We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much bigger than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Green Jackets Museum

The Royal Green Jackets Museum
Peninsula Barracks | Romsey Road, Winchester SO23 8TS, England
44 1962 828549
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 31 Attractions in Winchester
Type: Military Museums, Museums
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Much bigger than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Popped in here as my daughter is in the ACF (Rifles) to find out a little history. Loads to see and read, almost too much! Good value and worth a second visit for a closer look at the things we skipped.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    18
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bursledon, Southampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A reminder of the remains of Hampshire's historic contribution to the preservation of the UK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

It is a valuable reminder of the sacrifices made by the men of Hampshire, the historic very close links of the original Saxon connection between the Army and the Shires of England Now utterly overturned and destroyed by Blairs government.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“I need to brush up on our history more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Wow wasn't our last 100 years of history eventful! this is just brilliant and I was never in the Army. The Rifles were everywhere. It's like a potted history of everything the Great British empire did. Best £3 i've ever spent. 3 hours and i didn't get through everything. I skipped over the upstairs which should be started first. Brilliant!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Hugely informative. Take your time, don't rush it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Lots of information about the regiment's battles, lots of artifacts, including weapons, medals and uniforms. Also great account of the genesis of this unit which was truly ground-breaking in the British army.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“a great piece of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Have visited this museum many times in the past , as i lived in Winchester for 21 years. It has very good displays well laid out and fully documented.If you want to find out the history of The Royal Green Jackets this is the place to visit . They are an important part of the history of Winchester and their importance should not be under estimated. I can still remember as a boy seeing them march into the city centre and parade in front of King Alfred statue.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Green Jackets Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Green Jackets Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Green Jackets Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.