We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Real Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Madeleine

La Madeleine
17 Church Street, Hereford HR1 2LR, England
01432 265233
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 216 Restaurants in Hereford
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Hereford
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Real Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had one of the most delicious lunches that we've eaten in a long time whilst sat in the delightful garden at the back of the restaurant. The food was freshly prepared a good choice of light lunches and snacks and nothing was too much trouble. Helen and her team were busy but so attentive to all diners despite it being a busy lunchtime. The garden was just perfect to sit in with dappled shade and lots of seating. It's so lovely to find somewhere in Hereford where you can sit outside and have have the most gorgeous food! We shall be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    18
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Consistently good, slightly upmarket dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Have had several lunch meetings here over recent months, and the standard of cooking and service is very good. The menu is always interesting and I have never had a bad experience. Salads are fresh and imaginative, pasta dishes are always interesting, and the puddings are too good! It is always busy at lunchtimes - which tells a reassuring story.....

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“More of a Bistro but well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Food worth waiting for as all freshly cooked. Staff friendly and helpful and all dog lovers! Very clean and tidy throughout.
Would certainly recommend and we will be going back when we next visit Hereford.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Hereford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was my second visit to this wonderful little find in the depths of Hereford. I'm admittedly fussy about coffee and having tasted some appalling brown sludge masquerading as coffee so many times in town, it was wonderful to find somewhere that provided the real thing. On top of this you have the friendly, helpful staff, the divine French pastries and the lovely location. Fab.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming and relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This little restaurant is a lovely place for a relaxed lunch and if the weather is good then alfresco dining in the courtyard garden is a must. The food is all cooked fresh to order and the service is great. I would thoroughly recommend eating here but would also advise booking as it is quite a small and popular place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Madeleine also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to La Madeleine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Madeleine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.