We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Winchester Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Winchester Royal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Didn't have the time to arrange a German Christmas market this year, so decided to give this beautiful city a visit. We had an exec room overlooking the garden, very comfortable and spacious. Not too expensive considering the time of year and location, although what irks with me are the extras - £10 each for breakfast, and £10 overnight parking. That's another £30 on top of what was becoming quite an expensive weekend. And the city's Christmas market left a little to be desired, £3 for a non-alcoholic mulled "wine" in a paper cup!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    84
    35
    18
    5
See reviews for
22
97
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Arrived on Sat 27/12/14, had a lovely warm, professional welcome, we went to our room & was pleasantly surprised of the high standard of the room for the reasonable price that we paid, the bed was enormous & comfortable, the room was warm & spacious
We had a lovely time in Winchester town centre, which was 5min walk from the hotel
The breakfast was fantastic, full English, cereals, fruit etc
We had a small issue with the hotel room, but as soon as we told the staff, it was very quickly resolved, we would happily stay there again

Room Tip: Try to get garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Tastefully furnished rooms. The beds are very comfortable indeed. Spacious bathrooms with effective facilities and a nice range of toiletries. The staff are polite helful and unobtrusive.
Being centrally placed makes it a good base for exploring the historic buildings or visiting the shops.
A stay here is a relaxing experience. We have stayed on 3 occasions. It is our first choice of hotel in Winchester.

Room Tip: All the rooms have been good. We like the ones that overlook the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Winchester is not a cheap place to stay but this was at the time the cheapest I could find. The decor is warm and neutral complete with wool dogtooth blankets and leaf curtains. It was also nice to have a bath and shower. The beds are super comfortable and massive however when I was booking I only got to choose a preference of if I got double or twin and it wasn't guaranteed . It is central and great for exploring .

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently had a very enjoyable work's Christmas lunch here. The menu was great (obviously traditional Christmas Fare but done well) with reasonably generous portions. There were 40 of us in an upstairs back room that had lots of atmosphere - exposed beams and tastefully decorated. (Much more interesting than the room we had last year!). The staff did an excellent job. There was a small bar too but they weren't serving bitter so we had to go to the downstairs bar for that. I look forward to returning again next year!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A group of 14 ladies sat down for our annual Christmas lunch, excellent service, large nicely decorated table and good food. What more could you ask for for £12.95 a head, a far more pleasant experience that pubs in recent years. We will go back next year.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel, but food excellent.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Oh dear!
I last reviewed Afternoon Tea at The Royal Hotel on 13 September 2014. My recent experiences there had not been as good as I would have expected but, as I said in my review, I was prepared to return because there had been nothing sufficiently negative to put me off altogether. The follow up to that review was Louis Rigney, the GM of the Royal Hotel, leaving a message and asking me to email him prior to any future visit.

Needing a little December treat before hitting the Christmas Market, I arranged to meet a friend for Afternoon Tea at the Royal Hotel and booked in advance with the hotel for 2-30pm, Friday 12th December. I then also emailed the GM as per his request advising him of our proposed visit.

We arrived for tea and, after having been asked whether we wanted tea or coffee, were shown into the lounge area to choose our table. (Personally, I always find it odd that our drink preference is taken at the bar before we are even seated!) Once seated, our crockery and cutlery arrived promptly, as did the tea, shortly followed by the sandwiches. Unfortunately, the milk took a lot longer to arrive – more than 10 minutes! I had just got up to look for someone to ask for it when the waiter brought it. No apology for the delay however. Although neither of us take sugar so it was not an issue, I realised later that there was no sugar at the table and none offered.

The sandwich and cake selection was the same as normal – with the exception that the (thick) bread was very dry, crusts badly cut off, and the fillings were so mean they were barely noticeable. The scones, jam and cream were fine but the cake slices were on the mean side and one slice of lemon cake was so thin it reminded me of lace curtains! This would have been bad enough if we had been the last customers taking tea but as we were there so early it is really not acceptable.

Once we had finished with our tea we sat and chatted for a while. It took ages before anyone made any attempt to clear the table and then when they did they only took away the cake/sandwich stand and other odd bits, leaving the rest of the used items there in front of us. The bar and lounge were in no way busy so that cannot be the excuse for this.

In hindsight, perhaps I should have complained at the time, but I did not want to create any embarrassment for my guest. I have not emailed the GM about this because, having asked me to let him know when I was next visiting, he has not had the decency to acknowledge my email. Certainly standards have not improved. If anything they have got worse which is very sad.

Would I go there again? I won't say that I won't go there again however, for Afternoon Tea I will be searching out other locations first.

Would I recommend it to others? I would suggest they look at alternatives first.

Room Tip: I have not stayed here overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear BoringFS,

I am sorry to hear that we have yet again failed to meet your expectations on this visit, I have checked back on my emails and unfortunately this had gone into junk email, having invited you back I would not deliberately ignore such an email intentionally. As a basic courtesy if have invited someone back I would of course make an effort to meet them on their return and I do find it unusual that the issues you describe did not warrant you speaking to a duty manager or a member of staff even if done discreetly on the day?

Please accept my apologies that the communications on this matter seem to have gone awry, if you would like to call me on 01962 840840 I will be pleased to discuss this in more detail with you.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Winchester Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Royal Hotel

Address: St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You know you are somewhere special as soon as you step through the front door of the Winchester Royal Hotel, as you are greeted with an impressive entrance and sweeping staircase. This charming 16th Century Hotel is a hidden gem within the heart of the city, with a historical aura and many stories to tell. The hotels has recently undergone a multi million pound refurbishment which has brought the old character of this beautiful building back to life, with fresh decor and new furnishings. It's not only the communal areas which have been updated; local businesses can also enjoy the sparkling new meeting facilities, the makeover of the events rooms will impress all soon to be newlyweds and the fresh look of the dining areas are perfect for those looking for an evening meal or lunch time snack. All of the bedrooms have also been redecorated creating a calm and tranquil atmosphere with a range of facilities. Choose between a suite and a garden facing room, suiting a range of styles and requirements. Close to the M3, A31 and A34, plus easy access to the Midlands and South Coast the Winchester Royal hotel is perfect for casual business meetings or a catch up with friends. Relax and enjoy the hotel with no interruptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Winchester Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.