We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired county hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Royal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Winchester Royal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winchester Royal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Winchester
Beersheba, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tired county hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Nice garden. Good central location. Excellent bathrooms. Terrible reception and front of the house. Mediocre breakfast. Do not take room 102 which is really an emergency exit pathway complete with unlockable windows and green lighting.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    33
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
37
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I stayed at this Hotel overnight whilst travelling down south. It is in a great situation for the centre of Winchester and set in some nice grounds. I can not stress how comfortable I found the bed, I dont often sleep well in a different bed, but I really did have a good nights sleep here.

There was only one slight issue in that we were told the wrong breakfast times for the Monday morning, so service had finished when we went down for it. Staff were apologetic, and we were still invited to have breakfast if we wished.

I would recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in the area, and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Will0805,

Thank you for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, our beds were all recently purchased and they are of a high quality as you have found out. I am pleased to hear we were able to serve you breakfast and I am sorry that you were advised the incorrect timings.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at the Winchester Royal hotel in July and had mixed feelings about most things.On arrival on the Sunday evening,the reception staff seemed totally uninterested in our stay no friendly hello not even a smile.When we went for dinner in the evening we ordered a bottle of white wine from the bar but was told that they had no ice for the wine cooler,then during dinner a guest at another table had wine served to them in an ice bucket including ice,we thought they must have sourced some ice from somewhere but when we ordered another bottle of wine guess what, sorry no ice despite the fact that our jug of water was adorned with copious amounts of ice.
The dinner menu was a very limited and not very imaginative, so if you like to end your day with a really good dinner in the evening you will probably be better of at at one of the local pubs whose menus are far more varied and interesting.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are probably the least noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear AlanS,

Thank you for your review, please accept my apologies for the apparent lack of welcome on arrival I will follow this up with receptionist on duty and the Reception Manager.

I am also disappointed to hear about the issue with the ice when it would appear that we could have given you this as you point out, there was a fault with the ice machine and this has now been repaired.

I note your comments in respect of the menus, we have recently appointed a new Head Chef and all are menus are being reviewed and we will shortly be launching new seasonal menus.

It is regrettable that we failed to exceed your expectations on this occasion and I would ask that if your are visiting us again in the near future that you email me on gm.winchester@stjameshotels.co.uk so that I can ensure your next stay with us is memorable for all the right reasons.

Kind regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Hotel is situated in the middle of the town within easy reach of the cathedral and other sites. The rooms are clean, as are the public areas. The food is good and the staff are friendly and helpful. There are 2 car parks - try to get in the front one - it is bigger, but there is a £10 parking charge. There is a beautiful secluded walled garden where you can sit and enjoy a drink or something to eat.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper room overlooking the walled garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear PeterD,

Thank you for your review and I am very pleased to note that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and it is very kind of you to describe us as "a gem in the heart of Winchester"

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited this hotel for a one night stay in mid June. The hotel is easy to find and there is a car park which is a bit tight in places, especially if other guests have parked inconsiderately. Reception was speedy and our room was ready despite being early. The hotel is set out over different levels, and anyone with mobility issues may have trouble.

Our room was clean, large and modern. The only problem we found was that the water pressure and the shape of the basin meant that the water splashed over us and the bathroom unless the tap was put on extremely gently.

Breakfast was plentiful and was included in our very reasonable room rate.

The only thing we didn't like was the bar, which had a very limited and basic range of drinks which seemed out of keeping with the rest of the hotel. Luckily Winchester has lots of great bars to go to.

Room Tip: We had a room near the lower car park and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Deat Tiggertigger,

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in and that you found breakfast to be plentiful. I note the constructive comments you have made and I will review these to see what can be done.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

hotel and services were very good. right in centre of winchester so ideal for Cathedral and shopping
beautiful weather weather which always helps but to have windows in bedroom open caused noise to wake you early from surrounding car parks.
Not to be advised of the daily car parking charge when booking was a sad surprise.
when my wife ordered here main course for dinner, it was served with changes to the vegetable line up which should have been pointed out at time of ordering and may well have changed her selection.

Room Tip: higher floors may have less noise from car parks r
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear KennethB,

Thank you for your review and I am pleased to hear that you found the Hotel and services to be very good. I am concerned to hear that you say were not advised of the car-parking charges as we are very meticulous in ensuring these are displayed on our own website and third party travel partner sites, these are also detailed on all our booking confirmations sent out from the Hotel? As for the vegetables I am not clear what was changed from what was shown on the menu but if you would like to email me on gm.winchester@stjameshotels.co.uk I will gladly look into this and the parking confirmation for you?

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here to break our journey to Devon. Rooms were modern, clean and well appointed.Unfortunately our room overlooked the car park and had no blind or net curtain so people could see in the room. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We thought the breakfast was poor. What little that was left was cold and the toast had just been shown the toaster! The most impressive thing about the hotel was it's location in the centre of the city. You can walk to all the places of historic interest and the main shopping centre

Room Tip: Best rooms overlook the garden. Rooms overlooking the car park have no privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWinchester, General Manager at Winchester Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Rosemarye514,

Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that things were not as good as you expected and I apologise that the breakfast was poor on this occasion, we are in the process of replacing some equipment (toasters in particular) to improve this service offering and privacy voiles are also being purchased for the ground floor windows.

I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful and our location is one of the best in Winchester, hopefully if you stay with us again in the near future we will be able to improve upon this visit for you and kindly feel free to contact me on gm.winchester@stjameshotels.co.uk prior to any planned visit in the future.

Best regards

Louis Rigney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Winchester Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Royal Hotel

Address: St Peter Street, Winchester SO23 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 hotels in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Winchester Royal Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You know you are somewhere special as soon as you step through the front door of the Winchester Royal Hotel, as you are greeted with an impressive entrance and sweeping staircase. This charming 16th Century Hotel is a hidden gem within the heart of the city, with a historical aura and many stories to tell. The hotels has recently undergone a multi million pound refurbishment which has brought the old character of this beautiful building back to life, with fresh decor and new furnishings. It's not only the communal areas which have been updated; local businesses can also enjoy the sparkling new meeting facilities, the makeover of the events rooms will impress all soon to be newlyweds and the fresh look of the dining areas are perfect for those looking for an evening meal or lunch time snack. All of the bedrooms have also been redecorated creating a calm and tranquil atmosphere with a range of facilities. Choose between a suite and a garden facing room, suiting a range of styles and requirements. Close to the M3, A31 and A34, plus easy access to the Midlands and South Coast the Winchester Royal hotel is perfect for casual business meetings or a catch up with friends. Relax and enjoy the hotel with no interruptions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Winchester Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winchester Royal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.