We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great fusion based family friendly restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dim t

Dim t
8-9 Jewry Street, Winchester, England
01962 843000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 162 Restaurants in Winchester
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Winchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great fusion based family friendly restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This is a great place to lunch with the family, incuding young children and babies as they have plenty of space and high chairs and good menu for children as well as adults.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    93
    35
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere but average quality and expensive food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Dim T is a Dim Sum restaurant located in Winchester.

We went there on a Friday evening with family and friends and were happy to have booked, as there was a queue to get in.

The staff was absolutely charming, helpful, patient and smiley.
Service was relatively quick taking into account that the place was full.

The atmosphere was really nice.
There was a great humming coming from all over the place, people seemed to enjoy being there.

The downside of it was that the room’s acoustic was so poor that the sounds were bouncing back off the walls, making the background noise simply overwhelming!

We had to focus on our own conversation to be able to listen to each other which is quite irritating to be honest!

The food was OK but certainly not exceptional, more like a westernized version of Asian food!
Well cooked, but my Green Chicken Thai Curry had 2 or 3 tiny bits of chicken and the flavor was quite dull.
There was not a lot of green curry there!
The portions were not that large, and there was far too much sauce to disguise the lack of meat!
It looked more like a soup!
The rice bowl was tiny as well, which is a pity as rice is not an expensive ingredient!

The drinks were very expensive compare to other restaurants in Winchester.

The bill was far too high for “what it was”.
Sadly i don’t think we will return nor will recommend the place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and a good price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I went to the restaurant and really liked the food. Atmosphere is nice, lighting is nice and service was excellent.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

very nice setting, very busy on the night I went but service was ok, very friendly- food was good. loads of places near by for a quite drink

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Excellent dim sum and good main courses. Pricey lunch, but the ubiquitous 241 voucher brought the bill back to under ��30. Very helpful staff and good mix of non-alcoholic drinks. Loved the ginger and honey tea. Overall I will return, provided I have a voucher!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dim t also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Dim t? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dim t, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.