We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely walk to St. Cross” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hospital of St Cross

Hospital of St Cross
St Cross Rd, Winchester SO23 9SD, England
01962 851375
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 31 Attractions in Winchester
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
123 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“A lovely walk to St. Cross”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

After we'd walked round most of Winchester, we decided we'd take a walk through the meadows to St. Cross, and it was the highlight of the day.

It was a beautifully clear winter's day and the scenery walking to the hospital was just lovely. We found out halfway along the river that the pathway had only reopened that morning after it had been relayed and some trees removed to open up the view. It really was a lovely walk.

When we arrived at the hospital it was such a beautiful building that it rounded off our walk very nicely - I would definitely recommend you do this on a visit to Winchester.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    29
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful - will return in better weather!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We visited this church and almshouses after seeing photos in a book in our hotel room and we were so glad that we did. A beautiful and peaceful setting, it is hard to believe that it is within the city. Unfortunately, work was being done on the church tower so most of the church was not accessible and the gardens looked beautiful but it started to pour with rain before we had a chance to look round the, We did however have an opportunity to have a long talk with the lady in the porter's lodge who gave us a very detailed account of the history of the premises and what it is like to live in the almshouses today. We even got the dole which is given to travellers - a piece of bread and some ale. We will return again when the work is completed and the weather is better for a proper visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ask for your wayfarers dole!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

A historic church and almshouse set in the Itchen Valley. A great walk from the Cathedral. A must not miss place for lovers of history, architecture and customs

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“An idyllic spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

A wonderful set of buildings, with a warm welcome from staff and Brothers. This almshouse is for men only and is situated within easy walking distance of Winchester.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Both interesting and beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was taken to the hospital of St Cross by a friend who lives in Winchester. The history of the alms house was extremely interesting and the gardens with their lily ponds were really beautiful. We walked through the water meadows from the centre of Winchester. It is a lovely quiet walk with great views. We took the traditional dole at admissions - bread and a small beer given on request for free. It is a lovely peaceful place and not to be missed on a visit to Winchester.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hospital of St Cross also viewed

 

Been to Hospital of St Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospital of St Cross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.