We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alberta Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alberta Guest House to your Saves list
Alberta Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   5-13 Newtown Road, Hereford HR4 9LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 37 Hereford B&B and Inns
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“short visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We found this B & B on the internet and thought we would try it as others we usually use were full. Very pleasant young man welcomed us on our arrival and made us feel at home straight away. Room was clean and well decorated. Breakfast was very good - excellent value within the price of the room, waiting staff were efficient and pleasant. Will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Back rooms away from road would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
30
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

The Alberta is handy for the city centre, has loads of parking and offers a very friendly welcome. Our room was spacious, very comfortable and a had a nice powerful shower. Although were were on the main road there wasn't much traffic noise. We had a great nights sleep and a lovely breakfast, we would definitely recommend the Alberta as really good value for money.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The Alberta was probally one of the cleanest places I have stayed in, everything was spotlessly clean. All the fixtures and fittings were to a very high standard and the breakfast was good. The waiting on staff at Breakfast were fast and efficient but had time to be pleasant. The historic city centre is a 5 minute walk away. At the rear of the guest house is an excellent well designed private car park so you have the peace of mind to know your car should be OK If we were to return to Hereford we would not go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms with the balcony are well worth the little extra if the weather is kind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst on route to the West Country. I stayed in a double room with a balcony. The bedroom was spotlessly clean as was the en–suite bathroom. The bed was very comfortable and the room generally was tastefully decorated and well appointed - no shortage of electrical sockets either. The service was helpful and friendly but unobtrusive. The Alberta is a 10 minute walk from the centre of town. The Alberta has an excellent car park.

The cooked breakfast was tasty and ideally portioned, although the sausage was rather disappointing - a bog standard catering sausage with no taste at all, which was surprising given the attention to detail everything else.

The WiFi signal didn't reach my room so I guess they could look at more powerful routers. However I had very good 3G signal on EE so I didn't mind the lack of WiFi.

To conclude, if you're staying in Hereford, stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We had booked to see the excellent Showaddywaddy at The Courtyard, Hereford. This guest house is a short walking distance away, it was perfect to save us driving home that night. Friendly, en-suite clean room with a good breakfast and plenty of car parking off road, perfect!
As the check -in is early afternoon there was plenty of time to look around the town, just a short walk away so no parking fees to pay in town, a big bonus these days.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the guest house and did hear some traffic noise although it wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We recently stayed at this delightful and welcoming guest house, a very interesting whole terrace of linked cottage style accommodation. It was a delight! We were welcomed by Alison, the owner, who was really keen to help us find our way about during our stay. The accommodation was spotlessly clean, well equipped and warm with lovely coordinated furnishings. we shall most certainly be returning!

Linda and Tony Ryan from Bolton

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a very well run, immaculately clean and cost effective place to stay in Hereford. The hotel is a series of adjoining houses containing the rooms, some en-suite, some with shared ablutions. The rooms are well appointed and mine was immaculate!

The selection at breakfast was plentiful and well cooked.

The Alberta is approximately 10-15 minutes walk from Hereford Cathedral and the same from the Railway Station. There is parking behind the establishment and a communal garden.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alberta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alberta Guest House

Address: 5-13 Newtown Road, Hereford HR4 9LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alberta Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Alberta Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alberta Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.