We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Royal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Winchester Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Winchester Royal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Winchester
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
“great place to stay!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for two nights,and had a great experience, friendly, welcoming staff,well appointed room,comfortable bed (enormous in fact) spotless bathroom, and good food.
The hotel could not be in a better position, you are right in the centre of Winchester in a very beautiful old building with loads of character, which extended to the well tended garden for a little outside relaxation before dinner. The city centre and all it's many attractions are right on your doorstep, sightseeing, shopping and eating places are literally just a few steps away.
We ate in the hotel on both nights, and would heartily recommend it .........the food was exceptionally well cooked and presented,and delicious, served by efficient well mannered staff.
All in all we would recommend a stay here, must be one of the best in the area!

Room Tip: We were in a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    59
    25
    13
    4
See reviews for
15
71
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I purchased a groupon voucher for afternoon tea for myself and my friend. We arrived and was seated very quickly, the only positive thing out of the whole experience.The tea arrived followed by the sandwiches , which were stale ,to the point that some where not edible. The cakes weren't much better and I can almost assure you that they were not homemade. We waited for a member of staff to enquire if everything was satisfactory which at that point we would have made them aware of the stale sandwiches, however we sat there for 2 hours Inwhich time we had to ask for more tea as it was never offered. At 7pm when the table was cleared by a member of staff we mentioned the sandwiches were stale, he offered to replace them but unfortunately it was 2hours to late. We will not be recommending this place to any friends or family.
We have had other experiences with afternoon tea at some very nice hotels locally and was extremely disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sardinia, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is centrally located. The building bears interesting histories, and a garden was beautifully kept. Breakfast was served in the restaurant where many original features of the building have been preserved. The room I stayed was decent, spacious with a comfortable bed. The only shame is that the toiletries they provided were Made in China with poor quality.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, today
Dear Yuwei42,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel, we have recently changed our toiletries to a higher quality brand and we are in the process of running down the existing stocks.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Seven of us stayed here for two nights and had a lovely stay. Receptionist was very helpful, rooms were very clean and modern. Beds comfortable. Only criticism being breakfast. For four star hotel it was poor we have had better in a b & b. The toast was soggy even when first served. The eggs were like rubber, everything else was ok.
All in all very happy stay, would go again.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, today
Dear PetaV,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, I will look into your comments regarding breakfast as this is normally very well received and I apologise that it does not appear to have been to the correct standard.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two nights with my sister for concentrated site seeing. Lovely garden room, very comfy beds, good sized, clean bathroom. Very good food and service for all meals. Only complaint - one pillowcase had a rip and was interlaced!! Lots of apologies! Would recommend.

Room Tip: Garden room .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear DianaR,

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad to hear that you had a lovely stay with us, I apologise that there was a rip in your pillowslip and it is very rare for something like this to slip past the "keen eye" of our Head Housekeeper but I have made her aware of it.

We look forward to wecloming you back.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I arrived for afternoon tea on Thursday 18 August and duly handed in a Group-on voucher at reception. We were told to go through the bar and a waiter took us into the lounge, we were asked where we would like to sit, which wasn't difficult since we were the only ones in there . He asked whether we required tea or coffee, which duly appeared together with a cake stand of sandwiches, cake and scones etc., which were all very nice- and that was the last we saw of him.!! We realised when a different waiter walked through there must have been a changeover. It would have been nice if either of them had asked if everything was alright or did we need anything. After an hour we left, no member of staff asked whether we had a good experience - unfortunately we hadn't and we would certainly not think of recommending afternoon tea at the Winchester Royal.

Room Tip: This was a review of Afternoon Tea only we did not stay overnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear CedricL,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that we did not provide our normal levels of service during your visit in August. After reviewing this I am aware that we were unfortunately depleted on our usual staffing levels on that day and that this has impacted on our normally high level of service and I can only apologise for this. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the content of the afternoon tea.

Kind regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on business as I had a meeting near Southampton and this was the nearest available. I had tried to stay at Hilton, Holiday Inn or anything - just as you know what you're getting. But I'm really glad they were all full!

This hotel is nestled in the centre of Winchester (down an annoying one way system of course). There is car parking at the rear that is free to guests (or was on my stay). The reception, bar and restaurant are all rather historic which is apt since the hotel was built in Charles III era!

The bedrooms in the main hotel were lovely. I actually stayed in a 'suite' that had a separate living room area (table, desk, couch, chair) and a lovely large double bed with views out over the gardens to the rear. All very lovely. Decor and cleanliness were excellent too. Much nicer than the soulless nature of a chain.

Warning though! I saw they had a separate modern annex to the hotel and I have no idea what those rooms were like so if you want the historic rooms make sure you reserve one in the main hotel.

Pricing was excellent - Thursday night with breakfast (mini-suite remember) was only £125 - breakfast was very good though fried eggs were swimming in grease as usual - a nice touch would be to have an 'egg station' on busier mornings I'd suggest - where a commi-chef can prepare scrambled, poached or fried eggs to order - I've seen this in numerous places and it's always a nice touch - better than piles of fried eggs in oil or scrambled egg in water!

Didn't eat at the restaurant - prices were typical of a city restaurant - and there were many options within a few minutes walk. I actually went (with my colleague) to the local pub "Oak" - the oldest pub in England supposedly - where a nice t-bone steak was around £15.

The gardens at the back were lovely - really nice place for a drink in an evening - well maintained too.

Overall - this was a pleasant surprise! I am used to chain hotels for business and this was a departure from that - I would highly recommend this hotel for business (and family/couples) when needing a hotel in and around Winchester, but also, consider it for Southampton business trips too - it's only 15/20 minutes away from Southampton and a lot lot cheaper!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite overlooking the gardens in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Skipstream69,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we pride ourselves on our character and history and I am pleased that you noted the welcoming ambience as an alternative to the larger chain hotels. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winchester Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Royal Hotel

Address: St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You know you are somewhere special as soon as you step through the front door of the Winchester Royal Hotel, as you are greeted with an impressive entrance and sweeping staircase. This charming 16th Century Hotel is a hidden gem within the heart of the city, with a historical aura and many stories to tell. The hotels has recently undergone a multi million pound refurbishment which has brought the old character of this beautiful building back to life, with fresh decor and new furnishings. It's not only the communal areas which have been updated; local businesses can also enjoy the sparkling new meeting facilities, the makeover of the events rooms will impress all soon to be newlyweds and the fresh look of the dining areas are perfect for those looking for an evening meal or lunch time snack. All of the bedrooms have also been redecorated creating a calm and tranquil atmosphere with a range of facilities. Choose between a suite and a garden facing room, suiting a range of styles and requirements. Close to the M3, A31 and A34, plus easy access to the Midlands and South Coast the Winchester Royal hotel is perfect for casual business meetings or a catch up with friends. Relax and enjoy the hotel with no interruptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Winchester Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.