We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Winchester Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winchester Royal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Winchester
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a large group booking and had a great time. Super room overlooking the garden, lovely breakfasts in the garden room, very helpful staff (especially the night barman, who was also on duty for breakfast 9 hours later) and very reasonable prices. Can't fault it. Would be 5 star if it had more facilities but for a town centre hotel, top class.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view - bit of a walk, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    46
    21
    11
    3
See reviews for
9
56
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed on a 'groupon special' so can't complain really buy had we have paid full price it would have been a wholly different tale! We arrived at lunchtime and parked in the car park, surprised at the £10 tag but I'm Disabled so small price to pay for central parking I guess. We knew we were too early for 2pm check in so advised reception of our car reg in case of any issues and went for a wander round the picturesque city. We returned at 16.30, picked up bags from the car and went to checkin. The room was not ready so we went to the garden to have a drink a sit down an wait, returned to reception at 17.00 still the room was not ready, buy 'good news' apparently there were only 3 left to do! At 17.20 we were advised that the room was finally ready. Checked in and the receptionist offered the car parking FOC due to our wait for the room, ok gesture acceptable. Went to the room with I have to say the squeakiest door on record! Entered to find that despite having to wait the room had not been cleaned to an acceptable standard the bathroom still had talc on the floor from the previous guests! We freshened up and rested before dinner, then went down to eat at 8pm, the 3 tables in the garden where a family had been having afternoon tea at 4 pm were still not cleared, they cleared whilst we were eating dinner but by what can only be described as a sloth as he could not have moved any slower! The dinner was acceptable as standard pub fare but not up to the 4stars they claim to have. There were no special on the board and apparently none available which for a Saturday was poor. There were only a few tables occupied but service was extremely slow. We could not complain as when we got the bill the waitress had missed most items that should have been charged for. The night was ok and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was ok with the hot food mostly depleted at 10 am and again only 1 person serving tables. At checking out we were asked if we had enjoyed our stay. We pointed out the points where they failed and left, having only been charged for approx 1/4 of what should have been charged. Note to the management you need to get your act together or you will go broke! And the banisters to the first floor in the new wing are in serious need of a clean they are sticky and disgusting!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Tonia_Moore,

Thank you for your review and please accept my apologies for the difficulties experienced during your stay, I will speak with the external agency we use for Housekeeping but we are shortly to change contracts and these issues will be addressed. I am also sorry to hear of the issues at dinner and I will review this with the Operations Manager and Head Chef.

We value all our guest feedback and will be using your comments to carry out corrective training where appropriate.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kelvedon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We needed the address number of the hotel to find it,but when we got there we had a lovely garden room & there was a good atmosphere as wedding taking place!Food in the restaurant was excellent & served wih the right amount of composure by the waitress!Bed very comfortable.Breakfast was a bit slow with all the wedding guests there & we did have to wait a while for the cooked breakfast items to be replaced.Overall we would definitely stay again after receiving friendly send off!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear 29SteveB29,

Thank your for your feedback and I very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

A group of us visited Winchester for one night and stayed at this hotel. We had a lovely time and this hotel is perfectly situated for exploring Winchester. I agree with the other reviewers comments about breakfast and it is for this reason that I'm not giving this hotel a 5 star review. I found the reception staff very helpful and friendly and the rooms are very comfortable. I would happily stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Claire S,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to hear that you generally enjoyed your stay. I note your comments in respect of breakfast and corrective measures have already been implemented to address these issues.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was my first visit to Winchester and I was really impressed. The hotel was in a great location right in the middle of the city. The hotel had great rooms which were modern and comfortable. The bed was huge and I had a great nights sleep.
The TV was huge, it was just unfortunate that when I turned it on it was on the adult channel ha ha, maybe something for the maids to check in future!
It has a lovely garden and seating area, which on a sunny day would be a great place to relax with a glass of wine.
The only thing that lets this hotel down is the breakfast, it was like watching an episode of faulty towers! The staff were very disorganised, firstly I got sat at a table they had already given to someone else, then I had to ask for both tea and butter several times, then i received both twice over! There weren't enough tables for the amount of people wishing to eat and the items of the continental breakfast continued to run out. The selection of breakfast was pretty good, its just a pitybthe staff were so disorganised and this wasn't helped by trying to cram too many people and the breakfast items into a space way too small to cope.
I would highly recommend staying at this hotel, I would advise to either be patient with the craziness at breakfast or go very early when it is quiet. Or failing that there are plenty of lovely cafes in Winchester where you can get a better breakfast and service.

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear KatieBachD,

Thank your for your review and for your positive and constructive feedback, we do have a number of large groups staying with us currently and I am sorry to hear that this caused delays at breakfast. We have taken corrective measures to address this by offering private dining facilities to them where appropriate and we have also just appointed a new breakfast supervisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My wife and I are just back from 4 nights at this hotel. Location is fantastic as it's a quiet calm haven bang in the centre of Winchester near all the sights. We were in Garden room 130 which was lovely. Felt as if it were our own garden. Food in the Garden Restaurant was excellent and prices reasonable- I believe there are 2 Polish chefs.
There is something very charming about the Royal. It started life in the sixteenth century as a private house and still has that air about it. Service can be hit or miss though it was good in the Restaurant. They do get overwhelmed at breakfast if a lot of people come at once. Somebody needs to be in charge in the restaurant at all times to remedy this.
But all in all we loved the Royal and the garden is a haven of peace on a sunny day.It takes you back to a bygone age. Staff very friendly. If anything is not up to scratch just ask for the Duty Manager and it gets put right for you immediately without any unpleasantness. Them below stairs are a bit amateur at times but heh who cares when it is all so pleasant.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Leon29,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to hear that you found the food to be excellent. I note your comments in respect of breakfast service and we have just appointed a new breakfast supervisor to take charge of this area.

I am pleased to note that our staff were friendly and that any issues you brought to the attention of our management team were promptly dealt with.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We only spent one night here back in April for my husband's birthday. It was lovely, the room was clean and bright overlooking the walled garden. We had a coffee sitting out in the walled garden in the spring sunshine which was lovely. Breakfast was good. Staff very helpful and extremely near to Winchester.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Abrahart,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Winchester Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Royal Hotel

Address: St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Royal Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You know you are somewhere special as soon as you step through the front door of the Winchester Royal Hotel, as you are greeted with an impressive entrance and sweeping staircase. This charming 16th Century Hotel is a hidden gem within the heart of the city, with a historical aura and many stories to tell. The hotels has recently undergone a multi million pound refurbishment which has brought the old character of this beautiful building back to life, with fresh decor and new furnishings. It's not only the communal areas which have been updated; local businesses can also enjoy the sparkling new meeting facilities, the makeover of the events rooms will impress all soon to be newlyweds and the fresh look of the dining areas are perfect for those looking for an evening meal or lunch time snack. All of the bedrooms have also been redecorated creating a calm and tranquil atmosphere with a range of facilities. Choose between a suite and a garden facing room, suiting a range of styles and requirements. Close to the M3, A31 and A34, plus easy access to the Midlands and South Coast the Winchester Royal hotel is perfect for casual business meetings or a catch up with friends. Relax and enjoy the hotel with no interruptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Winchester Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.