We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HILL FARM COTTAGE, pet friendly, character holiday cottage, with a garden in Abbey Dore, Ref 4115

Saved Save
You added HILL FARM COTTAGE, pet friendly, character holiday cottage, with a garden in Abbey Dore, Ref 4115 to your Saves list.
Hereford
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vidal-uk
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A great venue (in spite of the mud!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 for a stay in November 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here at the end of November 2012, with my wife and our spaniel, we had a wonderful time and I would certainly recommend it - in fact we plan to return in the Spring.

The property is very spacious, with a very large hallway that is all tiled - this proved very useful as we were here when all the news was of flooding across the country - and everywhere was incredibly muddy and wet. So we had plenty of space to dry our gear, and it was easy to sweep up any mud that found its way indoors. (certainly cannot blame the weather on the venue).

The property is nice and warm, the only slight downside was that the property smelt a bit of oil, the owner said this was due to a recent service of the boiler - so hopefully that situation will be resolved when we return.

The bathroom is good - with an excellent power shower which was great for when we returned from walks feeling a bit wet and miserable.

The lounge is really great - with excellent views and as said by other reviewers - I don't think the pictures do the property justice. The sofas are little bit tired and could probably benefit from some refurbishment - or at least some throws.

The wood burner is a nice feature - but will only work if the wind is in the prevailing direction - be careful if it shifts - as happened one day to us - when the burner does not draw properly and the whole cottage flooded with smoke (with the alarm going off etc... bit of a nightmare). In fact if you open up the door and hold your hand up to the flue you can feel the draft of cold air coming down the flue - no way in a million years will it draw properly in that situation. However this only happened on one of the days we were there - and the rest of the time it was fantastic to chill out in the lounge with the burner blazing away.

The countryside around and about is fantastic and on the couple of nice days we had - we were really able to enjoy some fabulous walks - the rest of the time it was a bit grim in terms of the weather for us, but we saw enough to make us want to come back and see the area in more favorable circumstances.

There are some great pubs around and about, but you will need a car as even the nearest is a bit of a trek.

All in all it is a great place, well situated at the top of the hill - with great views. The owners are nice and friendly and helpful. Enjoy!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property 4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses
4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The lounge with its beams and log burner and the views
Liked least: lack of wi-fi
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Arthur Tourot
PA, USA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012 for a stay in November 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Paul
Essex
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Carlisle
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011 for a stay in March 2011
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Whitchurch, Hants
Hampshire
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011 for a stay in January 2011
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and spaciousness
Liked least: Nothing at all!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
St Lawrence Bay Essex
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010 for a stay in August 2010
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$468
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Manager
Sykes Holiday Cottages
44 (0) 1244.357716
Speaks English
Listed since : Oct 2009
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing