We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good, excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Save Saved
You added Hotel du Vin & Bistro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Southgate St., Winchester SO23 9EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 hotels in Winchester
Epping, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Consistently good, excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We've used this Winchester branch of this excellent chain many times as a stopover location for our drives from Essex to The Southwest. We find the rooms are always quality appointed, the service professional and the restaurant has a great ambience and serves decent steak plus excellent wine selection.

This time we took advantage of a one night 3 course dinner + bed offer for £170 all in including half bottle champagne on arrival - excellent value

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house seem better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    75
    52
    22
    12
See reviews for
31
154
6
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I stayed here with a girlfriend for one night as a base to visit the Winchester Christmas Market and it turned out to be an excellent choice.
The hotel is perfectly situated very close to the centre of town and cathedral.
We we're warmly welcomed and check in was quick and efficient. Although our room wasn't ready by the time we had relaxed in the bar it had been prepared and our bags were waiting for us on arrival. The room was nicely decorated with ample amenities and thankfully fresh milk in the mini bar and a proper coffee maker.
The bed was crisp and comfy and the bathroom large with a huge shower head over the bath and nice toiletries and bath robes. We had a room overlooking the courtyard which had a lovely view and was very quiet.
We ate in the bistro in the evening and I had a goats cheese and beetroot tart which was a little dry but tasty, and then beautifully soft ravioli with a pumpkin and Parmesan filling. It was some of the best pasta I have had and melted in the mouth. I would also recommend the house champagne which was crisp and light and the mulled wine which was superb.
All the staff were friendly and very professional.
I would recommend this as a perfect place to stay in Winchester and a vast improvement on my previous experience at one of Hotel du Vins sister establishments.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the courtyard have a nice view and are very quiet although in summer months guests...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We went to the christmas markets on the 30th Nov & decided to book a lunch at the hotel,
as soon as we got there the reception took care of all our bags of goodies & coats so we could just sit down & relax with a glass off bubbly before lunch.When at the table,the waiter came with the menu & wine list which he was very helpful with us choosing what wine to have with our meals.Six of us chose the Beef (which just melted in your mouth) the other two had Ravioli
which they said had a lovely taste & texture.We also ordered two bottles of house red & one bottle of house white,which i thought was very reasonably priced & very tasty.When the bill arrived,we all guessed the total & everyones estimate was much higher than the actual bill.
Going back soon for a weekend stay....looking forward to it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

The room was very nice and staff attention to detail could not be any better.
It was my wife's birthday, which got kindly recognised by hotel staff. The night manager further went out of his way to bring food for my pregnant wife in the early hours, as she was feeling unwell.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I stayed here in Summer 2013, and had an excellent experience! Perfectly situated in Winchester's Town Centre, the Hotel and its atmosphere is fantastic, the Staff were all very helpful and always available. The garden is a lovely place to sit and relax, the room we stayed in was excellent, big comfy beds, great bath/shower facilities.
We ate in the bistro and the entire meal was perfect, lots of meals on the menu to please everyone. Great range of beers/wines available to finish of the evening.
Will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed for two nights for my sister's wedding. Dinner on the first night was delicious. Had a good night sleep. Then the staff could not do enough for us during wedding preparations. Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent hotel, staff and food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We arrived at 17.30 to be greeted with a pleasant welcome by reception. Although we were not dining we did want to indulge in a few cocktails. We were kindly showed through to the bar by a receptionist and greeted with big smiles and a very warm welcome by the two barmen on hand. When we enquired about a cocktail menu we were carefully guided through the list and informed of the cocktail of the week, and were also told that if we couldn't find what we wanted they would try there best to accommodate. We were then given complimentary nuts and olives and were advised on custom-made cocktails as my wife had specific needs. My wife had the most amazing rosemary and cucumber cooler, and I had a very booze-heavy fog cutter. Both drinks were delivered with immaculate presentation and attention to detail, and both tasted and smelt phenomenal. We then chatted about lots of the booze on their back bar; both bartenders were very well informed and certianly knew their products. The cocktails were quite pricey, but were well worth it for the experience we had on our visit. We will definitely return and advise anyone in the Hampshire area to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 14 Southgate St., Winchester SO23 9EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.