We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be so much better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Winchester Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Winchester Royal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Winchester
Colchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel could be fantastic. It is a very good city centre location and we were lucky to get quite possibly the tightest car parking space in the car park. Service here was poor in our opinion and was the main reason the review is only 3 out of 5.

I would like to agree with a past review here - draft beer did run out here (Saturday night - no Carlsberg on tap, no San Miguel on tap, no Guinness) so I can only assume the bar staff couldn't be bothered to change the barrel as mentioned in hotel feedback, because we asked for one and was told they didn't have any. Breakfast was poor - we were brought very burnt toast - surely anyone with standards wouldn't serve this to guests, and the hot selection was very poor quality.

The general feeling was the staff always seemed very rushed and need to engage better with their guests, as we felt they were rude at times which really lets the place down.

The room was ok, and with air-con would help enormously, and I really hope this hotel sorts out the obvious issues it has because as I have put in my title, it could and deserves to be so much better than it currently is.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    38
    18
    6
    3
See reviews for
7
44
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Surrey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We overnighted at the Winchester Royal Hotel and were pleased that it had an off-street car park, as parking is tricky around the old part of Winchester. The hotel is very centrally placed, and has a fascinating history. We found the staff really pleasant, and our room very clean and comfortable. The dinner and breakfast were excellent value, and beautifully prepared and presented. There is a 'secret garden', where you can sit and read, take a drink or have your meal. Altogether, it gave the backdrop to a lovely visit to Winchester.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had a very pleasant overnight stay (a deal through Travelzoo which offered good value for money) in the Royal Winchester Hotel located in the heart of lovely city of Winchester. We found the staff very friendly, hard working and helpful at all times. We were in the extension and our room was spacious and clean. However, it must be said there were a few niggles (finishing touches) that if sorted out would have made our review 5 out of 5. As it was a warm evening the room could do with a fan to keep you cool. The loo didn't have a lid and there was no mention of WiFi in the room information folder. A WiFi code was obtained from reception for each device but we couldn't get the WiFi to work. The breakfast food selection was impressive, but there appeared to be too few staff on duty as they had a problem keeping the hot items topped up and the plates being cleared away. If we had stayed more than one night we would have complained but as I say these were niggles for the one night. At check out we were handed a card to leave an honest review at Tripadvisor so I have obliged. This hotel just needs a few finishing touches.

Room Tip: A room facing into the hotel garden, ours overlooked the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear BobD,

Thank you for your feedback and for your kind comments in respect of the staff. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel, we welcome constructive feedback and we will be using your comments to make improvements and iron out these "niggles" wherever we can.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Our ground floor bedroom with picture window gave a wonderful view of the garden and bar terrace but due to the lack of nets or blinds it felt like we were in a goldfish bowl. If we closed the big heavy curtains the room became the black hole of Calcutta only hotter. The large opening windows didn't lock so a sign advised to keep them closed for security reasons.There was an extractor fan in the bathroom but it was totally ineffective, but on the plus side it was very quiet. Apart from that the room was quite pleasant if you over looked the poorly made beds. The main hotel building was full of character and very convenient for the town centre but unless you're particularly fond of complacent management, polite and well meaning but ineffective staff, a bar with no beer and indifferent breakfasts you might do better to stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Stay away from the garden side of the ground floor 'new' building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear MikeT,

Thank you for your review, we are having bedroom voiles installed on our ground floor windows (this week in fact). You mention certain other issues you may have had but do not provide any real constructive detail? We have not run out of beer as far as I am aware and if we had it is usually because a barrel is momentarily being changed.

It is regrettable that you deem us to be complacent however I am confident that when any issue is actually communicated to us by guest during the time of their stay we will act on it promptly.We will take your comments on board for the benefit of our future guests..

Regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Just returned from staying at the Royal for one night using a travelzoo voucher. On arrival at 10.30 was very pleased room was ready, reading previous comments I asked for a fan as it was over 30degrees. Was to,d it would be up in our room, which was on top floor of main building and very hot.The fan had not Arrived by 2pm when I asked the receptionist she said they were all out but housekeeping were getting more. At 6pm asked again and was told that they were out or broken. Luckily room only had a quiet road below so we slept with window open as far as it went and curtains open.Room 119. On arrival was asked if we wanted a paper the next morning.it never arrived. We had a nice meal but the poor girl that was serving everyone was working alone with a trainee who had to keep asking her questions. She apologised for no one being in the restaurant when we arrived she finished at 11 pm and when we went down for breakfast she was there again at8am. She was always smiliey and helpful but obviously needed help. The bar area lets the hotel down. The good points were lovely position, lovely garden and although room was boiling it had character and bed very comfy. This hotel could be made better with a fine tuning and more staff. The young girl in the resturant deserves a pay rise for her hard work in the heat and I believe just returning from 9 months maternity leave. Well done to her.
Y

Room Tip: Garden view room, if you want a character room in main hotel, but take your own an in summer !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Karen,

Thank you for your feedback, please accept my apologies for the delay in getting you a fan and for the lack of newspaper. We are always please to receive constructive feedback from our guests and we are happy to "fine tune" wherever we can. I will pass your kind comments on to Kelly in the restaurant and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 3 nights (business trip) and will be returning. Unlike the corporate chains the place has warmth and a personality... There were a few issues with the room - none serious but the friendly and helpful staff sorted them. The garden area at the rear was lovely in the hot weather. Food cooked on the premises and fresh - again unlike the chains - and the restaurant area was pleasant. Specials available and the chocolate fondant was excellent for any dessert lover. Car parking available for£10 per night and the central location makes a stroll easy. Overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Princessprimrose,

Thank you for your review, I am really pleased to hear your comments regarding the Hotel's "warmth and personality" over the corporate chains. We pride ourselves on being individual and offering a personalised service.

I am glad that we are able to promptly resolve your minor room issues and that you really enjoyed the food in the restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a joint christening celebration here with 40 friends and family, in the beautiful, quaint garden. Marie from events liaised with me throughout the days leading up to it and every requirement was met to a very high standard. Marie went above and beyond her duties and was so easy and lovely to deal with. The food, service, venue, organising and atmosphere could not have been more perfect. We had a wonderful day there and will never forget it! I would recommend this beautiful hotel a hundred times over.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Laura1conlon,

Thank you for your wonderful review and I am extremely pleased that we were able to host your joint-christening which looks to be have been thoroughly enjoyed by everyone involved. I will certainly pass on your kind comments to Marie aswell as the rest of the team.

I appreciate you recommending us so highly and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Winchester Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Royal Hotel

Address: St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Royal Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You know you are somewhere special as soon as you step through the front door of the Winchester Royal Hotel, as you are greeted with an impressive entrance and sweeping staircase. This charming 16th Century Hotel is a hidden gem within the heart of the city, with a historical aura and many stories to tell. The hotels has recently undergone a multi million pound refurbishment which has brought the old character of this beautiful building back to life, with fresh decor and new furnishings. It's not only the communal areas which have been updated; local businesses can also enjoy the sparkling new meeting facilities, the makeover of the events rooms will impress all soon to be newlyweds and the fresh look of the dining areas are perfect for those looking for an evening meal or lunch time snack. All of the bedrooms have also been redecorated creating a calm and tranquil atmosphere with a range of facilities. Choose between a suite and a garden facing room, suiting a range of styles and requirements. Close to the M3, A31 and A34, plus easy access to the Midlands and South Coast the Winchester Royal hotel is perfect for casual business meetings or a catch up with friends. Relax and enjoy the hotel with no interruptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Winchester Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.