We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well they've certainly sorted it out.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wykeham Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Wykeham Arms to your Saves list
The Wykeham Arms
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Well they've certainly sorted it out.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Last time I visited the Wykham Arms, the ingredients in the food were of poor quality, (see my earlier review).

Not so now.

The Wyk Pie was the best I've had in many many years of dining there. So all round a brilliant return to, (and indeed surpassing of), the form of yesteryear.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    93
    37
    30
    14
See reviews for
48
176
27
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

The pub has a good ambience but the food was a disappointment not because of what was provided but the size of the portions and what was charged for the portions. What makes it worse is the food is served on enormous plates so the portions look even smaller. Some tables in the pub are also small so you are cramped on a small table with large plates and small portions. I would say the meal was all about presentation rather than portion. Yes give me gravy in a separate gravy boat but give me a decent portion. Also we asked for yorkshires with the pork and had to pay 75p extra per small Yorkshire. That has never happened to me in all the years I have eaten out for Sunday lunch. Thank God I did order the Yorkshire as I kid you not the pork loin was no more than three inches long. The crumble was equally small, beautifully served in a small saucepan but oh dear so small and I hardly noticed the ice that came with it on again such a huge plate. So if you are hungry and don't want to leave feeling you have paid more for the look rather than the food give this pub a wide berth.

Room Tip: I did not stay at the pub only had Sunday lunch there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great pub, great atmosphere, great food, great room, great location. It was a great stay really!
We stayed for a Friday night in October. We managed to park in the pubs small car park. Though we had to move our car Saturday at noon so they could get new guests in which was a bit of a pain as we had to drive around looking for a parking space. If you have ever been to Winchester you will know what a pain it is! Room was very nice indeed, the en-suite had a roll top bath and walk in shower. The staff were very friendly/helpful. Would definitely go back again. And we can recommend a Cathedral tour. It was news to us that Jane Austin is buried here!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I absolutely love the Wykeham. I used to visit regularly when living in Winchester so it made sense to visit on returning for a night. Absolutely luxurious accommodation, the food is divine as ever and the staff are polite, attentive and accommodating. The bathroom was huge and smart, the bed was comfortable and a sachet of Horlicks was just the thing the next morning! A perfect place for a romantic evening.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We ventured into this little pub a few weeks ago on a local recommendation and had what was without doubt the worst meal out I have experienced in a long time. Several of our meals went completely untouched as they were overcooked, dried out and in the case of one of the fish dishes, smelt rather off. The meals were beautifully presented in rather small portions, causing us to wonder if they were trying to go for the cordon bleu food market.

The pub itself was lovely, with a great atmosphere and nice wine list and I gather from friends who had recently stayed there, that the rooms were lovely. They too had an awful experience with the food. A nice local and inn but avoid the restaurant until they sort themselves out.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon H, Manager at The Wykeham Arms, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear K_James_Lee

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your dining experience here at the Wykeham Arms. It came as quite a surprise to me to learn of this, as so many of our recent reviews have been so positive, whether on Trip Advisor, or in person. It certainly is not our aim to only provide "Cordon Bleu" food, and the "Home Comforts" section of the menu, incorporating sandwiches and Pub favourites such as our cottage pie and fish and chips, is usually very well received.
Clearly there was an issue on your visit, but I would certainly ask for you to try us again, as I am sure this was very rare blip in our standards, which, as you can see on TA, are reported to be very good.
Please contact me directly should you wish to take my offer of a return, and I promise you the best of our attention if you do.

Warm regards

Jon Howard
General Manager
wykehamarms.manager@fullers.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryan, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed for four days in September. Great location with four to five minute walk to Cathedral and six to seven minute walk to center of town. Pub hotel has hundreds of interesting, decorative memorabilia and various historical themes depicted throughout both pub and hotel. Rooms clean, modern and comfortable. No elevators but staff helps take luggage to upper floors. Excellent restaurant for breakfast and dinners available in on site restaurant. Very friendly and helpful staff. We had been traveling for three weeks and needed to do laundry but there was no laundry close by. Staff said we could use the hotel's washing machine. When I came next day to do laundry, staff member said she would do laundry and for us to "just go see the sights." There was no fee. The pub ambiance, friendly staff and great food make this hotel a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Choose a room away from front street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I used to live in the centre cof Winchester and regularly went to the WA as it was the best pub in the city. I hadn't been for a few years since moving but went last month. It's still full of character, lively and busy. We had dinner here and we were blown away by the quality, taste and presentation. Way, way more than you expect in a pub or gastro pub and so much so I think they could be heading towards a star. Not cheap by any means but well worth it. Service was good too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wykeham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wykeham Arms

Address: 75 Kingsgate Street, Winchester SO23 9PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#5 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wykeham Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Wykeham Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wykeham Arms Winchester
Wykeham Arms Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wykeham Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.