We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bizarre Hotel in an even more Bizarre place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Winchester M3

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Winchester M3 to your Saves list
Days Inn Winchester M3
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Winchester Motorway Service Area - Winchester Services | M3 (Southbound), Winchester SO21 1PP, England (Formerly Premier Inn Winchester)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book Early and Save 15%!
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A bizarre Hotel in an even more Bizarre place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

If your planning to commute into Winchester for more than one day forget it, this can only be accessed from the south bound carriage way, so coming out of Winchester travel up the M3 for 12 miles, turn around and drive back for 8 miles not ideal.
The staff were extremely helpful and courteous, but the dining facilities in the service station closed at 6pm leaving only Burger King not ideal after a long day in a conference. Rooms on the car park side are noticeably quieter than on the motorway side

Room Tip: . Rooms on the car park side are noticeably quieter than on the motorway side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    41
    26
    12
    13
See reviews for
39
23
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I really enjoyed my return trip to Winchester, the staff are fantastic!, some guy called 'Rick, or Ricky helped me with my luggage up the stairs as I was tired..He also upgraded me to a Family room room..also the Day reception staff was helpful..Tamika.

I recommend this hotel, its only 5 mins to Winchester and very reasonable..You even get a free chocolate and water on check in!..fill in a Wyndhams..

Room Tip: Try and book a family room,,large and spacious...also, Burger king shuts at 10pm......however an EXT...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Do not use a sat nag for this. The post code is for both sides M3 and some local villages.We were going to Winchester Xmas market and decided to do that and then find Days Inn. Unfortunately it can not be accessed from the north side of M3 and have to go to Basingstoke to come back down. We decided to forfeit our 2 night booking and came home. We were stuck in torrential rain and then realised that we would have to do the same again the next night. definitely off my list. There was no refund.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed here as a cheaper option to the more expensive hotels in Winchester. First room smell was so awful I couldn't enter the room but the second was fine (little cheesy but fine). It was clean and had what I needed (which was just a bed for the night). Bed was quite bouncy but fine. The staff were very nice.
Although it is very close to Winchester because of it's location taxis are very very exspensive. £30 to get into town and £50 to come back (if after 11pm). The taxis have to go to junction 8 to get to the southbound side so it is quite a way.
If you are driving a perfect no frills option.

Room Tip: Room 10 stank but this might be solved??
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Very clean has everything you need and extremely comfortable beds. No traffic noise considering location. Food shops etc in close proximity. The only problem we had was the shower and getting the right temperature. Once we had, lovely.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We recently stayed at this property for 3 nights over our graduation week and we were very pleased with the service we received.
The only issue was the travelling in and out of Winchester town, but this is an issue we had time to resolve before our stay. The staff are also very helpful and have a recommended taxi service that offer a discounted price for travel in and out of the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Please do not go near this hotel. Dirrty room, unflushed toilet with the big job left in it, unemptied bin etc. Paid £60 for a night but I'll say it does not even worth half of that amount.. Free btopenzone internet - what a joke. Nothing nice about this place. It should be close down. Only go there if their horrible dirty rooms are going for £15 a night as that is all I think it is worth. You can find better hotel at the price this horrible place is charging.

Room Tip: You can find better hotel at the price this horrible place is charging.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Winchester M3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Winchester M3

Address: Winchester Motorway Service Area - Winchester Services | M3 (Southbound), Winchester SO21 1PP, England (Formerly Premier Inn Winchester)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Winchester M3 2*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the M3 Southbound Services between junctions 8 and 9, Days Inn Winchester offers free parking and a 24-hour front desk. The hotel is just 6 miles from Winchester, and 12 miles from Southampton. All rooms at Days Inn Winchester feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities, hairdryer and alarm clock. Children under 12 years can stay free at Days Inn. The nearby Costa Coffee, Burger King, and Eat and Drink Company offer guests a wide range of dining within the Moto Services Area. Winchester Cathedral and Winchester Rail Station are 30 minutes' drive away, and Basingstoke can be reached in 20 minutes by car. Marwell Zoo is also within easy reach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Winchester M3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Winchester m3 Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Winchester M3, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.