We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location - dated lodges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Woodside Country Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ledbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodside Country Park
Save
You added Woodside Country Park to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Falcon Lane, Ledbury HR8 2JN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing location - dated lodges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The location is second to none. The area is unspoilt and peaceful which is just what we wanted. Their is a small conservation area to the rear of the park which is perfect for a little walk with the children dogs. We could not fault that side of things.
Having stayed in several lodges in the past, what we had come to expect from a 'luxury' lodge, we just didn't find here. The Ledbury was clean and had the essentials yes but it was very basic and small. We were willing to pay more upon arrival to move as we were immediately disappointed, but no other lodges were free. The furniture was tired and the arm chairs blocked the way to the bathroom. If you wanted to sit around the table as a family then the furniture had to be moved and doorways blocked.
I feel that as these were the first lodges built 20 years ago, they have been left as is since then. Ive read the newer lodges are more modern so I think we just chose the wrong cabin! Sadly based on a somewhat uncomfortable stay, we would not return which is a shame because the park could not be more perfect otherwise.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Woodside in the new camping pods. The woodland setting is beautiful. The kids enjoyed playing hide and seek in the woods!!
Lovely owners, who were very friendly and helpful.

The Pods are spacious (family of 4 in ours) and very clean. The are located opposite washroom area, but don't let this put you off. The facilities are all very clean.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales, uk
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

Booked just 3 nights at Ledbury Lodge No.3 in Woodside Country Park, mainly because we could take the dog. It was absolutely wonderful. The dog came alive, chasing squirrels and rabbits (never catching them as she is an old girl now).
The Lodge itself was in a pretty setting around a lake and i would never get tired of that view.
The interior was comfortable (except for the sofa) and well equipt. The kitchen was decked out with everything you could possibly need - there was even a small box of milk in the fridge on our arrival. The surrounding area was magical to us and the dog - walks in fields and the conservation area made our stay enchanting.
The only thing lacking was a small shop which would be handy just for newspapers and breakfast items etc. But having said this Ledbury is 2 minutes drive away, so not a real problem.
I think what was best is this is a family run business and they obviously work incredibly hard to make the country park a success. There aren't too many lodges, which means you get relation and peace and quiet, which is exactly what we expected. The owners were friendly, but stayed in the background after the initial introductions. I am confident that should we have needed anything they would have done their best to ensure we got it. The Lodge itself was clean and cosy and made us not want to leave. My only other comment would be the TV is small and couldn't be seen from all angles of the lodge, but again this is not a great problem and did not deter us from thoroughly enjoying our short stay at this lovely location.
Well done Ken and Family - keep up the good work and we hope to see you again sometime in the future.

Room Tip: I suspect any of the Lodges are perfect - do be prepared to drive out and see the surrounding sites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Have just returned from a stay in the spring pools lodge which are 3 lodges set slightly away from the main park. My partner & I took our small dog and I must say it is fantastic for the dogs with a huge conservation area with picnic tables, ponds, wildlife & plants where dogs can run free. The lodge was out of this world! So spacious (especially the veranda), immaculate and the attention to detail was incredible. The owners & wardens very helpful & friendly. There are a number of different elements including campsite, camping pods, lodges & bunkhouse which make it so unique. Close to Tewkesbury, Hereford, Ross on wye. Genuinely sad to leave!

Room Tip: The springpools lodges are fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just returned from a weekend break with husband, 10 year old daughter and our little dog and we really didn't want to come home! The photographs do not do this place justice! We have holidayed in a log cabin in Lapland on a very expensive holiday and that accommodation came nowhere near the standard of Springpools Lodge. Every need was met and we were welcomed by the lovely friendly owners who immediately made us feel right at home. Just a couple of minutes drive to the town of Ledbury and about 25 minutes to Hereford you're close enough not to feel isolated but far enough away from the hustle and bustle to enjoy the beautiful peaceful surroundings. We will 100% be visiting again one of the best holidays we have ever had.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

stayed here with my husband and dog in a Snowy January! originally booked the small 2 person lodge which was cute and suited us, a little dated but warm and comfortable! with the inclement weather we requested to stay a further 3 nights on our original 7 night booking! which was not a problem, we were lucky to be upgraded to a large cabin right next to the office, it was huge and more modern, Plenty of walks available from the site without need to use the car, walked into Ledbury a couple of times, pretty town.Falcon lane on which it's sited is narrow and was a bit dicey on the day we left after the snow!

Room Tip: if going in the winter take some logs for the burners, they are available to buy but small sacks, do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Just back today after a lovely week.
Our norm is 2 weeks long hall in the sun BUT last 2 yrs we have been hooked on uk cabin holidays with the Dog and our Ledbury lodge at woodside did not disappoint. We stayed no3 which is in the pic directly on a pond.
The whole site/ surroundings is Huge, totally unspoilt, not over looked by neighbouring guests, extremely peaceful and absolutly stunning!! Cabin is just as you would expect as in pictures. The only gripe is Desperatly in need of a new mattress (Gawd our Backs) would not stop us returning.
(Tip: we took the double mattress off the sofa bed and put on top of the bed - which helped a lot)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WoodsideCountryPark, Owner at Woodside Country Park, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Many thanks for your comments - and we are sorry that the mattress was uncomfortable. It is in the plan/budget to renew the mattresses this winter ready for next season - so we hope that if you come and see us again you will notice a big improvement! Thanks once again for the helpful comment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodside Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodside Country Park

Address: Falcon Lane, Ledbury HR8 2JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Ledbury
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodside Country Park 3*
Also Known As:
Woodside Country Park Ledbury, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodside Country Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.