We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed two nights. Ideally situated for City Centre” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Winchester Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Winchester Royal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Winchester
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stayed two nights. Ideally situated for City Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Excellent Hotel. Finished to a high standard. Very clean. Very Comfortable bed. Food in dinning room superb and excellent value for money. Benefit of having a bath. Staff very attentive. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    117
    41
    20
    5
See reviews for
31
143
8
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at Winchester Royal for a girl's weekend. Location was brilliant, really close to central Winchester. Historic property and lovely garden. Stayed in newer extension rooms, which were quiet, roomy and very comfortable. Only had breakfast in the restaurant, but it was OK. On the negative side, cleaning of the rooms was not great - beds were not made properly and service in the restaurant and the bar ranged from very good, but was mostly poor. On the Saturday night we came back from dinner out and would have had six or more liquors, but there was a total lack of staff presence, so we gave up and went to bed!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear DianeG,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that you generally enjoyed your stay, I am sorry to hear of the issues you mentioned and I would like to investigate this further so it would help me to know which room you stayed in? We have very high standards of room cleanliness and housekeeping as you will see from our previous reviews, similarly I am not clear as to what time you returned to the Hotel? We have Night Porters on duty and a phone on the front desk with a sign to contact the Night Porter if he is not in the immediate vicinity of the bar and reception area. If you could kindly email me on gm.winchester@sjhotels.co.uk so I can look into these matters and provide you with a direct response.


Kind regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We arrived at a very busy time and the hotel was fully booked for the night. The first room we were given did not have a bath. Alexandra at reception was extremely helpful, and managed despite it being very busy to change our room.

Both rooms were very nice. The location is great being right in the centre of the the city. Breakfast on Sunday morning was very busy, luckily we arrived after the peak rush so had no problem.

A great stay, lovely hotel. Thank you.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found this hotel in the heart of Winchester thru' an offer - very nice, value and good food.
Very good at this level
Staff try very hard to do it right
Make a note - there is an overnight parking charge

Room Tip: there is an old original part and a newer part - make your own choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I and son and his partner stayed this last weekend. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the bed huge and the bedclothes sparkling white cotton and so comfy. The bathroom had room in it to move and shower was pleasant.
The young staff all seemed friendly and efficient and made us feel special, in spite of the fact they were rushed off their feet as the hotel was fully booked.
One evening we ate at the hotel's restaurant - not a thing I often like doing. So glad I did! Wonderfully cooked food (I had the chicken stuffed with smokey bacon in a brandy and mushroom cream sauce). Oh so good. The puds were fine but I think the chef must have been practising as they were a little eccentric! The berry jelly was just that. Like a Chiver's jelly with fruit in and cut into a thin strip with a blunt knife. The peanut parfait covered in choc and coconut was two halves of a chocolate bowl with a sort of ice cream in it (I would guess from frozen but not entirely sure). Son's rhubarb was so tart it made his teeth hurt! But the taste was fine - this is just nit-picking.
Very centrally placed - hardly a walk to the shops or cathedral. Car parking dodgy. You may not get a place and they charge £10 per night if you do! All in all I will certainly return.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the garden. Ours was facing a nondescript building and car park on the other sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Second visit to this hotel, chosen for its central location. We stayed in the modern annexe last time but this time were in the main (old) building, which is historical and attractive. The rooms here have been recently refurbished to a high standard, and ours was spacious and very well equipped, with a good bathroom. Parking is tight, so worth getting here early for a space. Thought breakfast was quite expensive, so went for the cheaper option up the road at Wetherspoon's. However, I note the manager's comments about serving plated breakfasts now, so would be prepared to try that next time.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at this Hotel for 2 nights , the service was excellent the staff being very friendly, kind and efficient. The reception staff went the extra mile accommodating my disability. The rooms are well decorated and provide comfort with style. The cleanliness everywhere was fantastic
The food in the restaurant is really yummy and we enjoyed both our evening meals the waitresses were excellent. The breakfasts are buffet style offering a good choice, maybe if you were staying longer a fish choice could be offered.
There are many points ,which make this Hotel stand out but I loved the large fluffy towels in the bathroom , most Hotels I have been offer an apology for a towel but these were real luxury.
Wonderful value for money I would recommend this Hotel anytime without reservation.

Room Tip: Choose a garden room they are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winchester Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Royal Hotel

Address: St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You know you are somewhere special as soon as you step through the front door of the Winchester Royal Hotel, as you are greeted with an impressive entrance and sweeping staircase. This charming 16th Century Hotel is a hidden gem within the heart of the city, with a historical aura and many stories to tell. The hotels has recently undergone a multi million pound refurbishment which has brought the old character of this beautiful building back to life, with fresh decor and new furnishings. It's not only the communal areas which have been updated; local businesses can also enjoy the sparkling new meeting facilities, the makeover of the events rooms will impress all soon to be newlyweds and the fresh look of the dining areas are perfect for those looking for an evening meal or lunch time snack. All of the bedrooms have also been redecorated creating a calm and tranquil atmosphere with a range of facilities. Choose between a suite and a garden facing room, suiting a range of styles and requirements. Close to the M3, A31 and A34, plus easy access to the Midlands and South Coast the Winchester Royal hotel is perfect for casual business meetings or a catch up with friends. Relax and enjoy the hotel with no interruptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Winchester Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.