We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin & Bistro to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Southgate St., Winchester SO23 9EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Winchester, Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I recently visited the Hotel du Vin for a meal with some good friends. We started with drinks in the guest lounge and then dinner in the bar area. The food was delicious, the atmosphere was great and the staff were very friendly. A lovely evening and hope to visit again soon!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    96
    55
    25
    14
See reviews for
41
178
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I recently had dinner and drinks with a group of friends at the Hotel , and from the moment we arrived we were very well looked after by all the staff. We ordered drinks at the bar, and as it was a busy Friday evening, the Barman showed up through to the Lounge area where we could all relax and have our catch up, and within minutes, drinks, nibbles and menus arrived. We ordered our dinner, and was shown through to our table, and the whole evening was lovely from start to finish, very relaxed, and staff were friendly, and very chatty.
The food was amazing, and the wine went down to easily. I highly recommend, and will be going back as much as i can.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here on a Sunday night after a days shopping at Gunwharf Quays. Check in no problem and shown to our room by the same girl at reception. The room although not large was nicely fitted out and included a coffee machine. The bathroom had a shower over a deep bath which was too much for my wife to manage, there was probably room for a separate shower but it would have spoiled the look of the room. We ate at their Bistro and enjoyed pre dinner drinks at the bar, all very atmospheric with a Gallic feel. excellent courtyard area outside with plenty of tables. Slept well, good breakfast. Food and service excellent well situated for the town centre and Cathedral.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Spent one night at this hotel with my wife and 10 year old daughter. The meal was fantastic, with great service. The bedroom was very clean, as was the rest of the hotel. It is in a very good location, only a short walk to shops, bars and restaurants in the town, as well as sight seeing attractions such as the beautiful cathedral.
All the staff were very friendly and helpful, we even met the manager who was a very nice chap.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have just held our wedding reception at Hotel du Vin - I can't thank the management and team enough for making our special day sooooooo amazing.

In the run up to the event, Alex the Events Manager was calm, knowledgable and accommodating. Despite ours being a smaller 'do', there was no hard sell and she certainly didn't push us into anything we didn't want, preferring to work around our ideas. Nothing was too much trouble, she expertly guided us through the options, the pricing and accommodated our preferred entertainment, despite it being something the hotel hadn't done before.

All this helped ensure that our reception remained our day rather than a typical hotel blueprint of a reception they roll out 365 days a year. Everything ran so smoothly we didn't even notice the staff running around. The service was absolutely excellent, and nothing was too much trouble. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this venue for meals, weekends away or for events - large or small. I don't think we could have topped our reception if we had tried.

The hotel's General Manager greeted us on the day and was on hand throughout the event to ensure everything ran smoothly - I have to say his job must be made so much easier by having such an amazing team to support the guests ;).

A huge thank you to the team at HdV for making it happen ... just how we wanted it.

Room Tip: There are rooms overlooking the walled garden - which is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Visited Hotel du Vin to celebrate my husband's 30th birthday. We had a delicious meal for 21 people in a private dining room with a champagne reception beforehand in the garden . We made several changes for invididuals to the set menu and all these were accomodated. A big thank you to the manager and his staff for ensuring everything ran so smoothly

Our room was the Hugel and Jaboulet which was in a seperate annex accessed from the garden. We were very pleased with our room. It was very clean and comfortable. The bath was the biggest I have ever seen and the waterfall shower was nice.

We had breakfast in the morning. There was a good choice of cereals, pastries and toast, freshly sqeezed orange juice and the eggs benedict with bacon was very tasty.

All in all a very good choice for celebrating a special occasion - all who attended agreed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Having stayed at the Malmaison chain many times and enjoyed it we booked in here for a night on our way to the Isle of Wight for a week's holiday in August. We had a superior(Garden room) and travelled with our 10 year old. The room was lovely and as you would expect from a hotel of this type. We had to pay extra fora bed for our daughter and this did make the space for three of us rather snug.

The service was just 'ok' - we had to wait ages to be attended to on arrival. We had dinner at the hotel and really wished we'd eaten somewhere else - it was on balance an expensive dinner for very average food. The tables are also very close together.

It's well situated for exploring Winchester however, a short stroll into the centre and to the cathedral. We won't be making a return visit however as we spent around £450 for one night DBB for two ( our daughter didnt have dinner with us) and it wasnt quite the treat I'd expected.

Room Tip: The Garden rooms are quiet and away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 14 Southgate St., Winchester SO23 9EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.