We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay in Winchester” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Giffard House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Winchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Giffard House Hotel
Save
You added Giffard House Hotel to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Christchurch Rd | St Cross, Winchester SO23 9SU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
West Malling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay in Winchester”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

I would thoroughly recommend staying in this beautifully restored Victorian house, which has much more character than a normal hotel. The room, service and breakfast was excellent, and it is a 10 minute walk in to town where you'll find the sites of this historical city and a great selection of pubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    44
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
129
13
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Spotless hotel,caring staff and great breakfast. Understand why it's ranked number one. Book with confidence.Staff are very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. No iron/board in room but happily allowed access to laundry room without hesitation.

Room Tip: Front room was a little noisy with passing traffic but acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Absolutely fantastic. We could not find any fault with this hotel, from the friendly welcome to the hand written invoice, everything was great. As other guest have mentioned the breakfast is fantastic with the staff going above and beyond to ensure everyone has what they requested and all prepared and presented to a very high standard. We will stay here again if we are ever back in the Winchester area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed here following the reviews on Trip Advisor, we managed to get the last room in a very busy December period, it was on of the smaller rooms but still delightful!! There was a short wait for breakfast on both mornings but there was a very comfortable front room to wait in with daily newspapers and Jerry to keep you company (who my boyfriend fell in love with), on our second morning we were lucky enough to eat in the Sun Room, breakfast was delicious, fresh and hot!! Would definitely stay again, would try and book in advance to get a bigger room with a bigger bed and loved the Molten toiletries... we have been on the hunt for the mouthwash ever since!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Our first trip to Winchester and we received a wonderful welcome at Giffard House. Our room, No 4, was fantastic, although at one point it did get cold but that was soon sorted out by the owners. Breakfast was exceptional, very busy so I would recommend getting to the dining room before 8.30am. It was nice to have the lounge to relax in with our friends after a hard days shopping at the Christmas markets. The hotel is only a 10-15 min walk into Winchester, so there were plenty of places to go for an evening meal. The only downside was for our friends who were allocated a room at the back of the hotel and they were kept awake by the trains going passed. I've also got to mention the affectionate Boxer dog Gerry, the beautiful cat and the very chatty parrot.

Room Tip: Room No 4 is fantastic, would recommend rooms at the front of the hotel, due to the train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlrussell3
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

A last minute trip to the UK was blessed with a return to the Giffard House. Unfortunately, too many people are finding out about the place and it made my stay interesting. Yvonne worked me in and I stayed in four different rooms: 4, 14, 1, and 10 for the seven days I was here. I really love room 4 because of the comfortable couch that augments the room. Yet my favorite for this stay was room 1, which has a large bathroom. All of the rooms were spotless. All of the rooms were fun. I can't say enough about this 5 star bed and breakfast. It is my absolute favorite.

Room Tip: The drink is inexpensive and the sandwiches are a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

Regularly travelling to Winchester I stay in a number of hotels/guest houses depending on availability but Giffard House is my preferred location for both myself and colleagues.

The rooms are well furnished and very clean. The beds are all of a high standard with more than enough pillows for any sleeper. The quality of furnishings is high. Certainly better than some of the mainstream hotels in town. There is no iron or ironing board in the rooms but an ironing / laundry room is made available to guests wanting to iron clothes.

Also of special note is the quality of the breakfast. A good choice of fruit salad and other cereals are available to help yourself to. Then freshly ordered and prepared full english, scrambled eggs and salmon and other specialities are available. Its nice to have things cooked to order rather than the usual rubbery fried eggs on a hot plate at a large hotel.

The wifi is free and certainly works in the majority of rooms that I've had recently.

The owners boxer dog who wanders around occasionally is always a docile and friendly chap who loves getting some attention.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Giffard House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Giffard House Hotel

Address: 50 Christchurch Rd | St Cross, Winchester SO23 9SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#1 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#1 Best Value Hotel in Winchester
#4 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Giffard House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Giffard Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Giffard House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.