We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warning - be prepared to leave full” 4 of 5 stars
Review of THE GOLDEN LION

THE GOLDEN LION
99 Alresford Rd | Winchester, Winchester 23 0JZ, England
01962 865512
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 153 Restaurants in Winchester
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: THIS IS A PUB RESTAURANT WITH THE MORE ON RESTAURANT THAN PUB IMACULTATE IN EVERYWAY FOOD GARDEN EVEN BOWL OF FLOWERS IN LADIES TOILETS",LOOK ON THERE WEB SITE" A VERY GOOD PLACE TO EAT FOR VISITING TOURISTS,NOT CHEAP VERY WELL RUN
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Warning - be prepared to leave full”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Having enjoyed previous visits with my wife, I encouraged 5 male friends to join me for lunch, using our bus passes to transport us. Our thoughts of having a starter were scotched by the excellent hostess who advised us that the main course portions were large. How right she was, the Steak & Ale pie with chips would have sufficed on its own, let alone with the cauliflower, broccolli, carrots and beans. Most of us left some of the veg but polished off the pie and chips, as one does! The quality of the food and the friendly service is top notch, but the food and drink is on the expensive side for a pub, which prevents me awarding the full 5 stars.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    39
    15
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Itchen Abbas, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Expensive Pie”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

First of all I must say this is a pretty pub from the outside and would be wonderful in the summer in full bloom.
Unfortunatley my food experience was pretty poor and I left with our group feeling quite dissapointed.
The drinks, even soft ones for the drivers were really expensive. An orange juice and lemonade almost the same price a pint of beer, as was the coke. The wine was again very steep for an average glass but the beer was good.
Two of us had the Homemade pie, although it did have flavor, it was barley hot and the pastry had a distinct reheated taste and feel to it. The vegetables were dreary and reheated also. All this and it cost nearly £14, for this price I want a gastronomic delight if a pie that is piping hot, straight from the oven with fresh, just cooked seasonal vegetables and hand cut triple cooked chips. Not what was delivered.
The upside is the portions are huge, if your hungry and need filling up this is the place, anything else above pub grub sadly dissapointed.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It is worth the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were visiting our son at the university of Southampton and chose this pub after taking a look at Tripadvisor reviews. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. We went there early on a Saturday evening without booking. We were lucky to get a table, so I would recommend booking at weekends. Good selection of ales. If you are not eating, not an enormous amount of room for a social drink. Food was good but the price reflects this. Table service was good in the early stages but tailed off significantly as it became busier. We had to go to the till point to prompt a bill. We were not the only customers to become a little frustrated at getting the attention of the waiting staff for a bill. Otherwise a pleasant setting with good food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A lovely pub with a real fire, great service and fantastic food. We found it on trip advisor and thanks to everyone who recommended it. It was a really lovely lunch and we will definitely go out of our way to meet there again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Food Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hope you're hungry when you visit as portion sizes are very large,very good pub food,the staff are extremely helpful.Nice pub with a warm & cosy atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed THE GOLDEN LION also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Twyford, Winchester
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to THE GOLDEN LION? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage THE GOLDEN LION, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.