We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, wholesome food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Talbot Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Talbot Hotel to your Saves list
Talbot Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   14 New Street, Ledbury, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Ledbury B&B and Inns
Horsham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice, wholesome food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We popped in for a quick evening meal and the Talbot did not dissapoint. Fairly basic menu but good friendly service and food served piping hot. I had the steak and ale pie with rich gravy, veg and chunky chips. all very well cooked with a light pastry and good chunks of steak. The current lady wife had the fish pie which was sparingly hot but once cooled was very tasty with a good creamy potatoe topping.
A lovely 400 year old building, bags of atmosphere and reasonable prices. I would not hesitate to revisit.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    37
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
66
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Great Haywood, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at The Talbot in Ledbury on Friday and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The room was lovely, original but with up to date facilities and very comfortable. Really enjoyed a drink in the bar lots of atmosphere. The breakfast of smoked salmon and scrambled eggs and full English was spot on; we didn't eat in the evening but the menu looked very good, thanks for an enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in for lunch during a visit to Ledbury on a local shopkeepers recommendation. Although there didn't appear to be a kids menu, we all found something delicious to eat! The Steak and Ale pies were the best we've ever tasted out and the steaks and burgers were equally tasty. Service was great and all washed down with a decent local beer!! Would definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Went here on spec on a busy Sunday lunchtime,having just had a bad experience at another establishment in Ledbury. What a difference--cosy, friendly atmosphere, great choice of food and a very warm welcome from the Landlady and Landlord. Obviously very popular with the locals & with good reason. We all had a very enjoyable meal, very reasonably priced and have promised ourselves to return ASAP.

Room Tip: Cannot comment as we were just here for a meal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in July when we had very hot weather and did struggle to have any sleep. We were provided with a fan but it was very noisy so we were unable to leave it on at night. However the room was comfortable and just as we remembered (having stayed here previously). Bathroom was rather small but was adequate for a short stay.

Breakfast on our first morning was very good but on our second day, I decided against the "full English" and asked if I could just have sausage and toast. We were surprised when I received a rack of toast and just one sausage on a big plate! Felt they could have at least managed two sausages but maybe they were in short supply because they were so good! The hotel, I believe, sources all of its produce locally and the quality is of a very high standard.

Not too much choice of accommodation in Ledbury itself, but we probably like The Talbot the best and are likely to visit again. Thank you to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

room was clean and bed was comfortable, so large that it would have been suitable for more than two!
loved the actually building...all the narrow corridors and low beams and wonky door frames, winding staircase and the way if something wasn't placed properly back on a shelf it would slide.

wasn't keen on some of the prints on walls in bedroom, obviously there because of a local theme but felt they were a bit dark and spooky and could have been better chosen

breakfast was plentiful but somehow felt most of it has been presumptuously pre-prepared as the sausage and bacon were not thoroughly hot...this was only a small gripe though as overall it was most enjoyable and the room in which it was served was absolutely delightful.

there was a bit of noise from the road but that was too be expected due to the location, would like to go back again maybe sometime and sample what the restaurant has to offer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollheim, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Visited in January for a romantic and long weekend. Stayed before we love this inn and this part of the world.
Room was clean and still looking smart and crisp from the refurbs over a year ago. Love the corridors upstairs, the floors are older than the USA. You feel like your on a ship at sea, with a rolling deck, till your feet get used to them, magical.!!

Food was good, if a little pricey, but there were offers for residents, which made a quality meal very good value. The breakfasts were good, almost the best i have ever had. And the service was from kind and considerate staff.
I like the fact that i see the chefs buy some of their produce from the quality green grocers next door.

Midday a bowl of soup, or the bar menu was always welcoming, and hit the spot. The Talbot is fairly central to the town for many other, and varied great eateries. The beer here was excellent and doing frequent sampling through the spring still is.. Henry's and 6X are fabulous - well kept. Other local ciders and beer.

Step down off the pavement into the Bar, it is a jewel. You'll be entertained by your eyes and your ears. And you'll rub shoulders with them all. The bar manager is a bit eccentric, like a one man show - with beer.!! Heard he may have left..

The bar buzzes in the evening, and it's one of the nicest and friendliest bars in town, open fire, kind people, great ambiance, great welcome. Parking during the day is abit of a pain, but small price to pay for such a fulfilling stay.

I like this town, and i enjoy my frequent visits to this inn, can't recommend this place enough. Enjoy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talbot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talbot Hotel

Address: 14 New Street, Ledbury, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Ledbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Talbot Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Talbot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talbot Hotel Ledbury, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talbot Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.