We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Winchester Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Winchester Hotel to your Saves list
The Winchester Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

Our stay at the Winchester was excellent. We were upgraded to an executive room on arrival, the room was lovely and clean with everything you could want.
Dinner on the first night was included; the menu was varied and the food first class.
All the staff were very efficient and friendly. Checking in and out was quick and easy.
There is plenty of parking at the hotel and it's close enough to the centre of Winchester that you can leave your car and walk to the places you might want to visit.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWHGM, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review of the Hotel.

On behalf of The Winchester Hotel team I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay, and hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Paul Eaves, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    313
    114
    44
    31
See reviews for
96
502
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2010

I have stayed in The Winchester Hotel often for business as well as leisure. It is always my choice when I stay in Winchester. On this trip I planned to stay six days and due to the volcanic ash and closed airports I stayed thirteen days. The location is excellent being in walking distance to the City Centre of Winchester and a short walk to the train station. The hotel is always clean, service is great, and the rooms are clean and both bed and chairs are quite comfortable with a roomy work desk. Especially in the summer, the air conditioning is most appreciated. The leisure centre is a plus. But, most important to me, when I found myself staying longer than expected amid uncertainty, all of the staff made me feel welcome and made me feel like I was quite at home. So many people went out of their way to speak to me and offer little but important things that made me feel that they were a caring family and I was part of the family. P.S. Internet facilities are wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWHGM, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review of The Winchester Hotel.

We are delighted to be a home from home for you, and were pleased that you got back to the States safely, despite the delays !

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Paul Eaves. The Winchester Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

We stayed from Tuesday to Friday in April 2010. The hotel was beautifully maintained, standard of cleanliness was first class, as was all the staff we dealt with. Ideal situation to walk into Winchester town, only 5 minutes away. Maybe dearer than your lower budget hotel, but you do pay for class & you get it here! Highly recommended, lots to see in Winchester & the surrounding areas, plenty of choices to eat out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWHGM, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Your feedback means a great deal to the team, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to The Winchester Hotel soon.

Paul Eaves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

So the view from the bar is a bit grim (large pay and display car park). But apart from that we had a very pleasant 1 night stay here. Friendly and helpful reception staff. A well equipped and clean room - felt a little small as there was a lot of furniture and being on the ground floor the was quite a lot of passers by your window heading from car park to reception. Only niggle about room was the shower curtain. No matter what you did the shower curtain billowed into the bath and the stuck itself to you. I have not had this trouble before so I presume the extract fan or air flow in the room is rather strong. This sounds minor but it’s really annoying! This was room number 7.
A good night’s sleep led to a wonderful breakfast. Very hard working staff that efficiently seated us, took orders, replenished buffet items and cleared.
We had booked very last minute via a similarly titled website on a secret hotel getting a very good rate which made the stay even more acceptable. At full rate due to its location (a short walk from town) and its surroundings it may not present such excellent value.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWHGM, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of The Winchester Hotel.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the friendly staff and breakfast service.

Paul Eaves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

The hotel itself was fine - comfortable beds etc.. However, the cooked breakfast made my husband violently ill, so much so that we has to miss the wedding we had travelled to Winchester for. On check-out the hotel offered us no reduction of the bill, and, when challenged, point blank refused to do so. No 'good will' to be found here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWHGM, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
Dear Guest

Whilst we sympathise that you felt unwell during your stay, we have established following a full investigation that your illness could not have been caused by the Hotel, and have advised you of this by letter.

You complained of diarrhoea one hour after finishing your breakfast, and it has been established that our food could not have caused illness so quickly. After taking a standard diarrhoea medication you were able to attend the wedding that afternoon, and I am pleased that you felt much better.

We are not sure if your illness was caused by the food you ate during your journey down to us the night before, or the pre wedding celebrations, but we can be sure that the Hotel is not responsible.

Paul Eaves, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights and found it absolutely delightful, Its located within easy walking distance of the town centre. An efficient friendly check in, Spacious room, spotlessly clean, All the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was particularly good, so good in fact we had our evening meal there every night. I could not find fault and i did try. We will be returning there again sometime in the summer.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWHGM, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you very much indeed for your great review of The Winchester Hotel.

We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay, and hope to be able to welcome you back to the Hotel soon.

Paul Eaves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

A thouroughly satisfying stay, ideally located for a visit to Winchester and sourrounding areas. The hotel manages to tick just about all the right boxes as it combines all the benefits of a stylish, modern hotel with service more often associated with old world charm. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TWHGM, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2010
Dear guest

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments following your recent stay at The Winchester Hotel.

We are all very grateful indeed, and hope to welcome you back soon.

Paul Eaves
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Winchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel

Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel has been transformed into a sparkling hotel, bringing urban design to the heart of the ancient capital. An ideal venue for business events or a calming base from which to explore the contrasting historic city, the hotel offers attentive yet unassuming service coupled with sophisticated interior styling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Winchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.