We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday meal for 4” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mumbai Spice

Mumbai Spice
8 St. Georges Street, Winchester SO23 8BG, England
+44 1962 862838
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #41 of 147 Restaurants in Winchester
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Birthday meal for 4”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Had a brilliant night from start to finish. On arrival we realised the restaurant was under new management. The staff were friendly and welcoming. When they knew it was a birthday celebration the first round of drinks were 'on the house'. Food was excellent. 3 of us had chicken tikka and the 4th had chicken passanda. all perfectly cooked. Served quickly.

After our meal there was a nice surprise. The staff provided a birthday cake with candles and party poppers.

I would highly recommend this restaurant. Please pay a visit. Well worth it. I will certainly be returning very soon.

Thanks for a great evening - will be recommending you to all my friends guys :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    25
    5
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Mumbai in Winchester....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Food was fantastic! the spices were just right, ambiance was great with excellent service. The price is reasonable. Would definitely recommend this place. ENJOY! :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is the first time we have visited since the new management have taken over. It was always good before but even better now. The service cannot be faulted I didn't know what to have and they came and talked about some of the dishes and gave some good advice. The food was excellent from the poppadoms down to the curry and garlic rice. All in all we both loved it and will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb dishes.... absolutely MOUTHWATERING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

All i want to say is, this place has one of the best, if not, THE best curry dishes in the town. Absolutely marvelous.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Two of us took a chance due to the "under new management" sign out the front and were so pleased we did. The food was excellent and the staff were really keen to please. The food was so good I expected to have a heart attack when the bill arrived but it very reasonable. We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumbai Spice also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Mumbai Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mumbai Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.