We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very quaint” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Den

The Den
17a West Street, Hereford HR4 0BX, England
01432268666
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 216 Restaurants in Hereford
Cuisines: English, Contemporary, Café, Wine Bar
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very quaint”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We went on valentines night had a 3 course meal with wine. The choice of food was fantastic and a little different than most which was good, the service was great and the restaurant was set out very nice and unique. Would recommend its a lovely quaint and unique place will be going back again x

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    28
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I took our granddaughter for a meal to celebrate my husbands birthday to day,we had a wonderful meal and the staff were absolutely delightful

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mothers Day treat really great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Great service, good food, will go again definitely. Staff were really friendly, and my pud was WOW.
Going to try the breakfasts next time. Keep it up.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Couldn't fault!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Went to 'the den' for Mother's Day, haven't been before but can honestly say will be going again!! The service was great, everybody was polite and friendly, and the food was truly outstanding.. I couldn't think of a nicer place to go out and eat in herefordshire and can highly rate the roast dinner.. Served with every vegetable you could think off, immaculately cooked meat, well though out presentation! Nice gaps between meals, not too long but enough time to enjoy a good drink a let the food settle, very hard to choose what to have though as it all sounded so yummy but was very very satisfied with what I ordered and all very reasonably priced. Huge thank you to all at the den for making my day special!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The Den est fantastique.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

When our son said "how about The Den?", we had never heard of it. He and his wife live in east London and have much higher expectations than us humble Herefordians. We thought that if he had chosen it, he couldn't grumble if it was no good. We booked a table thinking that it probably would not be necessary.
How wrong we were: the place was packed, every chair occupied and the food on the plates looked good.
The food that we ordered came in its due time, not too soon and certainly not late.
We all enjoyed what we had ordered; the Rioja was bang-on room temperature, which is unusual, and eminently drinkable. Jade Owen is the owner and Maitre'd and she controls the place with skill and panache.
She sees cutlery being put down, courses being finished and whips up her troops in the kitchen and marshals the waiting staff. She is the captain of her culinary little ship and she knows what's happening. Everywhere!
This delightful small restaurant is such a welcome change from a pub-restaurant, but what makes it stand out, and believe me, it does stand out, is its success. About forty people all came, at different times, with different tastes, all served efficiently, all happy and smiling and satisfied.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Den also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Den, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.