We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Winchester Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Winchester Hotel to your Saves list
The Winchester Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Contemporary comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Whilst the outside of this modern hotel on the edge of Winchester may be a little unprepossessing, the interior is a different story. The foyer is modern and welcoming with to the right, a stylish bar serving drinks, cocktails, delicious snacks and high teas. The bedrooms are very well furnished and immaculately clean. Our mini break included a pass for Winchester cathedral where Jane Austin is buried, and the great hall that has king Arthur's round table, both well worth a visit!
After our Winchester cream tea back in the hotel we had a very relaxing massage in the spa. We didn't take advantage of the small pool as we hadn't brought swimwear but watched enviously as ladies with day spa entry swam and sat in little groups.
We had booked a break on the website including dinner so wandered down to the restaurant a little later for a delicious 3 course meal. The staff throughout were very helpful from reception to restaurant and made our little trip special.

Room Tip: Free parking to the rear of the hotel with pay and display at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are DELIGHTED that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    305
    113
    43
    29
See reviews for
93
491
32
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Nice hotel, great value and staff are professional and polite. Where this hotel is in terms of 'status and product it provides' I would sooner be told before booking that during my stay, parts of the hotel will be taken over by a SKRILL PREMIER FOOTBALL TEAM with members of which taking over the sauna, jacuzzi etc and wandering round in the bar area in tracksuits. Also bear in mind the little things such as buying proper candles for the restaurant not putting mini electric battery operated ones on tables which look like they are from £1 shop. This in a restaurant which has numerous items on the menu with a supplement next to it. Also get some fresh flowers in the place not cheap plastic ones covered in dust. A nice hotel though, we would use again but would ensure there weren't any large groups stopping there at the same time in future.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Staying here for one night. Room was excellent very comfortable. With all the amenities that you would need. Staff were excellent we use the swimming pool and spa. Very impressed. Had breakfast in the morning great choice food was hot and fresh. Would definitely stay there again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are DELIGHTED that you enjoyed your stay and hope to be able to welcome you back very soon.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with 3 girlfriends .hotel rooms were clean if a little tired ,food was ok lots to choose from at breakfast lunch was great dinner could be better maybe more to choose from . Spa was ok very small pool but excellent treatments .i think the location of this hotel is a must for anyone wanting to explore winchester .just a mention to young men who run the bar you are great .management could learn a few things from you .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the hotel - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This hotel is lovely and has a good location to explore the center of Winchester. The beds are soft and the room was clean and comfortable with a nice size TV. The whole hotel is decorated tastefully and looks newly refurbished. The spa area is good but the pool is very small so no swimming for exercise just a little splash about. The breakfast was good with a wide choice. If in Winchester again for a shopping and spa break will most likely book this hotel again. The only downside was we seemed to have a room that was over the sauna so it got pretty warm at night. The room had air con but was too noisy to leave on while getting to sleep. Would ask for a room away from the spa next time. The staff were polite and efficient at their tasks.

Room Tip: Have a room not situated over the spa/sauna as very warm at night. (Unless you like really warm room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We very much hope to be able to welcome you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Located within minutes walk of the station and only 10 minutes walk from High St, Jewry t etc. Plenty of parking available. Spacious reception room with TV, newspapers, fruit. Spa centre with Jacuzzi, steam room, small pool etc.
New, so in good repair! Rooms equipped with tea/coffee, wi-fi , flat screen etc.
So, an OK place to stay,
We also enjoyed a meal for a Ex Student Association which was served in a Conference Room, Food was excellent, and service quietly efficient.
Breakfast the next morning was also above the norm, good buffet choice, fresh fruit salads etc

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your lovely review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We called at The Winchester Hotel quite late in the day whilst looking for a room for the night. Although the entrance doesn't have massive appeal as it sits in a public car park, do not be put off. The staff were immediately very helpful & we were booked into a delightful room with everything we needed. The room had all the usual facilities & more, including a large screen TV! They have recently added a lovely terrace area to the front of the hotel where we had drinks in the evening & breakfast the next morning. Breakfast was excellent & we thought the whole visit was faultless. Well done & thank you. Nick & Gill

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PAE044, General Manager at The Winchester Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your GREAT review of The Winchester Hotel and Spa.

i hope that you travels bring you back to us in the near future !

Paul Eaves General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Winchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Winchester Hotel

Address: Worthy Lane, Winchester SO23 7AB, England (Formerly Winchester Moat House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winchester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winchester Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Winchester Hotel has been transformed into a sparkling boutique style hotel, bringing urban design to the heart of the ancient capital. An ideal venue for business events or a calming base from which to explore the contrasting historic city, the hotel offers attentive yet unassuming service coupled with sophisticated interior styling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Winchester Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Winchester
Winchester The Hotel
Winchester Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winchester Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.