We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Winchester Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Winchester Hotel to your Saves list
The Winchester Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

I stayed a few days at this hotel for business. The hotel was in a nice location, easy walking distance to the center of town and the train station in Winchester. The hotel itself was very nice. The staff was absolutely outstanding. They were all very friendly and helpful. I had a few issues (not with the hotel) that I needed help with and the staff went above and beyond helping me out. Of specific note, Fred the bartender was very friendly, happy, and helpful.

The only downside of the hotel was a little bit of noise in my room. It sounded like the water or heating system that just seemed to make some noise from time to time. It wasn't a major problem, but it did disturb my sleep from time to time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your EXCELLENT review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    319
    118
    45
    33
See reviews for
96
510
32
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely stay at this hotel. Every single member of staff was friendly and polite and we were acknowledged by each staff member that we met throughout the hotel. We thorougly enjoyed our dinner last night and breakfast this morning. One little niggle - the public car park in front of the hotel is free on Sundays, it would have been great if that had been pointed out to us. At a Marks and Spencer food outlet on the way to Winchester, the young man at the checkout pointed out that instead of buying two individual items it would be cheaper to buy a pack with two in, we commented on the good service. It doesn't take much to keep us happy as customers! That niggle aside, we would recommend this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your FANTASTIC review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

I would recommend to avoid the spa packages here. The ladies changing facilities are tiny, cramped too hot and not clean at all! How they have 25 lockers in the ladies but only enough space for 4 ladies in that cramped area is baffling. In addition I was offered one towel only plus loan of a robe at the cost of a non refundable £7.50. The spa area itself is nice. I would recommend to avoid. The only reason I had a lovely day was because I was with my friend. The ladies changing facilities are tiny, cramped too hot and filthy! How they have 20ish lockers in the ladies but only enough space for 4 ladies in that cramped area is ridiculous! You're offered one towel only and a loan of a robe at the cost of a non refundable £7.50. The steam room is plastic and cramped. The sauna is tiny! The swimming pool was freezing cold and all areas again very dirty. The impossible thing about their spa day packages is that you have to be dressed to use the the hotel.

All in all I let not feeling I got my money's worth

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

Whilst I accept that like any business we can never `get it right` every single time I am afraid that i do have to disagree with you that our Spa and changing facilities are cramped and dirty - as you have suggested. Equally your view is very much at odds with other reviews on this site and others, and the direct customer feedback.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We have just returned from this wonderful hotel. We had the 'heritage package' which was great value for money. The staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for you. We had a 3 course meal included which was fantastic, good choice on menu and beautifully presented. Breakfast had everything you could wish for and replenished all the time. The hotel is a ten minute walk into Winchester so your car can be left in the car park during your stay. They even threw in entrance to the cathedral which was well worth the visit. The spa area is small but is a bonus after a day of sight seeing. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your WONDERFUL review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, attentive staff, great facilities and location. Having never been to Winchester before I was sceptical about going to a hotel that wasn't a big chain but wow! Everything was great and I will defiantly be going again. If I had to pick on anything and I am being picky, it would be that the pool is small. Other than that everything was great. The staff were all friendly and helpful and the assistant a manager and young bar man were very helpful. Loved it

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your GREAT review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Cowes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Staff were very helpful, polite and friendly. Room had everything you could ask for and was spotlessly clean.
I am a very light sleeper and I don't usually enjoy staying in hotels however I had a very comfortable nights sleep.
This hotel is very well run and well worth a visit. Not the cheapest but certainly excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your FANTASTIC review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Winchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel

Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel has been transformed into a sparkling hotel, bringing urban design to the heart of the ancient capital. An ideal venue for business events or a calming base from which to explore the contrasting historic city, the hotel offers attentive yet unassuming service coupled with sophisticated interior styling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Winchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.