We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alberta Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Alberta Guest House to your Saves list
Alberta Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   5-13 Newtown Road, Hereford HR4 9LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 37 Hereford B&B and Inns
1 review
“Extremely clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

This is our 4th visit to Hereford with work, the other 3 hotels pale into insignificance to the Alberta. The first impression was the cleanliness of the room. The welcome was great and informative. choices at breakfast great. All round great value. The morning after our first night I was on the phone to my office to get them to book for the following week.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    12
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
30
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Great place to stay. Have stayed here MANY times. Must book up though as it can get very busy. Staff and owner (Allison) are super friendly. Close enough to the city to walk. Centre of town only 7 minutes. Great Full English breakfast if you are not too hungover from trying some of the local brews nearby !

Room Tip: There are two balcony rooms to the rear overlooking the large car park and gardens although they cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

had two stays at the alberta with friends while working in the area ,all three rooms on both visits where clean ,warm and very comfortable .the breakfast was first rate with plenty of choice .
there is a large car park at the rear which we found very handy.
we did not have much contact with many staff but the breakfast staff where very pleasant and help full .
this was a work stay for us but if that way again on pleasure trip it would be my first place to stay.

Room Tip: would ask for room on rear just a little traffic on busy road on the front .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Arrived at Alberta mid afternoon on the Sunday, pleasant young lady showed us to our room. Number 10 upstairs at the front. I accept there is some traffic noise but the rest of the road is residential property so I guess it is what you get used to. Anyway I slept well enough. The room is double glazed contrary to other reviews. A minor criticism is that there is possibly too much furniture in the room. At least one chest of drawers could be removed to make more space. How many drawers do you need in a b an b? The electric shower was really efficient with plenty of hot water. The property is converted from five former semi detached houses which works rather well with an adequate car park at the rear. The breakfast room is very light and airy and the choice is absolutely fine with the usual fare of cereals, juices, yogurt etc and then the breakfast is cooked to your order.
The dog previously mentioned must have moved on, never saw or smelled it.
The property is a leisurely ten minutes walk away from the town centre with the usual shops pubs etc and the inevitable Tesco within easy reach.
The cathedral is just off the town centre, easily walkable.
In the other direction is a pub and a Pizza Hutt.
The only niggle I had is that my lap-top just would not connect to the wi-fi. Found the signal but would not usefully connect.
The whole place was really clean and tidy with fresh white linen on the bed. If I was going to be picky, the bed was a bit noisy for my liking.
I would stay here again and would have no difficulty recommending it to others, although if a light sleeper, and not used to traffic noise a room at the back might be advisable.

Room Tip: If traffic noise likely to be a problem, ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Four of us stayed at the Alberta last weekend for one night. We were warmly welcomed and showed our rooms. Even though they weren't ready as we were early, we were shown them and a place for our bags was offered, a nice thoughtful touch. The rooms were well equipped, looked newly decorated and all spotlessly clean.

The Alberta is on a busy road, but concerns about traffic noise were unfounded.

The breakfast selection is ok, and the cooked full english was very good.

The only minor gripe, (and it is very minor!), is that there wasn't a table for 4 available for breakfast so we had a bit of a squeeze. There were 2 other parties of 4 in that I could see and they'd already nabbed the only decent size tables. We were obviously a party of 4, so it would have been nice if maybe 2 of the smaller tables had been pushed together and laid for us.

As I said, this is a very minor gripe and we all agreed that the Alberta is very well run and we would stay again and recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

I worked in Hereford for over a year and stayed the whole time at the Alberta, I enjoyed it because Alison and her staff were always very friendly, welcoming and helpful. The rooms were always clean, tidy and of a high standard of turn out. The breakfast selection was good and served fresh. I would have no problem recommending the Alberta and the price of the room is very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife & I recently paid a 3 night visit to Hereford where we stayed at the Alberta Guest House.
We had gone to Hereford to visit the County Archives for family history reseach purposes and we found the Alberta a very convenient place to stay. It is a short walk from the city centre, about half a mile.
The Alberta consists of 3 pairs of former semi-detached houses, two of which have been joined together by the construction of a new section of property. This new section accommodates the lovely dining room, the bedrooms are located in parts of the six original houses.
The room we stayed in was adequately spacious, cosy & warm. There was plenty of storage space with a double fitted wardrobe, dressing table, bedside drawers and a further chest of drawers. The furnishings and decor looked quite new and everything was spotlessly clean. The only downside from my point of view was that the room wasn't double glazed so there was a fair bit of traffic noise especially early mornings, from the busy street outside.
The breakfast room was light & cheerful, the staff were very friendly and the breakfasts were good. I would recommend the Alberta to anyone intending to spend a short time in Hereford.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alberta Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alberta Guest House

Address: 5-13 Newtown Road, Hereford HR4 9LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alberta Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alberta Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alberta Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.