We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely central hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Winchester Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winchester Royal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Winchester
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“lovely central hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed 2 nights and parked the car for 2 days exploring the beautiful city on foot. Really good location and comfortable room and clean bathroom. We found it a bit strange that we had to ask for
glasses to drink water in our rooms ( it was originally suggested that we drink out of the plastic toothbrush mug !!!!!) Also 3 out of 4 side lights didn t work but eventually an employee told us to put on the central ceiling light on first due to 16 cent wiring....a note somewhere would be good about these idiosyncracies. Dinner special at £39 was fine and the breakfast was very good. Lots of choice and delicious bread.
Overall a pleasant stay with helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    49
    22
    11
    3
See reviews for
9
63
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked this hotel last minute. Whilst the location in Winchester is central and therefore good to explore the city, I felt the description of the hotel online was highly deceptive. Described as a 16th century hotel, my husband and I parked in one of the hotel car park's at the back of the hotel and arrived at what, to us, looked like a nursing home and the decor as you enter from the back is no different. At £119 for double room only, I'd have appreciated knowing I was booking a room that is in an unattractive part of the hotel, recently built. The room was okay, very comfortable bed and praise goes to an enthusiastic and very polite team of staff but I will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Babykangaroo,

Thank you for your review, the original part of the building dates back to the 16th Century and has 20 feature bedrooms; our reception area, lounge bar & restaurant, are also located in this building. We do have a separate wing of 61 bedrooms which were built in the late Eighties, half of these rooms overlook our garden. Our rooms have all been recently refurbished and for a small additional extra charge we could have allocated you one of the rooms in the older part of the building. Our room types including photos and facilities are clearly detailed on our own website and third party travel sites. Thank you for your kind comments in respect of the staff.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Great service, fantastic room, EXTREMELY comfortable bed, and a spot on buffet style breakfast, with good quality sausages (which is a big plus in my book!!). Recommend this highly for overnight stays or short breaks. Very well situated in the main town as well. Only minor downside is the hotel bar prices, but as there are more then enough alternatives on the door step this can be easily forgiven.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Ave83IT,

Thank you for your wonderful review, I am delighted that you had a fantastic stay with us and that you enjoyed breakfast (particularly the sausages!). We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a fantastic stay on 19th August 2015. We were delighted to find that we had been upgraded to a suite, which was spotlessly clean, with the most powerful shower I have ever used. t
The staff and quality of food cannot be faulted. This was our second visit, and we will definitely be returning again in the near future. Excellent location.
Mr and Mrs Galvin

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jo,

Thank you for your review and for highly recommending us, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had been given this Travelzoo offer as a gift - was really looking forward to the stay and wasn't disappointed! On arrival Alick on reception was very friendly & helpful, excellent customer service, we were early for check in but this was no problem. Our room was overlooking the Parchment st car park, lovely clean modern room with a huge bed! Power shower was very refreshing too. Dinner was well presented, would recommend the beer battered haddock. Bar prices are typical of a hotel. Centrally located so only a short walk from the main shopping areas and local pubs. Breakfast was very nice, plenty of choice, staff helpful, teapots that pour tea properly and not leak were a bonus! We had a late checkout (1pm) as part of the package which allowed us to spend time relaxing in the room after breakfast instead of rushing to check out. The deputy manager was on the reception desk at check out and she was very helpful, asked if we could leave the car in the car park whilst we popped into town and this was no problem, code given for barrier and we returned when we were ready to leave. Only 1 thing that did bug us was at 9.30 one of the housemaids was knocking the door to service the room, we had a late check out and if we had decided not to go to breakfast we would still have been asleep - staff need to be aware of this. Overall I would definitely recommend a stay here

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear BxE,

Thank you for your review I am pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable and relaxing break with us and that you found both dinner and breakfast to your liking. I will speak with the housekeeping team as they should not be knocking on doors at that time in the morning and I apologise for this.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Booked a great deal through St James's Hotel Group, £69 for double bed & breakfast - they currently have a summer deal on for stays up till Sunday 7th September. Great central hotel in Winchester, literally a 2 minute walk to the High Street. There is a £10 overnight parking fee but this is expected being so central. The room was very clean with a comfy bed & large bathroom - TV was in a bit of a strange location though (usually at the end of the bed). There is also free wifi available. Saw a few reviews beforehand about breakfast but we didn't have any issues - it was a pretty standard fry up!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Sotongirl85,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and that you were able to take advantage of one of our special offers through the St.James's Hotels group website, there are a number of promotional offers running throughout the year so please keep a close eye on the site for future deals.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a deal £99 DBB. Room was ok overlooking a block of flats at the rear of new extension. Suggest ask for one overlooking the garden. The dinner was good, if not filling, we do not have hearty appetites. Breakfast was a shambles, when we arrived 08.30 there was one fried egg (broken yolk) available, most of the other items were on their last legs. When a waiter eventually made an appearance we ordered toast 7 coffee. The food container were filled & emptied by the waiting customers in record time. Empty food containers again! Coffee took half an hour to arrive, toast took three quarters of an hour. When we got our breakfast it was good but Fawlty Towers watch out.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Jasper999

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear of the issues at breakfast and I am aware that we had a particularly large group in during your stay and it would appear that they decimated the buffet as quickly as we could replenish it and it is regrettable that this caused delays for other guests.

I am pleased that you found your stay to be good value and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winchester Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Royal Hotel

Address: St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Royal Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You know you are somewhere special as soon as you step through the front door of the Winchester Royal Hotel, as you are greeted with an impressive entrance and sweeping staircase. This charming 16th Century Hotel is a hidden gem within the heart of the city, with a historical aura and many stories to tell. The hotels has recently undergone a multi million pound refurbishment which has brought the old character of this beautiful building back to life, with fresh decor and new furnishings. It's not only the communal areas which have been updated; local businesses can also enjoy the sparkling new meeting facilities, the makeover of the events rooms will impress all soon to be newlyweds and the fresh look of the dining areas are perfect for those looking for an evening meal or lunch time snack. All of the bedrooms have also been redecorated creating a calm and tranquil atmosphere with a range of facilities. Choose between a suite and a garden facing room, suiting a range of styles and requirements. Close to the M3, A31 and A34, plus easy access to the Midlands and South Coast the Winchester Royal hotel is perfect for casual business meetings or a catch up with friends. Relax and enjoy the hotel with no interruptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Winchester Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.