We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mrs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Wykeham Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Wykeham Arms to your Saves list
The Wykeham Arms
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mrs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Terrible customer service who have staff who ignore you! Not bothered about loosing customers. Would never return! I had booked a special dinner reservation for my husbands birthday. In the end we walked out as got fed up being at a quiet bar and the staff were not interested in serving us or even acknowledging we were there. When I complained I was told to speak to a manager. This would have been ok if I had all night to wait. We walked out. It spoilt what was supposed to be a special evening.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    93
    37
    30
    14
See reviews for
48
176
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I wish we had just come to The Wykeham arms for a drink. The food portions are so incredibly tiny I had to laugh out loud- if i had any battery left on my camera to take photographs of it then I would have had to use my zoom! Not only was the venison I ordered for my main course incredibly over priced, but the meal wasnt served very hot, it was stone cold by the time I reached the end of it (about 5 bites on)! My partner had thw fish and chips and had a resonable size dinner, I had to eat again later.

The staff were friendly and welcoming, didnt have to wait around for anything. Cute and cosy inside- perhaps trying a little too hard but fun all the same. The toilets in the ladies were by far my favourite thing from my visit.

Would not visit again to eat but atmosphere is warm . You need a world class chef to pull of the tiny portions for giant prices and unfortunatley, although nice - not amazing.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We love this cosy pub, in the winter it is our favourite place to have a drink. The staff are a happy and helpful bunch. nothing is too much trouble making you feel very welcome.
It is the second time we have stayed but although it is one of our favorites the rooms have taken a big leap in price over the last few years. We do not think that the rooms match their price.
The meals are the biggest down side lunch and dinner are just over basic pub food at huge prices!
Not really sure what they are trying to achieve, but it isn't working well. This is the first time we have eaten dinner here....not sure I would eat here again. They need to reduce prices and return to consentrating on more basic fare. This said however, the breakfast issue good.
As I said we love the pub and staff but the food is way over priced.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsash
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Lovely room - each room has a name - we stayed in the 'Redman' - top of the pub.
Comfy bed + soft pillows.
Cosy, busy pub.
Food excellent.
Good selection of ales.
Handy car park at the back of the pub.
2 minute walk from the High Street.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

I booked this hotel for 2 nights as I was coming down to accompany my daughter who was taking my granddaughter who was starting at university in Winchester. I booked the cheapest rate that I could, which included breakfast for "one or 2 people in a room". So, by booking 2 rooms, we only had 3 breakfasts. Which I maybe I wouldn't have minded so much had the food been good. It was very poor.

As we were tired on the night we arrived, we really did not to eat out. The restaurant menu was both uninspiring and expensive, so we ate in the bar, which was no better really.

This is not a 4 star hotel, but they are trading on the fact that there is nowhere else to eat in the area. This hotel is not near to anything. If a Premier Travel Inn were too open nearby, they would loose business, as this is not a 4 star hotel.
We only chose to stay here as the hotels in the city were full by the time our granddaughter got her exam results and knew where she would be studying, but we certainly would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Lovely pub and very very good service although not sure the food was worth the price unfortunately. Good quality - but £14 for a burger and £26 for only a 6oz steak (plus extra for sides!) but not as good as you'd expect for something charging almost Michelin star prices. I would recommend for an experience but be wary of what you choose to eat!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

We booked for our 15th anniversary and searched the net for a small hotel with old style character. The pub/hotel/inn looked the ticket on the web and did not disappoint. It is an eclectic collection of all things to do with the military, cathedral and college along with great caricatures etc. We booked the Beaufort room on the 3rd floor, which was very well presented with a modern bathroom- including slipper bath. Warning- the floorboards creak like mad-just part of a 275 yr old building- probably not great for those 1 floor below!
We loved the small city area and the walks along the water meadows in spring and summer would be great if not flooded.
The sunday lunch was very tasty- recommend booking. The bar was well stocked - as it should be and the beer offered a good choice. Breakfast provided the full choice and didn't disappoint. Staff were very friendly and attentive.
We had a good time.
Only little niggle was the incessant swearing of one mourner at a wake in the bar on Monday afternoon-we moved in the end.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wykeham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wykeham Arms

Address: 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wykeham Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Wykeham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wykeham Arms Winchester
Wykeham Arms Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wykeham Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.