of 25 years standing
a shocking preformance no excuse only two other tables occupied and its time for the restaurant to given a freshen up as well

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

It is so sad, we used to go here a lot but will not be rushing back after last night. Service was awful in fact positively rude at times. The starter was great but all the main courses were disappointing and lacked flavour, looking back we really should have walked out after waiting 20 mins to order drinks and the waiter being rude and almost impossible to communicate with. Sorry it was good while it lasted.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great little Indian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great Indian restaurant to pop into for a reasonably well priced meal. Decor is dated and atmosphere is ok. Waiting staff are friendly and attentive. Food is pretty good with a few different dishes to other Indian restaurants. Tried a new Indian beer I've not had before too, so great stuff. Recommended for quick evening out when you don't feel like cooking.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raj Tandoori also viewed

Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 
Hertford, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Raj Tandoori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raj Tandoori, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.