We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel should definately make your shortlist.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Counties Hotel

Three Counties Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Three Counties Hotel to your Saves list
Three Counties Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belmont Road, Hereford HR2 7BP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Hereford
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This hotel should definately make your shortlist.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

The hotel is located on the South side of Hereford, in what is really an out of town location. It is located on the road to South Wales. I suppose it's best described as a 1980s to early 1990s hotel.

The decor in the hotel is slightly dated, however it is well maintained which goes some way to compensate this. Nothing was broken, everything did what it was supposed to- so in fairness why spend money on subjective things which are really matters of taste? Indeed another sign of it being slightly dated is that the hotel rooms still have keys rather than electronic cards. The rooms have been equipped with modern flat screen TVs, but otherwise a bit dated- but well maintained and well equipped.

The hotel restaurant really hits above it's weight in terms of the quality, the price of food is not OTT either. The breakfast was perfectly good- and was basically brought to you. (Yes it was self service buffet for the fruit juice.) In many higher star rating hotels you now have to self serve the cooked breakfast- not here.

The bar was good.

Plenty of car parking space, that was free (or inclusive).

However the real asset of this hotel was the attitude of the staff, which was first class and friendly.

This is an excellent business venue, but it is not a pompous place and perfectly good for the Leisure traveller too.

The price paid was good value, and any visit to this part of the world should consider this hotel- unless being in a town centre location is important to you.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    55
    32
    12
    8
See reviews for
13
45
7
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Describe the service you experienced
Service was good throughout - menu in the dining room was very 70's but the service and the food made up for i (better quality dessert buffet would have been better though). Bedroom was similar to most others of the price range and very similar in layout to Premier inns. Ours was clean but slightly tired.

Breakfast service very quick and food good. Conference lunch very good

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Stayed for 1 Wednesday night, never again.The Garden rooms were like a 60s holiday camp chalet. Room next door had television on all night assume left on by maid as there was no one in it. Called reception at 2am and 2:15 am but had no answer.

Water for morning shower ran from nuclear hot to cold and back again in sequence.
Bed was the size of a matchbox, last bed of this size I slept on was in1980.

Staff were plentiful and friendly but what they had to work with in these buildings let them down. The main hotel part of the building may have better rooms but do not get stuck with a garden room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

I was a bit apprehensive before going as I had read some pretty bad reviews about the place! When we arrived we were shown our room and although it was not in the hotel itself it was a nice size and we were able to park right outside. The room was clean and spacious and the bathroom was a good size. We decided to eat at the hotel on our first night and were not disappointed, the food was beautiful and the staff were brilliant. One waiter in particular made us feel very welcome and was very helpful to all the guests. Breakfast the next morning was lovely as there was plenty to choose from. When we returned the following day after a day in Hereford the room was clean again and there were plenty of fresh towels, they had also restocked the tea, coffee and biscuits – (the biscuits were delicious!!) The shower was a bit temperamental, it heated up quickly without warning but we soon learnt that when the pressure dropped it was time to move to the back of the bath!! My partner and I were very happy with this hotel and we would stay here again. Thank you Three Counties for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Having visited this hotel on a previouse occasion we were looking forward to our return vist. However, standards appear to have declined and our experiance was very disapointing. Surpisingly beds were unmade and insufficent towels were provided, staff kept laying up the twin rooms for single occupancy. The food in the resturant was far below our expectations and again was not to last years standard. In addition we had two vegetarians in our group and this seemed to cause the kitchen problems, the vegie options were basic, bland and did not appear until the rest of our group had finshed eating. Breakfast was good and front of house staff and bar staff were excellent. However, regretfully we felt that the overall experiance didn't represent value for money.
I did write to the hotel but todate have yet to recieve a reply, not a good sign.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We only stayed 1 night as we were on route to West Wales. The Hotel allowed dogs, we were given a "Garden Room" which was okay.
However, we ate in the Restaurant. Was not impressed with the food. I had to send my steak back twice as although I asked for a medium steak it came back well done both times. The choice of sweets were not great either. A plus was that they took the cost of our starters off the bill.
Breakfast, I think the chef may have used the left over mushrooms from the night before.
On paying the bill I noticed that mistakes had been made, which when pointed out they did correct them.
On another note however whilst checking out another guest was complaining that she would not go back as her second room was as dirty as the first!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2010

Stayed in a garden room. was great as could park the car right outside. Made packing up to leave much easier. Room was a good size. Very clean, and had all I needed although the bedroom decor was a bit dated. I have a bit of a 'thing' about antwacky worn looking bed covers. Ordered room service and it arrived in a good time though food was poor and I couldnt eat it.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Counties Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Counties Hotel

Address: Belmont Road, Hereford HR2 7BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Hereford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Hereford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Three Counties Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent 60 bedroom hotel with emphasis on friendly, personal service. The hotel is set in 3.5 Acres of landscaped gardens and lots of free car parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Three Counties Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Counties
Three Counties Hotel Hereford
Three Counties Hereford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Counties Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.