We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb in every way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chesil Rectory

Chesil Rectory
Chesil Street, Winchester SO23 0HU, England
(01962) 851555
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chesil Rectory is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 153 Restaurants in Winchester
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Winchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

My family and I visited the restaurant today in order to celebrate my birthday. We made a party of six in total. Everything about the place, from the front of house staff to the food, was absolutely superb. Could not fault it in any way whatsoever. Would thoroughly recommend and we will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    108
    44
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

What a great restaurant.A very good menu and superbly cooked food.But that's only have the story.The environment inside the very relaxing and the staff very attentive,we will return very soon.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chesil Rectory with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I always look forward to the opportunity to eat at the Chesil. The standard of food is always excellent & staff are always friendly. The plan had been to eat the good value menu available on the Sunday evening I went with 3 friends, however the temptation of the main menu was too much & 3 of us opted for that. It was delicious as expected.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Imaginative food in old world setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The Chesil Rectory is located in an ancient timber-framed house close to the city centre. At night, particularly in winter, it is warm and welcoming, with open fires/wood burning stoves and dark wood and rich colours. It works less well in summer as it is a bit gloomy, particularly on a sunny day. We have been here several times and the food is reliably good in an imaginative way, if a little rich at times. The menu is small, which implies freshness and seasonality, but there were several appealing things to choose from. Portions are not generous but the food is full of flavour to compensate. The wine list is reasonably priced with some organic options and service from the young staff was efficient. All in all, a place we would happily return to from time to time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

My friend and I dropped her son back at Uni in Southampton, shopped in Winchester, and then popped into the Chesil Rectory for an early dinner. We'd both had difficult Christmases and it was meant to be a treat. It did not disappoint. Service was extraordinarily pleasant, food was totally delicious and the atmosphere was very calming. The building is very atmospheric and olde worlde. I can't speak highly enough of it. Very special indeed and, amazingly, good value. What more could one want?

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chesil Rectory also viewed

Twyford, Winchester
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Chesil Rectory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesil Rectory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.