We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful, charming, fun... Great getaway from stressful working life. Smokey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tipi Adventure Ltd.

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hereford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tipi Adventure Ltd.
Save
You added Tipi Adventure Ltd. to your Saves list
Orchard Farmhouse | Mordiford, Hereford HR1 4EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful, charming, fun... Great getaway from stressful working life. Smokey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just got back after staying one night in the tipi. Was shown to our tipi by the staff, who were helpful and then taught the basics of how to open up the smoke flaps, which proved to be needed!
Once taught the basics, the staff left you to get on with your stay and to get along with nature.

Everything is provided, in terms of kitchen accessories. The beds were double futons, which were very comfy and we had a good nights sleep with the smoke flaps left open so we could fall asleep under the stars.

We cooked on the fire in the tent- Very enjoyable. Cooked corn on the cobs/chilli and toasted marshmallows. Be careful of the smoke when cooking, it hurts your eyes & throat, but if you stay low to the ground you are fine.

NOTE- this is not 'glamping', its basic and simple. Everything is practical and not 'cutsie.' Toilets are within portaloos/ portashowers. If you are looking for luxury this is probably not for you, but if you want fun and adventure then I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I've just come home from a 2 night stay in a tipi with my boyfriend Nick Jaye. We came for valentines day and had a fantastic time! Admittedly, we were very lucky with the weather, was sunny when we arrived on Thursday 14th Feb and very sunny and warm yesterday, Friday 15th, so we went on a recommended walk by Steve and one of the Bens dropped us off near the forest to walk back from via the Moon Inn pub! The tipi itself was great, we got the knack of lighting the fire without smoking ourselves out once Steve gave us a proper run down about the smoke (not rain other Ben) flaps lol! Think we had the best location for our tipi, app 50 yds from the toilet block and where we parked the car, wheelbarrows provided to wheel your luggage to your tipi, works great! We'll definitely be coming back, probably best in Spring when weather a bit warmer or maybe late Summer/ Autumn....fab!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We went Aug 2012 & loved it, despite the weather. Staff fun, really liked the fact at they set you off & then you don't see anyone until you check out though. Feels like a proper adventure. Canoeing was fab, kingfishers & dragonflies, picnic on the river bank. Stopped off at the pub for a pint & got to tipi at tea time. it was all good, although if you were fussy then you might have expected a bit more glam, as it is functional inside & not at all 'style magged' up. We def won't be having a fire inside next time!! Kippers. Also paddling & cooking on fires are hard work. We are going back this year, hopefully.

Room Tip: Site 1 is nearest site if you start in hereford city centre & is actually right next to the base...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is possibly the nicest company I have ever dealt with, who are running a fantastic holiday experience.

My boyfriend and I booked a Tipi / canoe trip at the Outdoors show earlier this year after sitting in one of their luxury tipis. Each tipi is kitted out to a high standard including futons, bedding, sheepskin rugs, pots, pans, matches, candles, a box of toys (frisbees / balls etc), cooking equipment, a ready made fire pit in the tipi with generous firewood and kindling allowances included in the price. There is also a bbq outside with a box of charcoal, a picnic bench and another fire pit - basically everything you need for your most luxurious camping weekend ever.

They will lend you a cool box for your food and put your luggage in ready for you (if arriving by canoe). The lovely Ziggy came to pick me and my boyfriend up from our B&B in Hereford, we were given a river briefing and kitted out with paddles and buoyancy aids whilst fussed over by their affectionate black lab, Archie.

There are different lengths of canoe trips offered depending on how adventurous you're feeling and we set off on a 5 hour trip down the Wye - a relaxing and healthy river with all manner of wildlife on show - including 9 sightings of Kingfishers and many Herons.

We were picked up at the end of day 2 very promptly after ringing them and dropped back off at the train station with our luggage. Absolutely nothing was too much trouble and the value for money the company offer is amazing. Each and everyone of their employees was so genuine and helpful and they obviously do a lot to give work to local companies and people.

If you're reading this and thinking of booking, whether for a couple, family, friends, stag/hen do - just do it! The value for money is amazing and the staff will almost guaranteed help you tailor your trip especially. Having returned 2 days ago, I can't wait to go back!

Thank you Tipi Adventure!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just returned from a 1 night break with Tipi Adventure and we loved every minute of it.
My husband has been 3 times now so is a bit of a Tipi expert, it was my 1st time and we are already enquiring about prices for next year. I want to go back !!!!

We opted for a short paddle, 2 hour canoe trip down the river Wye which was wonderful with lovely views along the way. We never fell in once which is a bonus.

We arrived at our Tip site just after lunch and settled down with the BBQ, outside fire and then made for a cozy night inside the Tipi with its own fire.
It was truly wonderful, very romantic and something which I think everyone should experiance.
The stars at night were magical, i dont ever think ive ever seen so many.
We had a comfortable cozy night the only noise I heard was an owl so cant comlain about that ; )

Overall, Tipi adventure provide everything you need, you just need to take yourselves, food and drink, they provide the rest , the hosts were amazing, special shout to Steve who was most helpful.

Go on what you waiting for, Book a Tipi for the night : )

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Going on a Tipi adventure is one of the best ways of spending some family time that I can think of. This is the second time we have been and we will go again for sure. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Take friends with you a fill a tipi camp site.- much more fun. If you don't, you take a bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tipi Adventure Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tipi Adventure Ltd.

Address: Orchard Farmhouse | Mordiford, Hereford HR1 4EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation is in our large Tipi lodges, which sleep up to 7 in each unit (3 double & 1 single futon) - Remote settings (just 2 or 3 tipis) on the banks of the River Wye. Combine Canadian canoeing with an overnight stay. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tipi Adventure Ltd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.