We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Meal, Cozy Atmopshire” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fox and Hounds

Save Saved
You added The Fox and Hounds to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fox and Hounds
The Fox & Hounds | Crawley, Winchester SO21 2PR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 46 Winchester B&B and Inns
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Meal, Cozy Atmopshire”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We had looked for somewhere to eat for ages and after seeing a sign taking us to the fox and hounds, we were pleased. Very friendly staff, Lovely cozy atmosphere with a log fire etc.. We had pate to start. Absolutely delicious. Not served with enough toast but im sure they would have given us more if we had have asked i just didn't want to seem greedy. My partner had a steak, It was cooked to perfection and served with delicious homemade chips but at £19.99 he thought it was slightly over priced. Overall we had a great evening and the food was fresh and very tasty.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    18
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
18
37
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
basingstoke
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We called in for Sunday lunch, not having been before, but it came up on a website. The building itself was spectacular, though somewhat lacking in atmosphere inside.
The welcome was very warm and all the staff extremely friendly and attentive. I was a little concerned at first as our cutlery was stuck to the table, but the waitress explained that the tables had recently been varnished!
The portions were very generous and good value, two courses for £12.95 I think. Food was ok, nothing fabulous, but equally nothing wrong.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Myself and family of 13 today has the Sunday Roast. The staff and meal were excellent. I can honestly say we could not find one fault. If you want a fab roast in a beautiful pub, set in a stunning village do not hesitate and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

First time I have ever eaten a Sunday Lunch in a pub. Not expecting it like Mum used to cook, pleasantly surprised. My wife had Ham & Pea soup to start and I had mackerel. For mains we had turkey and beef, both beautifully cooked and tasty, the veg. were freshly prepared and not mushy as I dreaded. Service was great, lovely cosy atmosphere and all reasonably priced for either 2 or 3 courses. I shall now expect all pub Sunday lunches to be of this quality.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The staff are very friendly and helpful
The pub is quaint and atmospheric
The room we stayed in (one of the outside chalets) was adequate for our overnight stay but would benefit from a bit of refurbishment, especially the bathroom.
Location is picturesque 'chocolate box' pretty
Food is first class (not cheap but you get what you pay for) portions are good size.
Overall 8/10.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We chose the Fox and Hounds for Sunday Lunch as its location is reasonably central for family members travelling from various points in the south of England. What a wise choice! The food was fantastic with plenty of choice for each course and everything we ordered was delicious. We particularly appreciated the bread baskets filled with extra Yorkshire puddings which were soon woofed down! The service was very friendly and attentive and made the occasion very enjoyable and all at a reasonable cost. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We recently had dinner here one Monday evening. The parking round the back wasn't very good - big 4x4s were taking up 2 spaces each - but I guess that's not the pub's fault! Inside the atmosphere was a little dead, the glasses were grubby and the candle was out of oil...not the best of starts. Anyway, the food was excellent. We both ordered steak and triple-cooked chips. All cooked to perfection. We enjoyed a glass of red, too. The meat is from the local farm shop and it really makes a difference. The staff were friendly as well. Worth a visit, but not sure if I'll rush back.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox and Hounds

Address: The Fox & Hounds | Crawley, Winchester SO21 2PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your The Fox and Hounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox And Hounds Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fox and Hounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.