We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lainston House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lainston House Hotel to your Saves list
Lainston House Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodman Lane | Sparsholt, Winchester S021 2LT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“simply perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

arrived on a Saturday afternoon after stressful drive from London to find a magnificent building in vast grounds. The welcome was very friendly and the room was sumptuous with many extra touches like a huge Jacuzzi bath. The whole hotel is very tastefully decorated and very professionally run to a very high standard of service. The afternoon teas looked amazing and the breakfast was plentiful and of excellent quality. I would love to go back in the summer and see the grounds in their full splendour.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Stephen A,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Lainston House. I will be delighted to share your feedback with the rest of the team - It is very rewarding to read that our guest notice our people's attention to detail.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the summer (if not earlier!) - Thank you again for your endorsement.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    93
    55
    27
    6
See reviews for
101
354
9
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Really top place to go to relax and be looked after brilliantly. The staff are all fantastic, friendly, helpful, very well dressed but chilled out. The food and booze are top notch, the staff are very well trained and can give you chapter and verse on everything put before you. The price is punchy ish but very much worth it. A few slight negatives there is no spa or pool which to be honest we never end up using, the infinity bath takes forever to fill and is interesting but more gimmick than a serious draw so don't choose your room just on having one! Bar that I would come back for more anyday and it would be awesome for a wedding venue or 50th birthday hint hint!

Room Tip: Don't stress if you don't get an infinity pool, it isn't that great. The cheapest rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear HolidayDave300,
Thank you for your great review! We do try to be a little bit different - I hope you had the time to visit our falconry centre. I find it much more interesting that a pool and something we feel really proud along with our kitchen garden.

Please feel free to give us a call to organise that 50th Birthday or that wedding (not quite sure which way you were hinting!) or maybe both!

Once again, thank you for your endorsement.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We got married at Lainston House 8 years ago and can honestly say that the way in which the staff managed our somewhat chaotic party was a godsend. Unfortunately the bride (me) and groom got lost on the way, as did the witnesses. This did not faze the manager who guided us through the day.

Since then the family has gone back to the hotel every year to either have a meal, high tea or to stay overnight. We have always had an amazing time. The junior suites we book are amazing. The bathrooms are spectacular. The staff are attentive but not too pushy.

In fact this year I would commend the receptionist for her assistance. My mother in law had been allocated a room on an upper floor in the house. The receptionist noticed that (or was told by the porter) that she had difficulty with the stairs. Without being asked she re-arranged rooms and gave my mother-in-law a ground floor room, even though the hotel was full - dealing with a wedding party. Even her belongings were taken to the new room and put in the same place they had previously been in. This is the mark of a good hotel. I am sure we will return again and again.

Room Tip: The junior suites are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Jo-Anne A
Thank you for your brilliant review. Through the years the team has helped to create wonderful memories and it is fantastic to hear that they made a difference on your wedding day. I am also pleased to see that Lainston continues to be that very special place for you and your family and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We went for our wedding anniversary and had a wonderful time. The house and grounds were beautiful. Check in was efficient the only problem was that we had been booked in for dinner at 7.30 fri and 7.00 sat which was early for us and they could not change it. It would be nice to be asked at time of booking what time you would like dinner. The food was excellent although the menu was quite limited. The puddings were perfect.

Unfortunately we had a leak in our bathroom on Saturday night but after phoning reception we were moved to the garden suite which really was beautiful and made our anniversary very special.

The wine and drinks were expensive but not usual for a hotel of this calibre.

Wonderful stay and hope to do it again. Next time would like to do one of the bird experiences.

We actually booked this weekend on secret escapes and it was excellent value

Room Tip: The Garden Suite was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Sue C,
Thank you for your review of Lainston House. I am delighted to see that you had an enjoyable anniversary weekend with us and that the team were able to look after you.

I understand that we received your booking through a 3rd party and therefore it was not possible for us to check your time for dinner before arrival. The Avenue Restaurant is very popular and reservations are required usually days in advance. As they could not reach you and your reservation included dinner the team decided to book your table at 7.30 - I hope it wasn't much of an inconvenience.

I hope to see you soon - Maybe in the new year, so we can arrange some time for you to enjoy a falconry experience.

Kind regards

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lovely room - we may have been upgraded. Very comfortable bed.
Huge bathroom
Chocolates for my husband's birthday
Wonderful food
Superb breakfast
Lovely staff
Beautiful grounds
Great situation outside Winchester

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Laura H,
Thank you for your wonderful review of Lainston House. I am truly delighted to see that your husband's birthday celebrations were a success and that the little touches from the team were noticed and added to the occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I happened upon Lainston House by accident after a long day of driving. A beautiful manor located in stunning English countryside. Excellent service and accommodating staff. On the expensive side of things but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Lachie J,
Thank you for taking the time to review Lainston House following your recent stay. We are really proud to be guardians of this wonderful quintessentially English country house and I am delighted to see that the team was on their usual form to ensure you had a memorable time at Lainston.

We look forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you back

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We chose Lainston House Hotel as we'd been given a voucher for a champagne afternoon tea, and felt it would be a nice treat to stay the night as well.

Our afternoon tea was superb with excellent attention to detail. For the first time in my experience of afternoon teas, a wonderfully light and refreshing amuse bouche was served before the arrival of the sandwiches. Coupled with beautifully-presented sandwiches and cakes, followed by freshly-baked scones, I can't recommend it enough.

Arrival and check-in was efficient, if perhaps a touch impersonal. We found we had been upgraded to a deluxe room, situated in the converted attic/roof of the original house. The room was well presented, spacious and amazingly clean. Our view was of the original avenue leading to the house and beyond over the countryside.

Dinner was of a very high standard - the three AA rosettes for the restaurant suggest others have a similarly high opinion. Service was attentive but unobtrusive and my only complaint, shared with some other hotels, is that the bar prices are ludicrous. £15 for a 175ml glass of Sauvignon Blanc?! I begrudgingly accept it's to be expected at high-end hotels but this is by far the highest prices I've seen (including London hotels).

Breakfast was again excellent, and it was good to see it consisted of many locally-sourced ingredients.

This has left us with a bit of a dilemma - it's a lovely hotel to visit but it's just a little too close to home to feel like a real break away!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor of the house have tons of character with exposed beams and brickwork along wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALopez-Bustos, General Manager at Lainston House Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Darren H,
Thank you for your fantastic review. I am delighted to read that you had and enjoyable and relaxing time with us.

Our Afternoon tea has is now more popular than ever and we continue to work to develop both the offering and service even further. I am really pleased to hear that it was the initial reason for your visit and I will be delighted to share your comments with the team.

I agree with you, the rooms at the top of the main house are full of character, very traditional and with amazing views. There are not two rooms the same at Lainston and I always recommend to give our reservations team a call so they can make sure they suggest the most appropriate room and offer the best deals.

It is very rewarding to see that you also enjoyed your evening meal. We consider food to be a very important part of any experience at Lainston and I hope you had the opportunity to visit our kitchen garden, say hello to our pigs or try the honey from our beehives. I can understand your comments about the drinks, however I believe we offer great value when considering all the elements involved on the delivery of the service, from the selection of the right quality wines to the knowledge of our sommeliers and the quality of the glassware. I will, of course, continue to monitor similar feedback but I can assure you they are in line with similar 5 star country house hotels in the local area. Our white wine offering starts at £6.50 for 175ml Chenin Blanc, but we are happy to offer any of the 300+ wines in our cellar by the glass.

Being right on your doorstep, I look forward to welcoming you back many times in the future - maybe it'll be worth you joining our exclusive dining club! If you are tempted to get a little bit further I would recommend our sister properties, The Manor House at Castle Combe, South Lodge near Horsham and Pennyhill Park in Surrey.

Once again, thank you for your endorsement.

Antonio Lopez-Bustos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lainston House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lainston House Hotel

Address: Woodman Lane | Sparsholt, Winchester S021 2LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
#2 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#3 Business Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lainston House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drive through the gates of Lainston House, up the winding drive, you will enter a world where historic charm and contemporary elegance blend seamlessly. This charming 17th Century country house is a luxurious hotel, encapsulated in 63 acres of Hampshire parkland. A peaceful drawing room, sumptuous individually designed bedrooms and food created with passion. Minutes away from the historic city of Winchester and only a short drive from Salisbury, Stonehenge and the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lainston House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lainston Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lainston House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.