We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful celebration break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castle House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castle House to your Saves list
Castle House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Castle Street, Hereford HR1 2NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Hereford
Nottingham
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful celebration break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed in Castle House to celebrate my Mum's 70th birthday and we all felt as pampered as the birthday girl. With four couples to house, we were kept together but not too close, at Number 25. All four of us felt that our suites were special, each on a different floor of the building. Very comfortable rooms, spacious and well equipped with nice touches in each room. The bathrooms were a great feature.

The staff were great - very friendly and attentive. The meals were excellent and during our stay we enjoyed lunch, dinner and breakfast. A memorable occasion and a success in every way. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed in the basement room of Number 25. This involves a very short walk on the street to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    44
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
26
107
6
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Once again the Castle House Hotel delivered. First Class food and First Class accommodation.
The staff were very pleasant and obliging. Excellent Hotel in perfect position for visiting Hereford.
We ejoyed our stay here so much that we have re-booked for Next New Year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I live locally to this hotel but booked it to spend some quality child free time as a Christmas surprise for my chap. Even though we were local, not an eyebrow was raised when I checked in. I think the staff quite enjoyed being co-conspirators!
We stayed in a suite with a four poster bed which was very grand and the bed was lovely and comfortable.
We didn't eat in the restaurant that night as the idea was some time alone, but we have eaten there a few times in the past and it has always been exceptional. I like the fact that the produce is sourced locally.
The staff were friendly, the rooms clean and very comfortable.
If I were visiting Hereford then I would definitely recommend this hotel, although quite pricey, the location is ideal as it is central to our beautiful city and you will certainly feel like you have had a treat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

It was the diamond wedding anniversary of my parents and so we came here for a meal. The service was very good but the restaurant lacked atmosphere. The menu was not very inspiring and I felt lacked choice. Went for the gnocchi which was ok but the gnocchi seemed as though it had been roasted which was a bit odd.

Others in our group were equally disappointed and my niece was ill throughout the night - no idea if this was connected but no one else ate her starter. I should point out I was a food inspector for a few years and so speak from experience which is why I am not saying the two are definitely connected.

Would I return? Simple answer is no. I expect more for the price - yes it was a nice room and the service attentive but I came to eat and I felt a little let down. Sorry

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Arrived on the 2nd of December for 2 nights, food was ok however I do not class tomato soup as a particularly eye catching starter for such a high rated menu. The staff were very rude and I did not given bread with my starter which I believe was included on the menu!! After dinner, me and my partner were told where our room was and not shown; so after climbing 2floors (lift out of order- and apparently has been for a while) we were awfully tired and wanted to just get into bed and sleep.. not happy!! The bed sheets which I presume were supposed to be white were actually dirty white with clearly visable blood stains on from previous users, we only were given one pillow each and when asking for more downstairs in reception we got told we had to pay extra (disgusting), the room was cold and seemed as though it could do with a little decorating and the bathroom looked like it needed a good scrub.. I would never go back again especially with this being such a 'high rated' hotel it has certainly put me off going to hotels for a long time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mmarriottlodge, General Manager at Castle House, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Georgia L,

I write to inform you that I believe you have posted a review against a wrong hotel.

All of the negative experiences you write about could not have happened at Castle House Hotel Hereford:-

1. Tomato Soup was not featured on the menu, and bread is always served.
2. All guests are offered to be shown to the room, and the lift has never been out of order in all the 10 years I have worked here.
3. Linen would not be put on beds if stains you described existed.
4. Most of our double beds have at 6 pillows, but all have at least 4. Any requests for more would have been happily provided and certainly not charged for.

I request that this listing is removed.

Yours sincerely,

Michelle Marriott-Lodge
General Manager
Castle House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I am fortunate to live in the city that this wonderful hotel is located. My good friend treated me to afternoon tea here and I simply had to share the news how gorgeous it was.
The room was very comfy even though it would have been nicer to have a bit of warmth in it on such a cold afternoon. We were seated next to French doors which were a bit draughty and we felt the cold after a couple of hours of sipping tea and chatting.
The Earl Grey tea was absolutely delicious and so were the sandwiches and cakes. The scones did taste home made but not sure that the jam was home made though.
The service was excellent and it was great to see a silver tea pot which kept the tea hot for an extremely good length of time.I would certainly be overjoyed to have afternoon tea here again.
The afternoon was a superb treat in such a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Stopped in a junior suite, beautiful room with everything I could possibly want. Great attention to detail. Lovely meal in the lounge, we were too late booking the restaurant. Staff very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Nice and close to the cathedral but quite location. Can't wait to stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle House

Address: Castle Street, Hereford HR1 2NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hereford
#3 Business Hotel in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle House 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a quiet area of the city of Hereford, Castle House is a boutique hotel owned by a local farming family. With 24 individually styled suites and bedrooms, and a terraced garden overlooking the old Hereford Castle moat, Castle House has a very special atmosphere. Eight of its rooms are just moments away in a Georgian townhouse called Number 25. The Castle House'Restaurant and Castle Bar and Bistro offer some of the best dining in Hereford and are the domain of one of England's top female chefs, Claire Nicholls. Castle House is perfect for a Hereford wedding, a leisure break in Hereford and the Wye Valley. Explore this lovely city with its magnificent cathedral home to the world-famous Mappa Mundi and Chain Library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castle House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle House Hotel Hereford
Castle Hotel Hereford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.