We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attending a family wedding” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Munstone House Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Munstone House Country Hotel to your Saves list
Munstone House Country Hotel
Munstone, Hereford HR1 3AH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Hereford
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Attending a family wedding”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Unfortunately, for such an idyllic location there were many faults to the so called "hotel". These are listed below:
- Door bell at reception instead of a personal greeting
- Lawn littered with empty beer cans and used baby wipes
- Broken glass found outside the Honeymoon suite
- Ice machine broken (no sign to say ice machine out of order or how to obtain anymore)!
- No evening bar available
- No evening meals available
- No wi-fi available in the rooms (apparently corridor only)
- Asking the Bride-to-Be to stop getting ready for her big day and to go and dismantle the wedding cake due to 2 floor boards being loose and the hotel not being covered by insurance
- Had to request clean towels for following morning (bearing in mind we had a jacuzzi in our room)
- Towels sizes were only small
- No chamber maid had been in the following day to make bed or have general tidy up (this also included the Bridal Suite)
- No phone in the room (so contact reception)!
- The 2 members of staff were very professionally presented and friendly, however the owner was not dressed suitably for somebody who is representing their so called high end hotel and obviously being seen by the wedding party ( if not dressed appropriately then staying back of house would be advised)
- Owners failed to move their cars from side entrance which caused an eye sore for the wedding photos
- Bumped into another bride on leaving reception (Bridal Suite had been double booked)!
- Requested Champagne breakfast which never arrived
- Check in is 4 pm and check out is 10 am (too early for a Bride and Groom)!!!
- Breakfast 8 am - 9 pm served too early and not long enough

When paying £120 per night, per room, you expect a high standard of which was not met at all on our stay at Munstone House. This establishment is not a hotel, it is a very poorly run B&B. No personal touch or a welcoming smile, understaffed and run on a shoe string budget. Extremely sad to see when you know it could be such a wonderful place if the right people were to be in charge.

The Hotel Inspector needed - contact Channel 4!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    22
    18
    20
    41
See reviews for
32
75
9
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

The primary function of this house seems to be for weddings, therefore every room is decorated in a grand style with large comfortable beds. Set in quite location with well presented grounds. The breakfast was excellent, the staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We had our wedding Venue at Munstone house dated 31st August 2012, i could not have asked for a better venue the setting was beautiful, we had cider punch on arrival with strawberries covered in chocolate, followed by pate, roast beef and apple pie, we had a hot and cold buffet in the evening, the food was amazing. We had a new room which was comfortable and very modern we had a tv in the bathroom with a jacuzzi bath, very posh. If i had to have my wedding again i would certainly do everything the same and reckon this venue.

Room Tip: Have one of the new rooms, the one with the round bed is amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

only stayed 1 night but wish we'd had time to stay longer.lovely room beautiful comfy four poster bed gorgeous bathroom . breakfast excellent . staff lovely and friendly. the gardens were lovely to sit in in the evening . beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We didn,t get to the hotel until late on a Friday evening and were met by a lovely elderly lady who showed us up to our room. We put our bags down and had a look around our room (The Duchess Room) and then went downstairs to have a little look around.

There was the function room that was being prepared for the next day which was a wedding and she showed us the room which was beautiful.

The next morning when we woke up, the view was lovely. We had a big bay window that looked over the grounds and you could see the hills and Brecon Beacons.

We went down for our breakfast and we were about 20 mins late, but we were still served and there was still a lot of breakfast there from the self serve, so we were happy.

Later on in the day, we watched a wedding party get their photos taken by the fountain in the grounds which was lovely. We could hear the music, but not very loudly which faded into the background after a while. The music also stopped at midnight so we had a restful sleep.

The next morning we made sure we were early for breakfast and were the first ones there (as we were the only ones that were probably not part of the wedding party) and were fresh as daisies! - unlike some of the others that came down. LOL.

We had a beautiful weekend and thought that the staff were very helpful. On the saturday evening, we bought a few goodies to eat in our room and the staff were very accommodating and gave us plates and cutlery etc.

We couldnt find anything wrong with our stay whatsoever.

Beautiful hotel, beautiful weather, and very nice helpful staff who let us get on with own thing, but were there to help if needed.

Yvonne told us that when we came back to try one of the newer rooms which we definitely will!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clynderwen, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Where do you start, directions are a problem if using sat nav as it takes you to a football field at a school around 6 miles away and had to phone and also get directions from a local petrol station.

On arrival we were greeted to a wonderful looking house in a nice setting greeted by a member of staff with a rather naughty little child, that was later chased around our room by said member of staff to finally get him out.....
Looking around our room we were paying £100 PER NIGHT for it felt rather cold and "unused" and a little disappointed at the size of the bed for such a large room... after looking around a bit more i discovered the other s posts of the 4 poster were broken off and chucked under the bed and the 2 remaining ones were loose and for want of a better word DANGEROUS.

Wall to wall mirrors were dirty and smeared with half heated attempts to clean then as were glass table tops, i actually wrote with a finger in the dirt "CLEAN ME" to find the next day they were STILL there, sheets on the bed had not been changed let alone straightened out and pillows were still flat from the night before.

We were told if we needed anything then please call reception....... not sure HOW as there was no phone in the room and the "free wifi" that is advertised was disconnected.

Sadly i have to say the 4 START rating is wasted
I have bigger T towels at home than they do BATH towels and the ones we had were all threaded and looked like a mouse had been at them, towel holder was old and falling apart so glued to the floor with silicone, as was the toilet brush and paper holder.

The wardrobe was fitted with lights that stayed on all the time as they were broken. to the point i got fed up and removed the bulbs as they would not go off

Breakfast was ok but nothing i would call 4 star and the cleaner REALLY could do with a P45 and a boot in the rear.

If this was 4 in a bed they would get £30-£40 MAXIMUM and would defiantly not be staying again.

The perfect setting and making of a 5 star boutique hotel all let down by sloppy staff and useless cleaners

Just to add there is NO evening bar to serve you and NO on site restaurant so be prepared to eat at a pub down the road NOTE (pub down the road has MUCH better service than the hotel)

Room Tip: Choose a good room...................... DONT BOTHER
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in the Buttercup suite which is a very pleasant room, the breakfast was nice and plenty of it. Staff helpfull and friendly. Their was a wedding reception going on when we returned on Saturday, but it did not interfere with us at all, and no noise in our room. I would definately recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Munstone House Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Munstone House Country Hotel

Address: Munstone, Hereford HR1 3AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Munstone House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Munstone Hotel Country

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Munstone House Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.