We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful service and very good food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Muzey's Old Bridge Cafe - CLOSED

Muzey's Old Bridge Cafe
Bridge Street, Hereford, England
01432-61-15-28
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hereford
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and very good food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We needed to eat early to allow two of us to sing in a concert at the Cathedral, so my husband rang the day before and arranged to eat at 5.45. I arrived at 5.30 in the pouring rain and found the door locked so I asked to be let in. It was only then when the very obliging and friendly young man welcomed me in that I discovered that they don't usually open until 6.30 but were happy to change their arrangements specially for us. I had a really lovely hot ginger drink while I waited for my husband and friend and a chat with the young man and his lovely aunt who does the cooking. They turned the music on and made sure I was warm enough. This sort of service continued throughout our meal which we all thoroughly enjoyed. We had meze between us ( portions slightly altered to accommodate three of us) and then a main course each (one had meat, one fish and one veggie.) We all enjoyed the flavours and the baklava afterwards was beautiful. No wonder they were fully booked that night (when they really WERE open!)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    2
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

A random Friday night visit by Richard and I found that there was a spare table. We were lucky as it's usually fully booked. And not surprisingly, for the food is excellent, tomatoes and aubergines, herbs and spices. Everything, from the starters to the yummy baklava was absolutely delicious. So much so that we had to order another bottle of Gewürztraminer the more to savour it. We were served by a delightful and attentive waitress and ate to the music of a live guitarist.
Muzey's Old Bridge Cafe has one of the best locations in Hereford, on the River Wye at the north end of the city's medieval bridge. Entirely worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Five Star.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My family and I booked Musey's Cafe for the evening.
This place is a must on your list for restaurants to visit, you will not be disappointed. The food was exquisite, the service was personal, and the attention to detail was beyond exception!
The food was hot, delicious and perfectly cooked. The staff were attentative, personable and knowledgeable, nothing was too much trouble! The restaurant is warm, comfortable and welcoming.
Thank you to the talented young chef, the lovely waitress and the owner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Utterly Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Having read the previous reviews we arrived at Muzey's with high expectations, which is always risky when trying somewhere new and different.

We had nothing to fear however as our expectations were exceeded in every regard. A wonderfully warm and inviting dining area greeted us, along with a similarly warm welcome from the friendly, knowledgable, and highly efficient staff.

The owner was away on this occasion but had left the restaurant in the capable hands of a relative who clearly shares her ability to create magic on a plate, for that is what we received.

Highlight of the starter meze plate was the lentil and walnut pate although the delicious coarse homemade hummus was a very close second.

Mains were one vegetarian selection and one fish caserole, which shared some of the vegetable delights on the side, including the stuffed mushroom which had more flavour and texture that it's possible to imagine a stuffed mushroom ever having.

It is certainly true, as other reviewers have noted, that you are likely to have seen food that looks the same on many occasions, but you are unlikely to have experienced any that tastes as good. Dolmades, for example, are normally something I steer well clear off having had so many dreadful versions served to me in the past, but Muzey's deliciously light flavoursome version was the highlight of the vegetarian selection. Both our plates were returned as clean as they had left the dishwasher earlier in the day.

We finished off the wonderful Portuguese white wine that was noted in an earlier review and considered dessert.

Full from the riches of the starters and mains, the Baklava as one of the dessert options did not particularly entice. Who would slay their tingling palate with such a soggy, stodgy, sugar laden lump. But again we were right to trust the chef's assurances and greatly enjoyed a light flaky nutty creation with just the perfect balance of spice - and sweetness delivered by a drizzle of a unique Black Sea honey.

Our palates continued to sing, accompanying the excellent live music that added that something even more special to one of the most memorable meals we have enjoyed in a long time.

We shall be back at the earliest opportunity.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Original and outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Perfect location and great food, with changing daily menus and wonderful service. Check to see if it is open at lunchtime.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muzey's Old Bridge Cafe also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muzey's Old Bridge Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.