We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Winchester Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Winchester Royal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

It was a nice stay in every sense of the word.
The only negative thing at the hotel, if you can call it that, is having the morning coffee in a teapot. Now that, I feel is petty,but it's the only thing that wasn't 100% on our stay.
Thoroughly enjoyed it and relaxed greatly

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    139
    47
    22
    6
See reviews for
39
167
12
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at the hotel for two nights on the May bank holiday weekend which was quite a busy one for the hotel. The room was very clean, quite large and very comfortable. The hotel garden was lovely especially when we returned after a day out in Winchester to sit in the sunshine with a glass of bubbly. The restaurant was very quiet on the Saturday evening but still enjoyable as the food was good, especially the smoked trout tartare - delightful. The breakfast was plentiful and hot with good tea and coffee service as well as prompt responses to special requests. The only negative point was trying to order snacks in the Lounge on the Sunday afternoon as the chef had decided to close the kitchen as he had a large party dye that evening, so the staff were only able to offer cream teas, ok but not what we wanted ( the trout beckoned again) The staff were very apologetic verging on embarrassed as this is a 24hr service hotel. In the end we decided on the cream tea which was nice but still not really up to scratch as we were disappointed at this point. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Winchester as all its public areas are comfortable and the service is very good in general with extremely friendly and accommodating waiting staff.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

stayed here recently. Wonderful location in centre of city. Big plusses - car parking - and incredibly - a lawn area at back of hotel with terrace to sit and enjoy some calm. Good value meals. Rooms 4 * standard and staff superb.

Room Tip: garden rooms a nice location but others are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My daughter and son-in-law held their wedding reception at the WInchester Royal Hotel and we could not fault the staff or the hotel! Nick Coles and his team ensured all plans were executed to the highest standard and ensured we had the most perfect day. Many of the guests stayed the night at the hotel and the rooms were amazing, and the breakfast was delicious! The private garden was perfect for some romantic photos!

We are incredibly grateful for everyone of the team at the hotel and would highly recommend the Winchester Royal, especially for a wedding reception!

Thank you again to all the team for making it a truly perfect day!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 nights and really enjoyed it. Hotel very clean, all staff friendly and welcoming. Good choice for breakfast, although only fried eggs available. We ate in the hotel one evening and the food was first class, and the 'Wine and Dine' offer was amazing value for money... 2 courses for 2 people with a bottle of wine for £40.
Excellent city centre location, within walking distance of all of Winchester's attractions.
Would fully recommend this hotel. The only negative would be the car parking charges. We feel that guests are already paying a premium to stay in a city centre hotel, and charging an extra £10 per night for car parking is a bit cheeky.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Normally will not write a poor review, feel this time have too :-
When making booking, all lower price rooms taken, only ones left with a view of the garden, having stayed many times in past, not asked for extra money to look at a garden, this time we had to, being a Sunday Night thought bit strange, however we took the room. On being sown out room, we paid extra for this, to look at a load of garden chairs with people smoking, the room being located next to the garden patio. Will skip over the dinner, which not happy with. Breakfast, no better a large hair in the milk jug.
Not happy having to pay £10.00 on top for parking, having been informed when booking we were informed off this, on checking all the paper & confirmation, no mention of £10.00 parking, we did inform the reception, who at first disagreed with us, on showing them all the papers, they agreed nothing on papers, the reception could do not nothing, they did say they would pass on complaint on. Only reason for doing this report, our stay was 2 weeks ago, would have thought maybe the management might have sent a e mail apologizing for the problems we encounter.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a second great break here. Amazing position near to city centre but ay puniest and peaceful. Sadly parking was charged unlike last time but had to be done. We were on an offer with evening meal which had dubiously slow service but delightful results. Great meal. The room at the end of the garden corridor was lovely modern, clean and well appointed. Quiet with lovely outlook. Staff friendly and helpful. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Su14,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your return visit to us and thank-you for your feedback which I will share with the team.

As a regular user please contact me with your telephone number prior to your next visit on gm.winchester@sjhotels.co.uk and I will discuss the parking charge with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winchester Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Royal Hotel

Address: St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You know you are somewhere special as soon as you step through the front door of the Winchester Royal Hotel, as you are greeted with an impressive entrance and sweeping staircase. This charming 16th Century Hotel is a hidden gem within the heart of the city, with a historical aura and many stories to tell. The hotels has recently undergone a multi million pound refurbishment which has brought the old character of this beautiful building back to life, with fresh decor and new furnishings. It's not only the communal areas which have been updated; local businesses can also enjoy the sparkling new meeting facilities, the makeover of the events rooms will impress all soon to be newlyweds and the fresh look of the dining areas are perfect for those looking for an evening meal or lunch time snack. All of the bedrooms have also been redecorated creating a calm and tranquil atmosphere with a range of facilities. Choose between a suite and a garden facing room, suiting a range of styles and requirements. Close to the M3, A31 and A34, plus easy access to the Midlands and South Coast the Winchester Royal hotel is perfect for casual business meetings or a catch up with friends. Relax and enjoy the hotel with no interruptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Winchester Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.