We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Combination of Location and Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paternoster Row, Winchester SO23 9LQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 11 hotels in Winchester
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Combination of Location and Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

While the property itself is probably not one of Prince Charles' favourite examples of good English architecture, the location can't be beat, bordering on the Cathedral Close and in easy walking distance of Winchester's many attractions. Road access is also straight-forward. Rooms were fine and clean, most with a lovely view of the Cathedral itself. Staff could not have been nicer, or more helpful.
One small caveat. Phone calls from the room phones are expensive. Use your mobile.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Nicholas_Hayes, We haven’t had the fortune of His Royal Highness’s patronage but I do agree that we wouldn’t be one of his favourite architectural buildings. It’s a shame because I am sure he would enjoy staying here. We will keep an eye out for his review on Tripadvisor just in case he does. Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us at Mercure Winchester, I hope we will see you again. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    143
    287
    164
    64
    42
See reviews for
115
320
57
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

The best vale for money hotel I have ever stayed in. We were allowed to check on two hours early with no hassle. Had a clean nicely decorated room overlooking Winchester cathedral. Breakfast buffet was included and pretty good, including hot English breakfast options. And sooooo cheap! Only slight negative which the hotel can do nothing about was that it felt a bit sketchy accessing the hotel at night, as it is kind of behind the high street at the apex of back alleyways. Otherwise absolutely faultless for the price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear 335bkm, Thank you very much for your very kind words, they are much appreciated. Delighted to here that you found us excellent value for money and absolutely faultless. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Winchester. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed Fri & Sat nights with a group of friends. Perfect location right next to the Cathedral (see photo from my room) and in the heart of the city. The 1960s building was never an architectural gem and is looking dated now, but inside it is comfortable and the service was very good. The à la carte dinner on Friday was good (though the wine prices are steep even by hotel standards), but the set meal 'banquet' on Saturday was bland and boring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Napotonian, Delighted to hear you had a comfortable stay with us at Mercure Winchester and found the service provided and the a la carte dinner to be very good. Sorry the set menu wasn’t to your liking. I am pleased to let you know we have changed the menu this week. I am sure you will enjoy it the next time you visit. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Only stayed one night in an Executive room including breakfast. (Warning breakfast is priced at £15.50 per person!!) Our room overlooked the cathedral and its grounds and really was just a stones throw from the City centre. Nothing remarkable about either the room or the bathroom but adequate and in good order. Be aware that car parking in the hotel car park is £9 per day. Try the public car park opposite if you're only staying for 1 night.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WMcWilliamWinchester, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Eastbourne2, Thank you very much for posting a review. We are blessed with a fabulous location for visiting this magnificent city, particularly for our unique view of The Cathedral, I am glad you enjoyed it. Please come again as I am sure you still have plenty to see. Kind regards, William McWilliam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Also Known As:
Mercure Wessex Winchester Hotel Winchester
Mercure Wessex Winchester Hotel
Accor Wessex Winchester
Mercure Winchester
Address: Paternoster Row, Winchester SO23 9LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Winchester
#6 Family Hotel in Winchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 star hotel with 94 en suite rooms, many with views of the Cathedral. Ideal for visiting Winchester Cathedral, the steam railway and zoological park. Easily accessible via the M3, 15 miles (24 km) from Southampton Airport, 1 mile from Winchester railway station and a 1 minute walk from the coach station. Features five airconditioned conference rooms for up to 100 delegates, Walkers At The Wessex restaurant, Kings Lounge, 24 hour room service, pay parking as well as use of the nearby leisure centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.