We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soft bed in a good, modern hotel convenient for motorway and Winchester” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Winchester to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Winchester
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Hampshire, UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Soft bed in a good, modern hotel convenient for motorway and Winchester”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Saturday evening 21st December 2013 and overnight; We stayed here as part of my wife's company Christmas party. We had previously enjoyed an excellent meal here, back in August 2013, at a friend's birthday party.

The hotel is located just to the east of Winchester, near the junction of the A31 and the A272 near the "Percy Hobbs" roundabout. Easy access from both M3 J9 and M3 J10 via the Spitfire Link and up the side of Morn Hill. This location enables you to reach the Portsmouth Ferry terminal within 45 minutes (there is a closer Holiday Inn, near M3 J13 in Eastleigh).

The car park is on a slight slope and it can be a little windswept; plenty of disabled parking bays but NONE are right next door to the entrance.

There is a massive atrium for the Reception area. We found good-sized bedrooms where everything worked. The meal (around 16 tables of up to ten people on each table) was spotless; every course was served at the correct temperature and at the same time for everyone on the table. This little piece of excellent co-ordination behind the scenes SHOULD be the default in every hotel but is sometimes lacking. The Holiday Inn Winchester team can be proud that they delivered flawlessly.

The bar is well-organised - benchmark GBP19 for a 75cl bottle of Montepulciano D'Abruzzo - a fair price for an hotel bar.

Breakfast the following morning was an excellent buffet (the only drawback is that my wife prefers fried eggs but this was not this option - scrambled eggs were the only option, but this was hardly a major problem).

But oh my Lord - the BEDS!. We have a firm mattress at home and we are regular (Platinum) users of Marriott hotels and other hotels within the Marriott family, where the beds are firm. This Holiday Inn hotel bed was TOO soft. We didn't quite get to the point of sea-sickness, but the bed was too soft. Sorry but there it is, dropping a perfect "FIVE" to a less-than-perfect overall "FOUR" rating.

Mike

Room Tip: Steer clear of the lift areas; otherwise no specific warnings
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you so much Mike H for such a comprehensive review! I am delighted that on your return visit for a Christmas function you enjoyed it again.

The events team worked very hard to ensure everything ran smoothly with the support of our kitchen brigade.

I am sorry the breakfast team did not point out that fried eggs are always available as well as poached. I have spoken with the team to ensure more signage is on the buffet for future guests.

The beds normally score very highly with our guests but I do appreciate everyone has a different preference.

Thanks again Mike and wish you and your wife Happy New Year.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    225
    60
    21
    8
See reviews for
160
191
30
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Nothing more to say than this is the best Holiday Inn I have stayed in and as a gold elite member I've stayed in a few.Spotlessly clean,easy parking and location.Friendly and efficient check in and great location for the lovely City of Winchester and the new Forest.Stayed on a Saturday night and also got the Christmas rate of just £35,waste cognised as a gold elite member and allocated a quiet room to my club profile specifications. I will definitely return.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Letzgonow

WOW! What a fabulous review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will ensure that your comments are passed to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back in 2014
Kindest Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Visited the holiday inn winchester for a casino themed party night and was taken back by the size, cleanliness and decoration of the hotel and particularly the room the night was held in. With ease of access to the bar, sectioned off, and the toilets within steps it is ideal! In my eyes the night was a great success, but particularly due to one member of staff (Charlotte or Chelsea?) who was happy and polite to all customers, not fazed when one very rude man shouted "oi" and waved money in her face. However, as I said, it was hit and miss as none of the other bar staff were able to supply cocktails, shouting and interrupting this young lady when they were ordered. In all 11 cocktail pitchers came to our table, by the same lady, and many to others, yet every time my husband sent to the bar she would be busy serving while laughter was heard from a shut door at the back of the bar. We were that impressed when we were offered table service by her when waiting for our taxi, that my husband offered her a job In my sons nearby pub, or failing that a £50 tip which she refused before saying she'd split it between the team, which we didn't think was deserved by many. I would like to hear this star is recognised and rewarded, as otherwise our night would not have been nearly so good. The food was very good, particularly for such a large group size, and I look forward to an opportunity to dine in the restaurant (which appears to be award winning) . On the whole, a great hotel with the potential to be fabulous if more staff had the right attitude and were competent and willing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you Annabeldevon for such a lovely review. I was especially pleased to read that Chelsea really made your evening a success, I will be sure to pass your comments to her directly as well as share them with the team.
On our busy party nights we did have a few members of staff working as glass collectors that were under 18 and therefore unable to serve at the bar, instead they worked tirelessly behind the scenes to ensure that the bar staff had everything they needed to serve our guests (polished glasses and pitchers), perhaps this was the laughter that you heard? However I will ensure that these comments are passed to the Food and Beverage Manager for him to investigate. We get many compliments about how attentive and friendly our staff are and I do apologise that you felt that they were hit and miss.

Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to visit our AA Rosette Restaurant, the Morn Hill Brasserie.
Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We went to the Christmas Party Casino night and it was excellent. Very well organised and the food was superb. The hotel is clean as are the rooms and the bathrooms. The only downside was I found the bed and pillows too soft but that is just my personal taste....my husband slept just fine! Breakfast was great, buffet style but good selection of cereals, yoghurt, toast and full English. Recommend.

Room Tip: If you do not like a soft bed ask at booking if they have a harder mattress in any of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear laurella w

Thank you so much for such a lovely review. I'm so pleased you enjoyed our Casino party nights, we have had some great feedback from other guests that have attended them.

I do hope we will see you again
Kind Regards

Siobhan

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Dropped friend off for Xmas cruise at Southampton used hotel for overnight stay and visit to Winchester very pleased with every aspect of hotel that we used .super , !! Free car parking. Special rate taxi .

Room Tip: 202 twin bedded very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear BristolLili

What a fantastic review! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such lovely feedback and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope you have a good Christmas and New Year
Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

We attended the Casino Royale Christmas night. We enjoyed the drink on arrival and the disco. However we were disappointed by the casino tables. Too many people for very small tables, we could not get near them at all. The food was very disappointing. We had eaten in the restaurant several weeks before and enjoyed really good food. The main course served up at the Casino night resembled a school dinner- the potatoes had hardly been roasted and tasted like boiled ones! The turkey looked and tasted like processed school dinner meat. I do not think the evening was value for money at all.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear h s

Thank you for taking the time to review your evening at our Casino Royale party night. We have had some amazing feedback from these parties and I was disappointed to read your comments as nothing had been said on the evening.

The dining experience when catering for 150 people in one function will of course be different from dining in our Restaurant, however we do freshly cook whole turkeys and prepare homemade stuffing in our Kitchens so were surprised that you felt it resembled a school dinner with processed school dinner meat.

Once again thank you for your review and I do hope you have a wonderful Christmas and New Year
Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

A nice hotel, a little out of Winchester (you'll need a car) with friendly staff and good sized rooms. The rooms are quite well designed in that they have a large living area which is in part facilitated by having well designed but small bathrooms.

There is plenty of space in the reception area and a large bar / restaurant are downstairs.

The biggest niggle I have is the cost of food and drink items in the restaurant / bar. Breakfast was expensive and of very average quality. If I am honest, it was Holiday Inn Express standard, and there the breakfast is included. Drinks and food was also expensive.

Overall however this is a nice place to stay a night or two, but probably no longer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you gwaredd, for your feedback after your recent stay.

I am so sorry that you felt breakfast was under par, comparing it to an express breakfast, which I was very surprised at. In a Holiday Inn Express you have a choice of three cooked items, whereas here you have eight hot items on the buffet from award winning sausages and all freshly cooked items, and then the choice of eggs, plus pancakes, fish, omelettes, porridge and several other items cooked fresh to order. Our breakfast is one of the lowest prices in the area compared to other hotels as are all our prices. Our food is all freshly made and sourced from the local area where we can.

I do hope that this has not put you off returning to us if and when you are in the area again.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Winchester, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.