We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little gem with singing chefs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oak at Staplow

The Oak at Staplow
Bromyard Road | Staplow, Ledbury HR8 1NP, England
+44 1531 640954
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 44 Restaurants in Ledbury
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“What a little gem with singing chefs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled upon this little gem of a pub near ledbury. Little pricey but we'll worth it . We sat at about 8:30 and had a fish platter to start which was well presented. For mains we had beautiful pork belly and the most perfectly cooked salmon main course I've ever eaten . Apparently this place had no accolades so good luck to our next restaurant we visit because the oak inn ledbury is really punching above it's weight.
I would like to say a big thanks to hydon ? For his good humor at the bar and service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    31
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
worcester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Superb Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome, lovely beer, full bodied smooth and inexpensive red wine. Great atmosphere with friendly locals and staff.

Well presented freshly made beautiful soup with 'just baked' bread and unusual but tasty sweetcorn fritters with a chilli dip.

Followed by tender and full flavoured roast beef with crispy roast potatoes and a selection of fresh vegetables cooked and seasoned to perfection.

And for pud... a perfect creme brulee which was big enough for two!

All absolutely spot on. A most memorable meal and certainly far superior to most we have experienced in either a pub or restaurant for many years. In fact, I can't recall enjoying a better Sunday lunch.

Thank you to all at The Oak.



  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pub?? More like food heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

If you want a show while eating your beautifully cooked food then this is the place for you. I had the skate with red cabbage, brown shrimp sauce, stunning! The hubby had lamb shoulder, described as "heaven" by a very satisfied man. We spoke to the Very pleasant head chef from a small village in Wales and could of chatted all night.
No 1 in ledbury and a must visit !!

well done the oak team :-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromyard
1 review
“Our favourite local restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Sorry Trip advisor. we think the last two reviews did not jibe with our own experience! We've been to the Oak numerous times in the last four years at least, including yesterday, 14th September. I had the duck breast perfectly cooked with a range of vegetables and delicious jus. My wife had a well-cooked sea bass risotto and roast veg. We both had blood orange creme caramel desserts. All very good. Readers should note that the old chef left recently and the new chef is still feeling his way in! As ever the staff were pleasant and friendly. Also as usual the prices did not seem at all extreme.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Chef not light on feet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

A busy Weds. night meant the chef was not able to adapt a duck meal for a dairy-free person. The result was a beautifully cooked and delicious duck leg with no sauce, some chips and a small portion of carrots and green beans - a far cry from fondant potatoes, summer cabbage, mushroom fricasse, beetroot something and cherry jus that should have accompanied it. Still charged £16 for a paltry dish! On asking staff for something to moistent the plate a honey and sesame oil dressing was brought by manageress - didn't 'cut the mustard'! And the admonishment she gave me that I should have called ahead is not on - an apology and learning to be more flexible is the way to go. Vegans and celiacs also - beware this place!
The other two diners enjoyed their meals.But the local who took us there who had had many lovely lunches at the Inn won't go again in the evening - it seemed more 'posey' inthe evening and the menu is rather different.
The bar/waitress staff had tried to be helpful when I was ordering but it's up to the chef what comes out of the kitchen.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak at Staplow also viewed

Ledbury, Herefordshire
 
Ledbury, Herefordshire
Ledbury, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Oak at Staplow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oak at Staplow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.