We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice - good staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Winchester Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Winchester Hotel to your Saves list
The Winchester Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Epsom, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Very nice - good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Hotel is modern and well presented - all the staff were friendly helpful and hard working
Ate in brasseries which was fine - room bit cold from air con and bit noisy as 2 xmas parties going on but to be expected

Good location for catherdral market

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your LOVELY review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are all delighted at your feedback and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    350
    131
    54
    34
See reviews for
109
568
33
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Arrival at reception was good, although we had difficulty hear the quiet, not far off a mumble receptionist. The noisy guest on reception didn't help but I struggled to hear her. Our room was fine, warm quiet and well set out, although my normal complaint of lack of decent tea and coffee facilities was aggravated by the fact that there was a fridge with mineral water in but no fresh milk, a bug bear I have with all hotels is the dreadful UHT rubbish that is supposed to be milk. Dinner was easy to book, and the bar great the young batman went out of his way to be helpful polite and was very pleasant. Menus were provide for us prior to going in the restaurant a good choice, and various options available. We order one special and one from the standard menu. I ordered the pie of the days, and requested a change to fries from the potatoes offered, no problem. The pie was fabulous, and just enough not a huge portion and tasted fabulous. My husband as ever choice the steak, which was cooked as requested and very good. Breakfast offered a good selection, with the normal continental and cooked options, the only problem was the sausage, my husband rates all hotels by there sausage, not good not good at all spice sausages, Mmm not British sausages are not spice and a British cooked breakfast should not have spice sausages. A major let down. Coffee on the other hand was good, the waitress was put out when I double checked it was fresh in fact almost snotty, but I was happy to hear another guest ask exactly the same question two minutes later of the same girl. Also thankfully marmite was on offer. Would definately stay again, nicely located, easy walk into town and great access for our planned visit the following day. The hotel was lovely and clean and most staff polite and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed one night only with my wife, good room and meal in the bar was excellent only problem was we could not change the air conditioner temperature or turn it off or do anything with it, so we did not sleep well as we had to rap warm in our coats!

Room Tip: Make sure the air con controller works in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the hotel.

I am of course very sorry that you experienced difficulties with your air conditionning system and have invited you to contact me directly concerning this matter.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We stayed here recently while visiting the Cathedral Christmas Market . It is well positioned, being only 15 minutes slow walking from the centre. We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, making sure we knew the alternatives to the paid parking and giving helpful suggestions for ways of getting to the centre and providing a map with directions. I only mentioned in passing that my husband had problems with walking as he has been ill and we were given a lovely ground floor room close to the restaurant and spa, but still quiet. How thoughtful!
We found the food was excellent, of good quality and well presented. All in all it was a great stay and we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your WONDERFUL review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are all delighted at your feedback and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimborn
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

On the positive side the food at Hutton's Brasserie was very good and the decor inside the hotel is attractive. The rooms are well equipped but they are very small (very like hotels in London in terms of size), we paid to "upgrade" and really regretted it. The only difference was that the bed was bigger so actually we had less space, if you wanted a robe you needed to pay £7.50 per person. We were part of a group of 18 staying for a two night Christmas do and some of the others hadn't upgraded and were put in rooms with no windows (one a had only a roof light and the second's window looked out onto the pool.) Several on the first floor were kept awake by the noise from the party room.

Room Tip: Avoid 127 which only has a window looking out over the pool. Number 0 to 5 on any of the floors are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the hotel. Whilst I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay I am of course dissapointed at your feedback concerning our Club bedrooms which are `loved` by so many of our guests.

I am invited you to contact me directly about this review and hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We booked two nights at The Winchester Hotel for a long weekend. The location is ideal for the town, takes about 10 - 15 minutes to walk to the centre. Staff were very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Room was comfortable, had everything we needed. Our stay included a Sunday special offer which included a 3 course dinner with wine. Food was very good and once again the service was excellent. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your GREAT review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are all delighted at your feedback and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The hotel is well located within easy walking distance from the city centre. Car parking in the public car park outside the hotel is £7 for a day and free on Sundays. Our room was a good size and had everything we needed apart from a safe. My sister in the room next door had a safe and when I questioned reception about the whereabouts of our safe, I was told it was in our room. The hotel was also very hot and needed the heating to be turned down. The room rate was excellent value for money at £115 per room which included breakfast and dinner, both of which were excellent. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa which we are very pleased to recieve.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Winchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel

Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel and Spa is a calming base from which to explore the beautiful historic City of Winchester. The hotel offers attentive, friendly and professional service, coupled with sophisticated interior styling throughout. Ample onsite parking is available (chargeable). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Winchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.